The Warren Register of Colonial Tall Ships

Friday, March 30, 2012

FIRST HALF OF MAIN REGISTER AA--LY

THE WARREN REGISTER REQUIRES MEMBERSHIPS AND WILL BE AVAILABLE TO ALL WHO WOULD LIKE TO JOIN.

MEMBERSHIP WILL BE ARRANGES ON A YEARLY BASIS @ $20.00Aus, FOR INQUIRIES PLEASE EMAIL THE AUTHOR ON ray.j.warren@hotmail.com.

DONATIONS REQUIRED TO ASSIST WITH THE RUNNING OF THIS SITE. PAYMENTS CAN BE MADE VIA PAYPAL TO ray.j.warren@hotmail.com ANY AMOUNT WILL DO.

AUTHOR ADVERTISEMENT
RAYMOND J WARREN, AUTHOR OF THE HISTORY MAKING "WILDFLOWER" THE BARBARA CRAWFORD THOMPSON STORY AND THIS ONLINE ENCYCLOPAEDIA OF TALL SHIPS, THE "WARREN REGISTER OF COLONIAL TALL SHIPS", WOULD LIKE TO INTRODUCE THE FINAL REVISED EDITION OF "WILDFLOWER' TO ALL"REGISTER USERS  ON SPECIAL DISCOUNT. PLEASE INQUIRE BY EMAILING ray.j.warren@hotmail.com

HIS  25-YEAR RESEARCH THAT UNCOVERED THE "HISTORY MYSTERY" SURROUNDING BARBARA CRAWFORD THOMPSON AND HER TIME ALONE WITH HEADHUNTERS IN THE TORRES STRAIT FROM 1844 TO 1849, HAS CATAPULTED HIS BOOK TO FAME IN THE UK AND EUROPE. THE BOOK IS SHOWN HERE  JUST IN CASE SOME OF HIS FOLLOWERS MIGHT LIKE TO PURCHASE A VERY GOOD HISTORIC READ. THOSE INTERESTED IN THE BOOK IN HARD COVER OR PAPERBACK MIGHT LIKE TO CONTACT THE AUTHOR ON ray.j.warren@hotmail.com

Wildflower: The Barbara Crawford Thompson Story

BARBARA THOMPSON CASTAWAY, ALONE WITH HEAD HUNTERS 

THE BOOK "WILDFLOWER" THE BARBARA CRAWFORD THOMPSON STORY COVERS THE LIFE OF BARBARA THOMPSON, A 12-YEAR-OLD SCOTTISH GIRL WHO WAS TAKEN FROM HER HOME IN SYDNEY IN MARCH 1843 AND WAS FOUND LIVING WITH HEADHUNTERS IN THE TORRES STRAIT ALMOST SEVEN YEARS LATER, IN OCTOBER 1849 BY THE SHIP HMS "RATTLESNAKE" CAPTAIN OWEN STANLEY.

THIS BOOK IS THE RESULT OF 25 YEARS RESEARCH INTO THE LIFE OF BARBARA THOMPSON AND THE FINAL RESULTS ARE AMAZING. THE TRUE [AND CERTIFIED] TALE OF THIS YOUNG SCOTTISH LASSIE'S TRAUMATIC ADVENTURES WILL KEEP YOU ENTHRALLED. FURTHER DETAILS CAN BE FOUND ON THE BLOG TITLED "WILDFLOWER" THE BARBARA CRAWFORD THOMPSON STORY.



                   THE WARREN REGISTER
                 OF COLONIAL TALL SHIPS.
copyright R.J.Warren 2011-2012
 
All vessels mentioned within the main register are the better known vessels that visited Australian ports. New Zealand’s own register is added as a follow on and a secondary register of lesser know ships should give the researcher a good chance of finding the vessel required.

* Research Tips: 
Most city libraries have relatively complete passenger lists for ships to the colonies. To make sure that you have the correct vessel, check the arrival dates with your local newspaper of the period, a cross reference like this will usually give you the Captain, Tonnage, Owner and other details that will give proof of your family ship. If a ship is proving hard to find, it must be remembered that not all vessels sailing were registered with Lloyds.

Many ships were left unregistered while in dry dock, under repair or while in temporary retirement. It is therefore important to have a search span of at least four years each side of the year you have been given as a sailing date. 

Lloyds register may have already been published for that year and your ship may not have been listed due to late registration. Many other vessels were fully retired as hulks and then for one voyage only, were brought out of retirement and on their return, they went back to being a hulk. So, finding a ship is not always easy and it can be frustrating to say the least. This reference has been prepared in the hope that many such problems are eradicated.
Please remember that many people came to Australia on vessels so small that one would have second thoughts about going round the bay rather than halfway round the world.

If this work does not contain the vessel you seek, try at your city library. Lloyd’s list may have a register of the vessel and that will tell you all you need to know about vessel dimensions. If you know the date of sailing from Britain, you may also see advertisements in the ‘Times’ newspaper. Your librarian will assist you to find the details.

*Legend; A notation of the trade in which each vessel predominantly worked, has been shown along with the history and other relevant data and is registered in [brackets]. This does not mean, that the vessel did not enter into other trades. If a ship cannot be found in the main register, the index will indicate if it is registered in the Tea, Wool or New Zealand passenger trades.

For those seeking image representation of a particular vessel, inquiries should be made with the British Maritime Museum or to local Maritime museums or libraries.

‘Flogging the Dead Horse’ Ceremony for sailors who, on joining a ship, borrowed money against their first months wages. At the end of the first month at sea, sailors were considered to have finished ‘flogging the dead horse’ and were back earning money. It was usual for seamen to borrow so as to buy the needed shaving materials, combs and knives etc for their time at sea.

Foo Foo Band.
Ships band made up of a variety of homemade instruments and accordions. Combs were also used to give the band its unique ‘Foo Foo’ sound.
                                           
* Research Tips:  
When checking for the vessel, in which you are interested, try to have data from other sources. Tonnage of a vessel cannot be classed as completely reliable as there was more than one form of tonnage registered. Tons Register, Tons burthen and American Tonnage are all-different. 

The best comparisons can be made by cross researching your local newspaper of the required period, with the passenger lists that most major libraries hold. If you know in which port your family arrived, the local library will have the lists you require.
 
                     ‘THE WARREN’                    
                          REGISTER
                                 OF
             COLONIAL TALL SHIPS 
copyright R.J.Warren 2011-2012 

                                                  MAIN REGISTER [Section 1]
Where a ship is registered under a new name, the most important part of her sailing career comes into play. In most cases, the ship can be found under both names but her history and etc is placed where she was best known.

                                                                    A

‘AAGOT’ ex ‘Firth of Clyde’ built 1882. Iron barque of 1242
Tons. Length: 228.1 ft Breadth: 36.1 ft Depth: 21.5 ft. She was built by Dobie and Co at Glasgow and after some good sailing years she was sold to Akties Aagot Co of Norway in 1905. Her master at that time was Captain A Nielsen. [General Carrier]

‘ABBEY HOLME’ built 1875. Iron barque of 516 tons. Length: 157.7 ft Breadth: 28.2 ft Depth: 17 ft. She was built by Hamilton at Port Glasgow. Owned by J. Hay and Co. Her master was Captain W Brice. [General Carrier]

‘ABBEY PALMER’ ex ‘Blairmore’ [see Blairmore]

‘ABERFOYLE’ built 1885. Steel ship of 1661 tons, Length: 258.8 ft, Breadth: 38.1 ft, Depth: 22.7 ft. Built by A. Macmillan at Dumbarton for D Sillars, Kerr, Newton and co. Her Master was Captain H Wallace. Reg. Greenock, JWND. Later sold to Norway and renamed ‘Hansy’ Owned by K G Anderson 1911, Reg: Frederickstad KDSG. Master: Captain P. Thingbo.
[General Carrier]

‘ABNER COBURN’ built 1882. Iron ship of 1973 tons. Length; 223 ft, Breadth; 43 ft, Depth; 26.9 ft. W. Rogers of Bath built her for Pendleton, Carver and Nicholls. She was a beautiful ship, one of the last of the Downeasters. [General Carrier]

‘ABOUKIR’ Built 1846. Wood ship of 816 Tons. Built at Sunderland for Dunbar. Length: app 155 ft. Breadth: app 33 ft. Depth: app 21 ft. Frigate built ship. [Passenger Liner]

‘ABRAHAM RYDBERG’ ex ‘Hawaian Isles’

‘ACHNASHIE’ Built 1892. Steel four-mast barque of 2476 Tons. Length: 293 ft. Breadth: 45.5 ft. Depth: 25.2 ft. Built by Duncan and Co for Thomas Cameron. Four mast vessel that ended her days as a Nitrate carrier for the firm Bordes, she was renamed ‘Chanaral’ under them and was sunk during the First World War. [Nitrate Carrier]

‘ACONAGUA’ ex ‘Nereus’

‘ACTIV’ ex ‘Rothersay Bay’

‘ADA IREDALE’ Built 1872, Iron ship of 997 tons Length; 112.1 ft, Breadth; 45.5 ft. Depth; 25.2 ft. Built by Williamson for the Matson Naval Company. This ship had an amazing history; she was abandoned in a sinking condition after catching fire on the 15th of October 1876. Her coal cargo continued to burn as she drifted with the currents for eight months without sinking. She was found and towed into port by French Cruiser and she was left to stand until her fire could be extinguished. This took until May 1878, which was a little more than 19 months after she caught fire. She was repaired and renamed ‘Annie Johnson’ and she went back to work under that name for a few more years until she was sold again and began operating in the Pacific as the ‘Bretagne’ being owned by Captain Ozanne of Tahiti. [General Carrier]

‘ADDERLEY’ Built 1876. Iron barque of 1241 Tons. Length: 225.7 ft. Breadth: 36.3 ft. Depth: 21.9 ft. Built at Liverpool for C.W. Kelloch and Co of Liverpool. Master: Captain W. P. Haines. [Passenger ship and General carrier]

‘ADELAIDE’ Built 1851, Wood barque of 435 tons. Length: 132.3 ft, Breadth: 27 ft Depth: 17ft. Built at Littlehampton for Moodie and co. Registered London HGCB. Master, Captain J Westcott. [Passenger ship and General. Carrier]

SS ‘ADELAIDE’ Built 1888,Steel ship of 3046 tons. Length; 329.3 ft Breadth; 45.2 ft, Depth; 26.7 ft. Built at Belfast by Harland and Wolf for D Watjen and co. [Passenger ship and General Carrier]

‘ADMELLA’ Built at Glasgow in 1857. Iron three mast steamship of approx. 392 Tons. Owned by Little and Partners. She was an Auxiliary that proved very fast. On the run that she was named after, the Adelaide to Melbourne coastal passenger service.She was wrecked when she struck Carpenters Reef on the 6th of August 1859. 
[Passenger and General Carrier]

‘ADMIRAL CECILIE’ Built 1902, Three-mast ship of 2695 tons. Length; 282.8ft, Breadth; 44ft, Depth; 22.8ft. Built by Chantiers et Ateliers de St Nazaire, Rouen. Built for the Societe nouveile of Nantes, France. Reg: Nantes HGBN. Master: Captain Gautier. [General Carrier]

‘ADOLPHE’ Built 1902, Steel four mast Barque of 3250 tons. Length: 296.7 ft, Breadth: 44.9ft, Depth: 26 ft. Built by Atel and Chantiers de France for A. D. Bordes. Reg: Dunkirk LKRC. Master: Captain J Charrington. French vessel that went aground on the Oyster Bank at Newcastle, New South Wales in 1904. She became a total loss and eventually a breakwater was built out to and alongside this vessel where she seemed to be resting peacefully as she quietly rusted away. [General Carrier]

‘ADOLPHE’ex ‘Peleus’

‘ADOLPH VINNEN’ ex ‘Somali’ also known as 'Mae Dollar’ then renamed ‘Alsterdamm’ and finally ‘Island Carrier’.

SS ‘ADRIATIC’ Steel ship of 5888 tons, Length; 354.8 ft, Breadth; 50 ft, Depth; 30ft. She was an American steamer that was converted to sail in 1869. She ended her days as a hulk at Bonny, West Africa. [Passenger and General Carrier]

‘ADRIATICO’ ex ‘Henny’ ex ‘Cape Finnisterre’.Master: Captain Brown. This vessel was stranded at Cape Banks, South Australia

‘ADVANCE’ Pilot boat of 181 tons, Built 1884 at Port Phillip for E S D K Company. Length: 120 ft, Breadth: 21 ft, Depth: 13 ft. Reg: 88922. Sydney N.S.W. Engine: 80 HP. Master Captain McKenzie. [Pilot Boat]

‘ADVANCEMENT’ Built 1868. Iron barque of 486 Tons. Length: 154 ft. Breadth: 28 ft. Depth: 17.4 ft. Bought by J. J. Craig for the New Zealand run, she was renamed ‘Selwyn Craig’. [Passenger ship and General Carrier] 

‘AEOLUS’ Built 1866, Iron ship of 1610 tons. Length: 259.7 ft, Breadth: 38.2 ft, Depth: 23 ft. Built by Barclay, Curle at Glasgow, Scotland for Carmichael in September 1894. Registered: Greenock, Scotland. [Passenger ship and General Carrier]

‘AFHILD’ ex ‘Meinwen ‘

‘AFON ALAW’ Built 1891, Steel four-mast ship of 2050 tons. Length: 284.4 ft, Breadth: 41 ft, Depth: 23.7 ft. Built by A Stephen and co of Glasgow Scotland for the Windmill Line. Master: Captain Evan Jones. She was sold to S.O. Stray of Norway and renamed ‘Storbror’ Master: Captain T. Duus. [General Carrier]

AGDA’ ex ‘Waitangi’

‘A.G. ROPES’ Built 1884. Steel ship of 2461 tons. Length: 258.2 ft, Breadth: 44.7 ft, Depth: 28.5 ft. Built by I.F. Chapman and co for themselves. Master: Captain D. H. Rivers. This ship was one of the last of the ‘ Downeasters ’ to sail round the ‘Horn’. She ended her days as a Barge on the Delaware River. [General Carrier]

‘AGAMEMNON’. Blackwall Frigate Built 1855. Wood ship of 1431 tons. Length: 252.3 ft, Breadth: 36.2 ft, Depth: 23.2 ft. Built and owned by Green of Blackwall. Master: Captain Marsden. She became a coal hulk in 1877 after seven good years in the Australian passenger trade. [Passenger and General Carrier]

SS. ‘AGAMEMNON. ’ Built by Scott of Greenoch for the Ocean Steamship Company. Length: 309.3 ft, Breadth: 38.8 ft, Depth: 28.4 ft. Reg.: Liverpool. [Passenger and General Carrier]

‘AGGI’ ex ‘See Rosen’ ex ‘Aspice’

‘AGINCOURT’ Wood ship of 958 Tons. Length: 167.2 ft. Breadth: 35.5 ft. Depth: 15.5 ft. Built at the Blackwall yards for Green. She was a Blackwall Frigate. Reg. London. Master: Captain Symons in 1863. London-Australia service. [Convict vessel then Passenger liner]

‘AGNES LILLIAN’ ex ‘City of Madrid’.

‘AGNES OSWALD’ Built 1876, Iron ship of 1380 tons. Length: 243.5 ft, Breadth: 37.2 ft, Depth: 22 ft. Built for the ‘Shire’ line, she was sold to Thomas Law and Son in 1888, having served the ‘Shire’ line for twelve years. She was broken up in 1910. [Passenger and General Carrier]

‘AGOSTINO TERRAZANO ’ ex ‘City of Lucknow'

‘AIGBURTH’ Built 1882. Iron ship of 1838 Tons. Length: 266.7 ft. Breadth: 39 ft. Depth: 23.6 ft. Built by R. Williamson and Son at Workington for R.W. Leyland and Co and was the second ship owned by this firm which started in 1876. [General Carrier]

‘AILSA’ ex ‘City of Delhi’

‘AINSDALE’ Built 1890, Steel ship of1825 Tons. Length: 270 ft. Breadth: 39.8 ft. Depth: 23.4 ft. Built by Bigger and Co for Iredale, Porter and Co. She was a sister to the ‘Hawksdale' and was a solid ship for 24 years until the First World War broke out in 1914. She was torpedoed on the 16th of February 1916 and was abandoned by her crew. She proved to be a tough old ship though and she stayed afloat until she was found by the steamship ‘Basuto’ which towed her into port for repairs. She again went to sea, this time as a convoy ship with engines. She was again torpedoed in 1918. This was her finale, she had been given enough and she went to the bottom. [General Carrier]

‘AIRLIE’ Built 1875, Iron ship of 1500 tons. Length: 246.3 ft, Breadth: 38.3 ft, Depth: 22.8 ft. Built by A. Stephen of Dundee for D. Bruce and Co. Master: Captain Mackay. Later sold to the Norwegians and renamed ‘Superb’. [Passenger and General Carrier]

A.J.FULLER’ Built 1891, Steel ship of 1849 tons. Length: 229 ft, Breadth: 41.5 ft, Depth: 26 ft. Built by J. McDonald for Flint and Co. Masters: Captain Colcord, Captain Carver, Captain Nichols then Captain Dermot. This vessel was a timber Carrier [Drogue] that ran from Puget Sound to Australia at the turn of the century. She was rammed and sunk by the Japanese ship ‘Mexico Maru’ in Seattle Harbour. She sank in 240 ft of water. [General Carrier]

‘AKAROA’ Built 1881, Iron ship of 1298 tons. Length: 221 ft, Breadth: 36.5 ft, Depth: 22.7 ft. Built at Sunderland for Shaw Savill. Master: Captain Culbert then Captain Ostrem. [General Carrier]

‘AKERSHUS’ ex ‘Katherine’ ex’ ‘Baron Abedare’

‘AKITSUSHIMA MARU’ ‘ex ‘Montgomeryshire’.

‘ALADDIN'. Built 1885, Iron ship of 1689 tons. Length: 244.8 ft, Breadth: 38.3 ft, Depth: 24.2 ft. Built by Oswald Mordaunt at Southampton for J. R. Haws. Reg. Liverpool JTVG 91194. Master: Captain J. Rutter. [Passenger and General Carrier]

‘ALBA’ ex ‘Hebe’ ex ‘Ballochmyle’.

‘ALBANIA’ ex ‘City of Glasgow’.

S.S.’ALBANY’ Built 1883. Iron steamship of 1500 tons. Length: 300.7 ft, Breadth: 39.2 ft Depth: 25.3 ft. Built by Laird Brothers at Birkenhead for S. S ‘Albany’ Co. Master: Captain Gough. [Passenger ship and General Carrier]

‘ALBATROS’ Built 1905. Iron three-mast Schooner of 472 tons. Length: 156.4 ft, Breadth: 27.6 ft, Depth: 12.8 ft. Built by Neistern and Te Weldt at Martenshek for Seetzen Gebreuder. Master: Captain N. Dier. German Training ship before the first world war. [German Cadet Training Ship]

‘ALBERT’ ex ‘Alexandra’

‘ALBERT RICKMERS’ Built 1905, Steel four-mast Barque of 2591 tons. Length: 276.3 ft, Breadth: 43.1 ft, Depth: 25.4 ft. Built by Rickmer Nordeutsher Lloyds for Rickmers. She was used in the Guano trade in her latter years Before being sold and renamed ‘Penang’. [Guano Carrier]

‘ALBERTSTELLA’ex ‘Claverdon’ex ‘Alexandra’

‘ALBION’ Built c1820 Wood ship of approx. 500 Tons. Owned by the New York ‘Black Ball Line’ which should not be confused with the Liverpool firm of the same name. [Atlantic Packet ship]

‘ALBUERA’ Built 1854. Wood ship of 852 Tons. Length: app 155 ft. Breadth: app 33 ft. Depth: app 21 ft. Built at Moulmein, India for Dunbar. She was sold to Willis and went missing in 1884. She was a member of the Blackwall Fleet. [Passenger liner]

‘ALBUERA’ Built 1885, Steel ship of 1554 tons. Length: 236.6 ft, Breadth: 39.2 ft Depth: 22.8 ft. Built by Thompson of Glasgow for Hardie of the Clutha Shipping Company. Reg.: Glasgow 90058 J.W.P.D. Master: Captain A. W. E. Gomm. She was later sold to Norway and renamed ‘Cis’ then again sold and renamed ‘Fremad I’ in 1917. Her Master under the Norwegian flag was Captain E. Hansen and J. M. Jacobsen of Norway owned her. [General Carrier]

‘ALCEDO’. Built 1891, Steel four mast Barque of 2470 Tons. Length: 301 ft, Breadth: 43.1 ft, Depth: 23.7 ft. Built by Royden and Co for Haws and Company. Master: Captain R Coutts. General carrier that was eventually sold to the Germans, renamed ‘Alsterschwan’ then resold and renamed ‘Barthold Vinnen’ in 1919. [General Carrier]

‘ALCIDES’ Built 1882, Steel four mast Barque of 2704 Tons. Length: 312.1 ft, Breadth: 43.2 ft, Depth: 24.4 ft. Built at Grangemouth for Haws and Company. She was sold to J McDonald of the Anglo American Oil Company in 1902 and became an oil carrier. She was again sold, this time to L. Sunt and T. Holst of Norway and she went missing on the 17th of July 1918, perhaps the victim of a Submarine. [Oil and General Carrier]

‘ALCINOUS’ Built 1882, Iron ship of 1576 Tons. Length: 259 ft, Breadth: 38.2 ft, Depth: 23.3 ft. Built by Barclay and Curle and Co for Carmichael. She went missing when bound for Antwerp from Lobos d’Afuera in 1905. [General Carrier]

‘ALCYON’ ex ‘Serena’

‘ALDINGA’ Built 1860. Steel screw steamer of 446 tons. Length: 202.6 ft, Breadth: 24.6 ft, Depth: 13.4 ft. Built by Scott and Co of Greenoch for Ebenezer Vickery. Wool Feeder for the South Australian wool trade during the 1860’s and 1870’s. She brought wool from the top of St Vincent’s Gulf to the wool carriers waiting in Adelaide. Master: Captain H. Boyle. [Wool Lighter]

SS ‘ALERT’ Built 1877.Iron Harbour steamer of 116 Tons. Length: 169 ft. Breadth: 19.6 ft. Depth: 9.8 ft. Built by R. Duncan and Co at Glasgow. Registered: Melbourne.
[Melbourne Tugboat]

"Alert" Wood Schooner that serviced Albany [Western Australia] Whaling Station with stores from 1843, She was captained by her owner Captain Hassell of Launceston then Albany.



‘ALEXA’ Built 1878. Iron barquentine of 441 Tons. Length: 144.3 ft. Breadth: 26.8 ft. Depth: 15.6 ft. Built at Sunderland, England. Owned by D. H. McKenzie. She was the last vessel to run the Line Islands trade from Sydney. [Pacific trader]

‘ALEXA’ ex ‘Voorburg’. Built 1904. Steel three-mast Schooner of 334 Tons. Length: 143.5 ft, Breadth: 25.8 ft, Depth: 11 ft. Built by Gebr and J.G. Verstockt of Martenshoek. Later owned by A Hatrick of Wellington NZ. Master: Captain G. Wood in 1912. [General Carrier

‘ALEXANDER DUTHIE’ Built 1867, Wood ship of 1159 Tons. Length: 211 ft, Breadth: 35.2 ft, Depth: 22 ft. Built by Duthie and Co, Reg. Aberdeen 56600 J.N.K.T. Master: Captain J. Donald in 1884. Three-Mast square-rigger that was beaten by ‘Samuel Plimsoll’ while that ship was on her maiden voyage. She was bought and renamed ‘Gunhilde’ by the Scandinavians and was still sailing for them in 1900. [Passenger and General Carrier]

‘ALEXANDRA’ Built 1884. Iron ship of 2462 Tons. Length: 307.4 ft. Breadth: 41.3 ft. Depth: 25.2 ft. Built by Oswald Mordaunt for J Coupland and Co. Sold to F A Nodin and renamed ‘Claverdon’ and is perhaps best remembered under this name. Master: Captain Kelway in 1898. She was resold to G Gordon and Co of England in 1914. She was once forced to go the wrong way back to England after being unable to round the ‘Horn’. She was finally sold to the Italians and renamed ‘Albertstella’ in the 1920’s. [Passenger and General Carrier]

‘ALEXANDRA’ ex ‘Forfarshire’ Built 1885.

‘ALEXANDRA’ ex ‘Hellas’ ex ‘Cairnbulg’.

‘ALEXANDRE’ ex ‘Springburn’

‘ALFRED’ Built 1845. 36 Gun wood Frigate of 1291 Tons. Length: 175.0 ft. Breadth: 40.0 ft. Breadth: 23.5 ft. Built at Blackwall for Green, she was still owned by him in 1863 and was still on the passenger service. Master: Captain Alexander Henning. She carried a crew of 90 men including 5 Mates and two carpenters. Reg. London. Her last Master was Captain George Ticknell. [Passenger liner London-Australia service.]

‘ALFRED HAWLEY’ Built 1860. Wood barque of 420 tons, Length: 135. 5 ft, Breadth: 28.9 ft, Depth: 17.1 ft. Built by Pile for Llewellin. Reg. Melbourne, 669. [Passenger and General Carrier]

‘ALFREDO’ ex ‘Gogoburn’

‘ALICE’ Built 1901. Steel barque of 2691 Tons. Length: 282.1 ft, Breadth: 41 ft, Depth: 26 ft. Built by Atel and Chant De Normandie of France. Owned by Edward Corblet and Co. Reg. Havre, France. H.D.S.E. Master: Captain Raub in 1915. [General Carrier]

‘ALICE A. LEIGH’ Built 1889. Steel four-mast ship of 3003 Tons. Length: 309.6 ft, Breadth: 46.1 ft, Depth: 25.2 ft. Built by the Whitehaven Shipping Line, later sold to the New Zealand Shipping Company. She was laid up in 1923 [General Carrier]

‘ALICIA HAVERSIDE’ Built 1919. Wood five-mast Schooner of 2265 Tons. Length: 266.5 ft. Breadth: 46 ft. Depth: 24.1 ft. Built by Hammond Lumber Company for the Pacific Freighters Company. Reg. San Francisco L.V.P.R. [Lumber and General Carrier]

‘ALIDA’ ex ‘Mataura’ ex ‘Dunfillan’.

‘ALINE’ Built 1875. Iron barque of 739 Tons. Length: 185.9 ft. Breadth: 30.2 ft. Depth: 18.8 ft. Built by Steel and Co of Greenoch. Later sold to G.W. Biagio Mortola. Master: Captain B. Classen. She was still sailing in 1908. [General Carrier]

‘ALINE’ Built 1867. Wood barque of 474 Tons. Built by Hardy of Sunderland for Hine and Company. Used as a wool carrier and passenger vessel in the Australian trade. She was eventually sold to the Norwegians. [Passenger and Wool Carrier]

‘ALLAHABAD’ Built 1864. Iron ship of 1143 Tons. Length: 205.6 ft. Breadth: 34.7 ft. Depth: 22.5ft. Owned by Thomas Stephens and Co of Liverpool. Reg. Liverpool. Master: Captain J. Wescott. [Passenger and General Carrier]

‘ALLAN SHAW’ Built 1874. Ship of 1589 Tons. Built by W. Simons at Renfrew. Owned by H. Lamont and Co. Length: 262.8ft. Breadth: 40.2 ft. Depth: 23 ft. Master: Captain E. Bache 1881. [Passenger and General Carrier]

‘ALLERTON’ Built 1884. Iron ship of 2088 Tons. Length: 272.7 ft. Breadth: 40.1 ft. Depth: 24.6 ft. Built for R.W. Leyland and Co. She was a general carrier whose owners preferred the standard three mast ships, owning only two four-mast ships in their time. [General Carrier]

‘ALLIANCE’ Built 1885. Iron barque of 993 Tons. Length: 202 ft. Breadth: 34.1 ft. Depth: 20.6 ft. Built by Evans at Liverpool. Sold to Arterdi of Callao in 1912. Master: Captain E. Rewtaria. Beautiful three-mast barque that was run ashore with the old timer ‘Golden Light’ during a heavy gale. [General Carrier]

‘ALMA DOEPEL’ Built 1903. Wood three-mast schooner of 150 Tons. Length: 105 ft. Breadth: 26.6 ft. Depth: 7.6 ft. Built by F. Doepel of Bellingen N.S.W. Australia. Master: Captain G. Pettersen in 1912. This vessel had a splendid career and is now operating out of Melbourne as a tour vessel. 2000 AD [Coastal Trader]

S.S.’ALMORA’ Built June 1883. Steel three-mast Auxiliary of 2000 Tons. This vessel is probably the one built for the Flying Horse Line by W. Hamilton. Length: 257.8 ft. Breadth: 39.2 ft. Depth: 22.9 ft. [Passenger and General Carrier]

‘ALNWICK CASTLE’ Built 1856. Wood frigate of 1087 Tons. Length: 195 ft. Breadth: 35.3 ft. Depth: 22.5 ft. Built by Pile of Sunderland for Green. Master: Captain R. Taylor. Sold and owned in 1881 by Sir John Arnot at which time her Master was Captain J Kelly. She was wrecked on the coast of Mexico in the same year, 1881. [Passenger liner]

‘A LOPEZ’. Built 1865. Iron ship that was built as a steamer of 1962 Tons. Length: 282 ft. Breadth: 38.5 ft. Depth: 25.5 ft. Built by W Denny at Dumbarton .She was sold and renamed ‘Curzon’ and converted to sail as a four mast ship by G. Dobell of Liverpool. She was part of the fleet of vessels that sighted the great ice pack of 1892-3. The Bergs were up to 1500 ft high and in many cases, 20 miles long. She was sold to the Chileans in the early 1900’s and was renamed ‘Patricio De Satrustegui’ then resold and renamed ‘Cisneros’ of Spain in 1922. [Passenger and General Carrier]

‘ALSTER’ ex ‘California’. Stranded 15-4-1927 on Old Province Island.

‘ALSTER’ ex ‘Don Juan’.

 S.S.’ALSTER’ Built 1914. Steel screw steamer of 997 Tons. Length: 222 ft. Breadth: 34.4 ft. Depth: 13 ft. Built by Reihurst of Hamburg for A. Kirsten. Reg. Hamburg 12757 H.V.B.N. [Passenger and General Carrier]

‘ALSTERDAMM’ ex 'Somali’

‘ALSTERNIXE’ ex 'Lord Templemore’

‘ALSTERUFER’ ex ‘North Star’.

’ALSTERSCHWAN’ ex ‘Alcedo’

‘ALTCAR’ Built 1864. Steel barque of 1283 Tons. Length: 209.5 ft. Breadth: 36 ft. Depth: 23.6 ft. Built by Jones, Quigg and Co of Liverpool. This ship was the first ever vessel with a steel hull. She was owned by C. Lemon at Liverpool in 1881. [Passenger and General Carrier]

 'ALUMBAGH’ Built 1863. Wood ship of 1138 Tons. Length: 190 ft. Breadth: 36 ft. Depth: 23.8 ft. Built by Laing of Sunderland for Dunbar. [Passenger and General Carrier]

‘ALUMNA’ Built 1901. Wood four-mast schooner of 696 Tons. Built by North Bend Mill Company for Simpson Lumber Company. Length: 189.1 ft. Breadth: 40 ft. Depth: 15.6 ft. Master: Captain R. J. Lawson of Coos Bay, Oregon U.S.A. [Lumber Carrier]

‘AMA BECONACOA’ Built 1902. Steel four-mast barque of 2516 Tons. Length: 300 ft. Breadth: 43.2 ft. Depth: 24.8 ft. Built by McMillan for Sota Y Aznar of Monte Video. Later bought by Devitt and Moore and put in the Australian trade. Master: Captain Robert Jackson. She was used as a training ship at that time. She was ordered to heave to by an armed German Steamer in 1914 but her captain ordered more sail to be set and she soon left the steamer far behind. She was then commandeered by the English Government and converted to a diesel engine oil carrier in 1919. She was renamed ‘Myr Shell’ and eventually went to the Japanese scrappers in 1933. [Grain and General Carrier]

‘AMAZON’ Built 1886. Iron four-mast barque of 2000 Tons. Length: 286 ft. Breadth: 42.5 ft. Depth: 24.1 ft. Built by Barclay, Curle at Glasgow. Owned by R. Hill. Master: Captain McLaren in 1889. This ship joined the Australian passenger trade in the 1890’s. [Passenger and General Carrier]

‘AMBROSE’ Built 1861. Iron barque of 811 Tons. Length: 190 ft. Breadth: 32 ft. Depth: 20 ft. Built at Newcastle, Northumberland by Wigham, Richardson and Co of Glasgow. She was later sold and became the ‘Willowbank’ [Passenger and General Carrier]

‘AMERICA’ Built 1874. Ship of 2054 Tons. Length: 232.8 ft. Breadth: 43.1 ft. Depth: 19.3 ft. Built by Quincy for Charles Goodall. Black Star Packet ship that ended her days as a coal hulk. [Passenger and General Carrier]

HMS ‘AMPHION’ Built 1845, Launched 1846. Wood frigate that was the first of England’s naval ships to be fitted with a screw propeller. She had originally been set to have paddlewheels but when the screw proved to be of better worth, she was fitted out as a screw steamer with sail. [British naval frigate]

‘AMPHION’ Built 1794, in America. Wood ship of 300 Tons. Bought by Willis and Co. Draught 16 ft, two decks. Master: Captain W. Wake.

SS 'AMRA' Built 1890. Steel ship of 535 Tons. Length: 190 ft. Breadth: 29 ft. Depth: 11.6 ft. Built by the Ailsa Ship building Company for the India Steam Navigation Company. Registered. Glasgow LVMN 98577. Master: Captain W.J. Hornsby. Bought by the AUSN Shipping company for the Australian coastal service and ended her days in that trade. She had one real claim to fame for during the First World War. At that time, she conveyed police to Wakaya Island in the South Pacific where they took Count Von Luckner of the ‘See Adler’ ex ‘Pass of Balmaha’ into custody. He was the captain of the famous German raider during the First World War. [Coastal trader]

‘AMY’ Built 1872. Wood brig of 220 Tons. Length: 107.4 ft. Breadth: 25 ft Depth: 11.7 ft. Built at Terrigal by T. Davis for C. Warburton. She operated in Queensland waters until 1926 when she sank at her moorings which were located at Normanton in north Queensland. [Coastal Trader]

‘ANAURUS’ Built 1883. Iron ship of 1585 Tons. Length: 261.6 ft. Breadth: 38.3 ft. Depth: 23 ft. Built by Barclay Curle and Co for Carmichael. She was later sold to the Norwegians who renamed her ‘Mabella’.[General Carrier]

‘ANCENIS’ ex ‘Lillian L Robbins’

‘ANCONA’ Built 1893. Steel four-mast barque of 2852 Tons. Length: 280.2 ft. Breadth: 44.8 ft. Depth: 22.9 ft. Built by Russell for Soley. Master: Captain Long. This vessel made her maiden voyage to Rio de Janiero then sailed to Melbourne. She was fitted with water ballast tanks and a 60 H.P. engine to pump water into them. She was lost by fire at sea in November 1906. [General Carrier]

‘ANCYRA’ Built 1892. Steel four-mast barque of 2234 Tons. Built by Russell. She was eventually sold to the Germans and renamed ‘Wandsbek’. Reg. Hamburg R.L.T.H. Master: Captain H. Kohn in 1907. Owned by Knella and Burchard. [General Carrier]

‘ANDRINA’ Built 1886. Iron four-mast ship of 2636 Tons. Length: 320.6 ft. Breadth: 42.9 ft. Depth: 24.9 ft. Built by Oswald and Company for E.F. Roberts and Co. This ship went ashore on the sand at Policarpo in May 1889, she was bound for San Francisco from Germany at the time. ‘Andrina’ sat there on the sand for two years until she was sold but the new owners did nothing about her and for a further seventeen years she just sat and waited. Then in 1918 with shipping being scarce, she was refloated and refitted going back to work under the name ‘Alejandrina’ for her new owners, Menendez of Puntas Arenas. [General Carrier]

‘ANDROMEDA’ Built 1890. Steel four-mast barque of 1928 Tons. Built by Duncan for G.F. Smith of St John. Reg. Glasgow. Later owned by the widow Smith and managed by A.W. Adams of St John. Sold to Black, Moore and Company of London in 1901.[General Carrier]

‘ANEMOME’ ex ‘McCallum More’

‘ANGELO REPETTO’ ex ‘Cape St Vincent’.

‘ANGERONA’ Built 1874. Iron ship of 1260 Tons. Length: 226 ft. Breadth: 36.1 ft. Depth: 22.1 ft. Built by the Whitehaven ship building company and launched in November of 1874.She had several masters before being sold to the Norwegians in 1904. Masters: Captain C. Harwood, Captain Anderson, Captain J. Murdoch and Captain Richard Williams in 1894. She was still sailing for the Norwegians in 1919 under the name ‘Hippen’ and her Master at that time was Captain S. Pedersen. She was owned by L. Poulsen and was Reg. Norway K.D.F.L.
[Passenger and General Carrier]

‘ANGLESEY’ Built 1851. Wood ship of 1018 Tons. Length: 182 ft. Breadth: 34 ft. Depth: 22 ft. Built by the Blackwall Yards for Green. Master: Captain J. Maddison. This ship was one of the fastest of all the Blackwallers, she ran the longest days work, 380 Miles in 24 Hours. No other Blackwall built ship never beat this mileage. She was a favorite passenger ship on the Australian run. ‘Anglesey’ was sold to European buyers in 1875 and went off the register in 1883.[Passenger liner]

‘ANGLO NORMAN’ Built 1876. Iron ship of 822 Tons. Length: 192.4 ft. Breadth: 32.2 ft. Depth: 18.9ft. Built by Russell and Co for Frost. Reg. Glasgow. Master: Captain Davidson.[Passenger and Wool trader]

‘ANITZA ZALACOSTA’ ex ‘Arundle Castle

‘ANNASONA’ ex ‘Margaret B. Carswell’ Built 1892. Steel barque of 1436 Tons. Built by Connell at Glasgow for J. D. Clink. Reg. Greenock 99787. Master: Captain B. Casey in 1896. [General Carrier]

‘ANNIE JOHNSON’ ex ‘Ada Iredale’

‘ANNIE M REED’ ex ‘Howard D Troop.

‘ANNIE SPEER’ Built 1891. Wood ship of 1540 Tons. Length: 243 ft. Breadth: 37 ft. Depth: 21 ft. Built by Stephens and Co for Brownells. She was sold to the Bank line and renamed ‘Bankleigh’ She was then sold to the Norwegians and renamed ‘Ceres’ She was again sold and renamed ‘Iona’ under which name she ended her career.[General Carrier]

‘ANSGAR’ ex ‘Hiawatha’ ex ‘Kingsport’

‘ANTELOPE’ Built 1845. Wood Auxiliary screw steamer of 778 Tons. Built at Liverpool, England. Master: Captain Keen. Owned by Miller and Co. She ran from Liverpool to Australia.

‘ANTELOPE’ Built 1856. Wood extreme clipper ship that was built as an Auxiliary dual funnel vessel in America. She was used in the colonial passenger service bringing settlers to Australia and New Zealand.[Passenger liner]

‘ANTELOPE’ Built 1873. Iron ship of 1306 Tons. Length: 198.3 ft. Breadth: 37.3 ft. Depth: 24 ft. Built at Belfast for Thomas Peabody.[Passenger and General Carrier]

‘ANTIGONE’ Built 1889. Iron barque of 1470 Tons. Length: 235.9 ft. Breadth: 38.1 ft. Depth: 21.8 ft. Built by Germania Werft. Sold to the Norwegians and renamed ‘Marie’. A Olsen owned her in 1907 and her Master was Captain R. Jacobsen. Reg. Norway 1907.
[Passenger and General Carrier]

‘ANTILLES’ ex ‘Hedwig’

‘ANTILOPE’ ex ‘Eversham Abbey’

‘ANTIOPE’ Built 1866. Iron ship of 1443 Tons. Length: 242.3 ft. Breadth: 38.4 ft. Depth: 23.7 ft. Built by Read of Glasgow for Heap and Sons. Master: Captain Black. Her best time to Australia was 68 days and could have broken the all time record except that she was becalmed on the ‘Line’.[Passenger and General Carrier]

‘ANTONIA MUMBRU’ ex ‘Reliance’

‘ANTONIN’ Built 1902. Steel four-mast barque of 3071 Tons. Length: 313.5 ft. Breadth: 45 ft. Depth:24.2 Built at Dunkirk for A.D. Bordes and launched in September 1902. She was a very beautiful ship but was unfortunately sunk by the well known German raider ‘See Adler’ which had previously been the ‘Pass of Balmaha’ [General Carrier]

APA’ Steel lighter of app 400 Tons. She was washed ashore during the 1918 cyclone at Mackay, North Queensland.[Steam Lighter]

‘ARAB STEED’ Built 1863. Wood barque of 635 Tons. Length; 162.7 ft. Breadth; 32.4 ft Depth; 19.5 ft. Built by Pile of Sunderland for T. B. Walker. She was first used in the Australian Passenger trade in the 1860’s and 1870’s, then sold to A. Skantye of Gothenburg, Sweden in 1881. Master; Captain A Skantye. [Passenger and General Carrier]

‘ARABIA’ Built 1852. Wood paddle wheel steamer of approx. 800 Tons. She was the last wood ship built for the Cunard Line and she made her maiden voyage to New York from Liverpool on the 1st of January 1853. She was built by Robert Steele and Sons at Greenock and was sold in 1864. She was converted to sail by her new owners.[Passenger Ship]

S.S.’ARAMAC’ Built 1889. Steel ship of 2114 Tons. Length; 300 ft. Breadth; 37.1 ft. Depth; 17.6 ft. Built by W. Denny Bros. Master; Captain J Butcher. Reg. Brisbane Qld. Engine; 334 Nhp. 3 cylinder 25inch, 41 inch 68 inch and 48 inch. She was owned by the A.U.S.N Company and was used as a coastal passenger and cargo vessel.
[Coastal Passenger ship]

‘ARCHIBALD RUSSELL’ Built 1905. Steel four-mast barque of 2385 Tons. Length: 291.4 ft. Breadth: 43.2 ft. Depth: 24.1 ft. Built by Scott and Co for Captain Hardie. Master: Captain McMillan. This ship was one of the last great grain carriers. She was bought by the Finlander Captain Eriksen for his small grain fleet and continued sailing under that flag until the Second World War when she was taken over by the British for use as a store ship. ‘Archibald Russell’ was broken up in 1950 on the river Tyne at Newcastle, England. [Grain Carrier]

‘ARCTIC’ Built 1850. Wood ship of 1157 Tons. Length; 176.2 ft. Breadth; 38.8 ft. Depth; 23 ft. Built at Williamsburg, New York. Sold and renamed ‘Stratford’. She was still sailing in 1907. [Passenger and General Carrier]

‘ARCTIC STREAM’ Built 1885. Iron ship of 1584 Tons. Length; 250.3 ft Breadth; 38.1 ft Depth; 23 ft. Owned by the Shire Line. Master; Captain C.C. Dixon. She was lost on the coast of Northumberland while in ballast on February 22, 1914. [Passenger and General Carrier]

‘ARDEN CRAIG’ Built 1886. Iron ship of 2000 Tons. Length: approx. 285 ft Breadth; approx. 40 ft Depth; ABT 23 ft. Built by Russell for Edmiston Mitchell. Sold in the 1890’s to Crawford and Rowat. In January 1911, ‘Arden Craig ‘ ran up onto the Crim Rocks, Scillies when bound from Melbourne with grain. She was backed off the rocks into deep water and the pumps were put to work. ‘Arden Craig’ was too badly holed to save and she began to sink. The crew were all got away and people on shore were treated to the spectacle of a ship in full sail sinking before their eyes. Many photographs were taken of her death scene and the waters crept slowly up her masts until she took one last plunge and disappeared forever.[General Carrier]

‘ARDNAMURCHAN’ Built 1890. Steel ship of 1718 Tons. Length; 259.4 ft. Breadth; 38.1 ft. Depth; 23.1 ft. Built by Russell for Hogarth. Sold to Genoa and renamed ‘Speranza’. Then resold to Norway and renamed ‘Gunda’. She was laid up in 1924 and then sold to the Dutch ship breakers in 1926.[General Carrier]

‘ARETHUSA’ ex ‘Peking’ Training ship of New Zealand, see ‘Peking’

‘ARETHUSA’ Built 1890. Steel ship of 1772 Tons. Length; 267.2 ft. Breadth’ 39.5 ft Depth; 23 ft. Built by Connell . Owned by E. L. Wessel of Iquique. Master; Captain C. E. Dannell. ‘Arethusa’ was later sold and renamed ‘Hippalos’ by her new owners; Soluto Hippalos of Denmark. Her Master; Captain H. R. Duysen in 1922.
[General Carrier]

‘ARGO’ Built c1848. Wood ship of 988 Tons or 1750 Tons burthen. She was owned by the Black Star line of Williams and Guion and managed by Grimshaw and Co. She had one voyage to Melbourne from Liverpool in 1852. She arrived in Melbourne on the 19th of January 1853 after being advertised to sail on the 10th of September 1852. She in fact departed Liverpool on the 10th of October 1852, one month later than planned. Her master was Captain Samuel Macoduck.

The advertisement description of her reads; “This splendid vessel was built by Smith and Dimon in New York, expressly for the Packet service without regard to expence, her frame being entirely live oak, and copper fastened throughout. She is now temporarily withdrawn from the line, for one voyage to the gold regions. Her cabin arrangements, which are unsurpassed by any ship in port, combine comfort with elegance, no pains or expence being spared to have every comfort and convenience for passengers. To ensure the comfort of the passengers, the advertisers wish to remark that it is intended to take first and second class passengers only. Parties wishing to avail themselves of so desirable an opportunity are requested to make early application to C. Grimshaw and Son, 10 Goree-piazzas, Liverpool.

This vessel should not be confused with the ‘Argo’ that was run by the Black Ball line. It is easy to confuse them as the Smith/Dimon ship was an American registered vessel and is not found in Lloyd’s register, at the time of her sailing to the goldfields in Australia.

‘ARGO’ Built 1847.Wood ship of 999 Tons [2000 Tons burthen] that was chartered by the Black Ball Line for a voyage to Melbourne from Liverpool in 1852. The ‘Argo’ was owned by Miller and Mackay of New Brunswick in America and they enjoyed partnerships in a number of vessels owned by the Black Ball Line. Built in St Johns, ‘Argo’ was lost on a voyage between St Stephens, New Brunswick and New York in July 1852, she was probably about to take passengers on at New York for Liverpool or London when the loss occurred. She was registered in Liverpool and her master was Captain Bitton.

‘ARGO’ ex ‘Argonaut’

‘ARGO’ ex ‘Eversham Abbey’

‘ARGO’ ex ‘Gauntlet’

‘ARGO’ Built 1890. Iron ship of 1490 Tons. Length; 248 ft. Breadth; 37 ft. Depth; 23 ft. Built for Carmichael by Barclay Curle and Co. Sister ship to the ‘Phasis’ and ‘Siren’. Masters; Captain Cook then Captain Thompson. She was sold to the Norwegians in 1906 and renamed ‘Marga’.[General Carrier]

‘ARGONAUT’ Built 1876. Iron ship of 1488 Tons. Length; 254.4 ft. Breadth; 38.6 ft. Depth; 23.2 ft. Built by Barclay Curle and Co for Carmichael. Master: Captain Hunter then Captain Cook. This ship was sold , first to the Portuguese who renamed her ‘Elvira’ and then later to the Norwegians who renamed her ‘Argo’ in 1913.
[Passenger and General Carrier]

‘ARGOSY’ Built 1860.Wood barque of 1259 Tons. Length; 275 ft. Breadth; 35.5 ft. Depth; 24 ft. Built by M. Pearse AND Co at Stockton for George Milne. Master; Captain Marshall. Auxiliary Eng.: 150 H.P. Reg. Newcastle, England. She had a gross weight of 1800 Tons. She was later sold and bought by J. Temperley and Co in 1884.[Passenger and General Carrier]

‘ARGUS’ Built 1878. Iron ship of 1543 Tons. Length; 255.5 ft. Breadth; 38.7 ft. Depth; 23.1 ft. Built by Barclay, Curle and Co for Carmichael. Sold to the Norwegians and ended her days stranded on Elizabeth Reef in 1911 under the name ‘Askoy’. [Passenger and General Carrier]

‘ARGYLESHIRE’ Built 1870. Iron barque of 708 Tons. Length; 185.8 ft. Breadth; 31.2 ft. Depth; 18.4 ft. Built by Dobie and Sons at Glasgow, Scotland. Owned by Thomas Law in 1885. Registered. Glasgow.

‘ARIEL;’ Built 1865. Composite ship of 852 Tons. Length: 197.4 ft. Breadth: 33.9 ft. Depth: 21 ft. Built by Steele for Shaw and Maxton. Fast Tea Clipper that sailed well against all others in her tea races. She was part of the finish of the great tea race of 1866 when she and two other ships; ‘Taeping’ and ‘Serika’ arrived in England, all on the same tide having left China almost at the same time.

‘Ariel’ was first ship loaded before the race began, followed by ‘Fiery Cross’ and then ’Taeping’ and ‘Serica’. The first ship to get off the Min river though was the ‘Fiery Cross’ which managed to catch the right tide out and had a 14 hour lead on ‘Ariel’, ‘Taeping’ and ‘Serika’ who all got away within minutes of one another. The master of ‘Ariel’ was Captain Keay. The ships were laden thus; ‘Ariel’= 1,230900 Pounds of tea. ‘Taeping’ =1,108,700 Pounds of tea. ‘Serica’ = 954,236 Pounds of tea. ‘Fiery Cross’ left Foochow on the 29th May 1866 and her opponents on the 30th of May 1866.

The master of ‘Taeping’ was Captain McKinnon .The race was deemed a draw between ‘Ariel’ and ‘Taeping’ and the two Captains divided the winnings which amounted to ten shillings per ton to the winner and 100 pounds to the winning Captain. ‘Taeping’ being first to dock received the prize but because an agreement had been struck between the two owners of the ships. ‘Taeping’ was allowed to dock first because no prize would have been forthcoming if both ships had docked together. The two captains then shared the prize. The master of ‘Ariel’ was Captain Turnbull. [Passenger and Tea Clipper]

‘ARIEL’ Built 1900. Wood four-mast brigantine of 726 Tons. Length; 176 ft. Breadth; 40 ft. Depth’ 14.5 ft. Built and owned by M. Turner at Benicia, California. Reg. San Francisco K.Q.J.G. Master: Captain Spiers.[Timber Drogue]

‘ARISTIDES’ Built 1876. Iron ship of 1661 Tons. Length; 260 ft. Breadth; 39.5 FT. Depth; 24.5 ft. Built by Hood of Aberdeen for Thompson and Co. Launched March 1876 as the flagship of the White Star Line. Master; Captain Kemball then Captain Poppy. She was lost under this Captain in June 1903. [Passenger and General Carrier]

‘ARISTOMENE’ Built 1881. Iron ship of 1750 Tons. Length; 263 ft. Breadth; 39.1 ft. Depth; 24.1 ft. Built by Potter for Fernies ‘Omene’ line. She was sold to the Italians and renamed ‘Olona’ before being broken up in 1911-1912. [Passenger and General Carrier]

‘ARMADALE’ Built 1887. Iron four-mast barque of 2015 tons. Length: 285.2 ft. Breadth: 40.5 ft. Depth: 23.8 ft. Built by A. Stephen for Roxbugh of the ‘Dale’ line. Her sister ship was the ‘Bracadale’. Master; Captain Duncan. She was sold to the Norwegians and renamed ‘Audun’ and was scrapped under that name in 1924.[Passenger and General Carrier]

‘ARMANDO’ ex ’County of Flint’.

‘ARRACAN’ Built 1892. Steel four-mast barque of 2282 Tons. Length; 291.3. Breadth; 42.3 . Depth; 24.5 ft. Built by Richardson for J. McDonald. Master; Captain W.L. B. Kelk .Sister to ‘Afghanistan’, she was sold to Lewis, Herron and Co in 1908. Resold to the Germans and renamed ‘Carla’ then sold again and named ‘Fehmahn’. [General Carrier]

‘ARROW’ Built 1902. Steel four-mast barque of 3090 Tons. Length: 327.7 ft Breadth: 46.5 ft. Depth: 26.2 ft. Built by A. Rodger and Co for the Anglo American Oil Company. Reg. London. Master; Captain D. McDonnell. She was sold to Laeitz of Hamburg and renamed ‘Parma’ and became one of the last of the great grain carriers of the 20th century. Her master at that time was Captain De Cloux. She was again sold, this time to the Finns and was registered as having a Depth of 26.2 ft and a Tonnage of 3047 tons. She was owned by J. W. Wennstrom in 1937 and was Reg. Mariehamm OHQQ. Her master being Captain Karlsson .She won the grain race of 1932 with Captain De Cloux as her master.[Grain Carrier]

‘ARTEMESIA’ Built: 1847. Wood barque of 492 Tons .Built at Sunderland . Owned by A. Ridley Master: Captain J. Ridley. Reg. London. Emigrant ship of the Australian trade that sailed for New South Wales in 1849. [Passenger and General Carrier]

‘ARTHUR FITCHER’ ex ‘British Merchant’

‘ARTHUR SEWELL’ Built 1899. Steel ship of 2919 Tons. Length: 328.6 ft. Breadth: 45 ft. Depth: 28.3 ft. Built by A Sewell for himself Master: Captain J Murphy then Captain Gaffry. She was wrecked on Noir Island, Cape Horn in 1908.[General Carrier]

‘ARUNDLE CASTLE’ Built 1864. Iron barque of 1042 Tons. Length: 203 ft. Breadth: 33.6 ft. Depth: 21.9 ft. Built by Steel of Greenock. Owned by C. Barrie of Dundee. Master. Captain Lake. Reg. Dundee Scotland 51029 WLNT. She was sold and renamed ‘Chittagong’ then resold to Norway and renamed ‘Imperator’ her master at this time was Captain G. Gregorsen in 1902. Resold and renamed ‘Anitza Zalacosta’ by the Greeks and was still going for them in 1922.[Passenger and General Carrier]

‘ARVONIA’ Built 1876. Iron ship of 1266 Tons. Length: 21 ft. Breadth: 36.2 ft. Depth: 22.5 ft. Built by Mounsey and Foster at Sunderland. She was later sold to T.Williams and in 1890, her master was Captain M. J. Jones. She was again sold and was renamed ‘Cambrian Duchess’. [Passenger and General Carrier]

‘ARYAN’ Built 1893. Iron ship of 2017 Tons. Length: 248.6 ft. Breadth: 42.2 ft. Depth: 26.3 ft. Built by C.V. Minott. Owned by J W Elwell and Co. Master: Captain Pendleton, then Captain W. R. Dickinson . She was then commanded by Captains A T Whittier then H.O. Sorenson. She was burnt at sea in 1918. The second mates lifeboat disappeared with some of the crew and was not heard of again. [General Carrier]

‘ASALIA’ ex ‘Chile’ ex ‘Chiltonford’.

‘ASCALON’ Built 1868. Wood ship of 938 Tons. Length: approx. 190 ft. Breadth: approx. 31 ft. Depth: approx. 21 ft. Built by George Thompson and CO for their White Star Line. Sold to Trinder, Anderson and Co in 1881. Again sold, this time to the Norwegians in 1890. She was wrecked on the 7th of February 1907 at Annalong while bound for Moss. She was a passenger ship on the Australian run and entered the wool trade for a short spell in the 1870’s [Passenger and General Carrier]

‘ASGERD’ ex ‘Kilmory’

‘ASHMORE’ Built 1877. Iron ship of 1179 Tons. Length: 219.3 ft. Breadth: 35.3 ft. Depth: 20.6 ft. Built London. Master: Captain G. Dobell. Used on the Australian run in the 80’s and 90’s. [Passenger and General Carrier]

‘ASIA’ built 18611. Iron ship of 1180 Tons. Length: 189.2 ft. Breadth: 37.9 ft. Depth: 23 ft. Built for the Australian passenger service.. She went missing in 1874.[Passenger liner]

‘ASIE’ Built 1893. Steel Barque of 879 Tons. Length: 183.7 ft. Breadth: 31.1 ft. Depth: 19.7 ft. Built by Forges Et Chantiers at Havre, France. Owned by H Auger in 1897. Reg. Havre. Master: Captain J. Tattevin.[General Carrier]

‘ASPICE’ Built 1894. Steel ship of 1909 Tons. Length: 265 ft. Breadth: 39.1 ft. Depth: 23.2 ft. Built by Mackie and Thompson for R J Swyng and Co. Sold to the Italians in 1900 and renamed ‘Sant Erasmo’ then sold to the Germans and named ‘See Rosen’ by them. She was again sold and given her final name ‘Aggi’ and was wrecked under that name in May 1915.[General Carrier]

‘ASSAYE’ Built 1853. Iron ship of 783 Tons. Built at Greenock. Owned by Stewart. Reg. Greenock. Master: Captain Bramwell. It is unsure if this vessel was one of the last two vessels built for the Indian Navy.

‘ASTORIA’ ex ‘Ben Nevis’.

‘ ASULF’ ex ‘Comliebank’

‘ATALANTA’ Built 1848. Wood barque of 233 Tons. Built at Gurnsey and owned by Le Coutre. Registered; Guernsey. Master: Captain Le Mesurier. Liverpool-Australian service.


‘ATALANTA’ Built 1885. Iron ship of 1693 Tons. Length; 265.1 ft. Breadth; 39.7 ft. Depth. 23.4 ft. Built by Duncan and Co for Ninian Hill and her Master; Captain Charles McBride. She was wrecked on the coast of Oregon, Nth America on 17th November 1898.[General Carrier]


‘ATHENE’ ex ‘Connishead’.


‘AUCHENCAIRN’ Built 1891. Steel four mast Barque of 2040 Tons. Length: 287.7 ft. Breadth: 40.2 ft. Depth: 23.4 ft. Built by Ritson of Cumbria and was Launched into the river Ellen broadside because of the 60 ft width of the river at their yards. She was sold to the Germans around 1900 and renamed ‘Nomia’. She finally went missing on the 19th of December 1912.  [New data supplied by a reader on Auchencairn/Nomia]: Auchencairn / Nomia: sank in hurricane at 42S 160 E on 16 July 1912 on her way from Newcastle to Antofagasta with 4000t of coal. Two bottled messages from the Captain (Himme) were found in Australia and New Zealand many months after her disappearance. The 100th anniversary is near. In memory of my great uncle, Fritz Moeller, able seaman on "NOMIA" when she sank with all hands. [General Carrier] 


‘AUCKLAND’ Built and Launched 1874. Iron passenger Clipper of 1274 Tons. Length; 239.8 ft. Breadth; 36 ft. Depth; 20.7 ft. Built by R Duncan for Patrick Henderson. Eventually sold to S O Stray of Norway in 1904. She was used in the frozen meat trade. [Passenger Liner and Frozen Meat clipper.


SS ‘AUCKLAND’ Built 1883. Iron screw steamer of 852 Tons. Length: 209.5 ft. Breadth: 31.1 ft. Depth: 14.3 ft. Built by Pearce Brothers. Owned by Hannay, Boyd and Co. Master: Captain T. Robinson. Reg. Newcastle, England HNWK. Engine. 99 NHP. [Passenger and General Carrier]


'AUDNY’ ex Hyderabad


‘AUDUN’ ex ’Armadale’


‘AUGUSTA’ Built 1868. Wood barque of 647 Tons. Length: 151.3 ft. Breadth: 30.2 ft. Depth: 18.9 ft. Built at Bristol for T. Daniel and Sons. Master: Captain Young. She ended her days under the Norwegian flag. [Passenger and General Carrier]


‘AUGUSTELLA’ ex ‘Jordanhill’


‘AUGUSTO’ ex ‘Aagot’


‘AURIGA’ Built 1825. Wood barque of 231 Tons. Built at London. Owned by Richardson. Master; Captain Ross. Registered; London. She ran the London Hobart trade.


‘AURIGA’. Built 1875. Iron ship of 1518 Tons Length: 294.4 ft. Breadth: 30.2 ft. Depth: 23.3 ft. Built by Scott for the Star Navigation Company. She was later sold to the Sierra Shipping Company and renamed ‘Sierra Blanca’ . She was again sold and was renamed ‘Blanca by the Norwegians. [Passenger and General Carrier]


‘AUSTRALIA’ Built 1886. Iron four-mast barque of 2245 Tons. Length: 278.1 ft. Breadth: 41.9 ft. Depth: 24.5 ft. Built by Russell and Co. Owned by F Denniston. Reg. Glasgow KHVG. Master: She was sold and renamed ‘Elisa Lihn’ then sold again and was given back her old name. She was again sold, this time to the Norwegians and was renamed ‘Phyllis’ Master: Captain Korff then Captain Armstrong when bought by the Americans in 1925. [General Carrier]


‘AUSTRALIA’ Built 1894. Iron ship of Approx. 1800 Tons. Length: 246.6 ft. Breadth: 38.2 ft. Depth: 21.7 ft. Built by Nodero of Sestri for A. Milesi of Genoa.
[General Carrier]


SS ‘AUSTRALIAN’ Built 1896. Steel screw steamer of 2838 Tons. Length: 341.1 ft. Breadth: 42.2 ft. Depth: 22.5 ft. Built by R Napier for the Eastern Australian Ship Building Co. Reg. London 105806 PGDB. Master: Captain W.G. McArthur. [Passenger and General Carrier]


‘AUSTRASIA’ Built 1892. Steel four-mast barque of 2718 Tons. Length: 305.1 ft. Breadth: 44 ft. Depth: 24.7 ft. Built by Russell and Co at Port Glasgow for Coffey. Master: Captain Parkes. Sister ship to ‘Oronasia’. Under Captain Parkes she was badly dismasted on the voyage back to England from Australia and even after this set back, she still took only 75 days for the journey. ‘Austrasia’ was sold to the Germans and renamed ‘Gustav’ in 1910. She sailed for them until after the First World War and the Vinnen group then bought her. They ran her for a while and then sold her to the Altona Company in 1927 and she sailed in the Australian trade under the name ‘Melbourne’ . Reg. Liverpool MTPN 99403. Master: Captain W Ewart. [Passenger and General Carrier]


‘AVALANCHE’ Built 1855. Wood barque of 893 Tons. Built by the Americans and she went off the register in 1883. The Norwegians owned her in 1881. It is probable that she was broken up or wrecked in 1883. She was used as a passenger ship on the Australian run.[Passenger Liner]

‘AVANCE’ ex ‘Machrihanish’


‘AVENTIA’ ex ‘Selkirkshire’.


‘AVIEMORE’ Built 1870 at Aberdeen for the White Star Line. Wood ship of 1091 Tons. Length: 214.9 ft. Breadth: 36.8 ft. Depth: 22.2 ft. Last wooden vessel owned by the White Star Line [George Thompson and Co]. She was sold to the Norwegians and turned into a floating oil refinery. Master: Captain Mark Breach then Captain T. Ayling. She was still there for the Norwegians in 1915, re-rigged as a bark.[Passenger Liner and finally General Carrier]

‘AVONMORE’ Built 1863. Wood ship of 1260 Tons. Length: 195 ft. Breadth: 33.5 ft. Depth: 24 ft. Built in the USA. Owned by C Hill and Co and was registered to Bristol . She was wrecked on Huanillos Isle on the 9th of May 1877 during an earthquake and tidal wave. The ship sailed from Cardiff, Wales in September, 1876, bound for Monte Video with coal. She proceeded from there to Callao, Peru where she received orders to load Guano at Huanillos where she arrived on the 9th of May 1877. Her master, Captain Corfield and his wife went ashore for the ship's mail and some shopping and returned late in the afternoon. At 7.30pm, the first of several shocks were felt. The captain had two of his young children tied to his back. The four-month-old baby his wife delivered en-route, was strapped to the stewardess in charge of Mrs Corfield and her children. The Sunami that arrived totally wiped the area out and ‘Avonmore’ was destroyed. Of the 32 crew, two women and three children, only the captain, the sailmaker, senior apprentice and three able seamen survived.[General Carrier and Nitrate clipper]

‘AVONMORE’ Built 1881. Wood barque of 1380 Tons. Length: 201.5 ft. Breadth: 40 ft. Depth: 23.5 ft. Built by J. B. North at Nova Scotia. Owned by A.W. Smith. Reg. Windsor, Nova Scotia.[Passenger and General Carrier]

‘AXEL’ ex ‘St Vincent’

‘AYESHA’ Built 1905. Three mast Schooner of 123 Tons. Length: 95.7 ft. Breadth: 22.7 ft. Depth: 10 ft. Owned by J.S. Clunies-Ross of the Cocos Islands. Registered. London. A German demolition party who went ashore from the ‘Emden’, a 3600-Ton German Raider of the First World War, commandeered her. The ‘Emden’ received news that a convoy was soon to be in the area and set about arranging a trap. HMAS’ Sydney’ was escorting the convoy and had been warned that an armed vessel was approaching the Cocos Islands. Both vessels knew of each other simultaneously for ‘Emden’ steamed out to meet her rival, confident that she could hold her own with any ship in the Indian Ocean. It was not long before her Captain gave up the fight and he ran ‘Emden’ aground on the island. Her landing party made their escape by taking the ‘Ayesha’ and sailing her off to Sumatra. There they scuttled ‘Ayesha’ and after a seven-month wait, returned to Germany on the steamer ‘Choising’. [Island trader]

                                                       B

‘BACTRIA’ ex ‘Loch Finlas.

BALASORE’ Built 1892. Steel four-mast barque of 2724 Tons. Length; 311 ft. Bre4adth; 43.6 ft. Depth; 24.5 ft. Built by Barclay, Curle and Co for Eyre, Evans and Co. She worked in the grain trade until 1910 and then became a nitrate carrier. Sold to the Americans who renamed her ‘Monongahela’, she ended her career as an oil barge.[Grain, Nitrate and oil carrier]

‘BALCLUTHA’ Built; 1886. Iron ship of 1716 Tons. Length; 256.3 ft. Breadth; 38.5ft. Depth; 22.7 ft. Built by Connell and Co for R. McMillan and Co of Glasgow. She was sold to the American firm of J. J. Moore and Co then resold to Pope, Talbot of San Francisco. She finally was bought by the Alaska Packers and renamed ‘Star of Alaska’ [General carrier and Fish transport]

‘BALLOCHMYLE’ Built 1873. Iron ship of 1438 Tons. Length; 245 ft. Breadth; 38.5 ft. Depth; 22.7 ft. Built by Watson for R Cuthbert at Sunderland. Master: Captain W. G. Louden then Captain Tait in 1888.She was built for the Australian passenger trade and was eventually sold to the Norwegians and renamed ‘Hebe’ . She was again sold, this time to the Austrians who renamed her ‘Alba’ . She was hulked in 1908. [Passenger and General Carrier]

BALMORAL’ Built 1892. Iron four-mast barque of 2614 Tons. Length; 301.8 ft. Breadth; 41.9 ft. Built by Potter for McVicar and Marshall of the ‘Palace’ line. She was sold to the Italians in 1910 and was sunk by the Germans in 1916.[General Carrier]

‘BANFFSHIRE’ ex ‘Southfield’ Built 1880.Iron Barque of 899 Tons. Length; 200.1 ft. Breadth; 32.8 ft. Depth; 19.6 ft. Built by Russell. She was later sold to the ‘Shire’ line. Sister ship to the well known ‘Shire’ liners that belonged to Law and Co, ‘Peebleshire’ Wigtonshire’ ‘Berwickshire’ .All these vessels were built by Russell, she was sold to the Italians in 1906 and was sunk by the Germans in 1917.[Passenger and General Carrier]

‘BANGALORE’ Built 1845. Wood ship of 645 Tons.[Passenger and General]

‘BANGALORE’ Built 1843. Wood barque of 877 Tons. . [Passenger and General]

‘BANGALORE’ Built 1886. Iron ship of 1699 Tons. Length; 260.2 ft. Breadth; 39.9 ft. Depth; 23 ft. Built by Richardson, Duck for F McMahon. Master; Captain Ray Congdon. This vessel went ashore at the beginning of the 1900’s and was refloated by the Americans. She eventually went missing in 1908.[Passenger and General Carrier]

‘BANKHALL’ Iron barque of c1000 tons. Built 1884.

BANKLEIGH’ ex ‘Annie Speer’

‘BANN’ Built 1875. Iron ship of 1723 Tons. Length; 250.1 ft. Breadth; 38.9 ft. Depth; 24.3 ft. Built by T Oswald at Sunderland. Owned by Odiear Ahlers of Bremen, Germany. Master; Captain J Stratmann. Reg. Bremen QHPJ. She was later sold and renamed ‘Hildegarde’ [General Carrier]

‘BANNOCHBURN’ Built 1886. Steel four-mast barque of 2070 Tons. Length; 287 ft. Breadth; 42.5 ft. Depth; 24.1 ft. Built by Barclay, Curle and Co. Sold to the Norwegians and renamed ‘Lief Gunnersen’. Master; Captain O D Hansen. Reg. Norway KFQW.
[General Carrier]

SS ‘BANSHEE’ Built 1884. Iron paddle steamer of 1120 Tons burthen. Length: 310 ft. Breadth: 34.1 ft. Depth: 14.3 ft. Built by Laird Brothers at Birkenhead. Engines 0.2 cyl. 80”-84” 420 Nhp. Owner: L & N.W Ry Company. Registered. Dublin, Ireland. She ran in the England-India trade and may have made voyages to Australia.[Passenger vessel]

‘BARCORE’ Built 1884. Iron ship of 2082 Tons. Length; 278.6 ft. Breadth; 40.8 ft. Depth; 24.5 ft. built by Richardson Duck for Eyre and Evans. Sister ship to the well-known ‘Indore’, she was sold to the Norwegians and renamed ‘Songvar’. She went off the register before the Great War of 1914-1918. [General Carrier]

‘BARDOWIE’ Built 1891. Steel ship of 2146 Tons. Length; 277.3 ft. Breadth; 41.8 ft. Depth; 24.4 ft. Built by W Hamilton of Glasgow who were one of the last ship builders to build sailing vessels in Scotland. She was built for Potter Bros. and was later sold to the Norwegians and ended her career wrecked on October 10th 1910. Master Captain P Tygesen in 1908.[General Carrier]

‘BARFILLAN’ Built 1892. Steel ship of 2197 Tons. Length; 275.9 ft Breadth; 41.9 ft Depth; 24.3 ft. Built by W Hamilton at Glasgow who were perhaps the last of the Scottish sailing ship builders. This ship was sold to the Italians in 1908 and was renamed the ‘Caterina F’.
.[General Carrier] Np

‘BARHAM’ Built 1846. Wood frigate of 934 Tons. Length; 172.8 ft. Breadth; 35 ft. Depth; 23.1 ft. Built at the Blackwall yards for Green. Master; Captain L W Vaile. She was sold to J Prowse in 1867 and went off the register in 1874.[Passenger liner]

‘BARMBEK’ ex ‘Gilcruix’

‘BARODA’. Built 1864. Iron ship of 1364 Tons. Length; 225 ft. Breadth; 36.5 ft. Depth; 23.9 ft. Built by Harland and Wolf for Brocklebank. She was a sister to ‘Alexandra’. Reg. Liverpool. Master: Captain T. Tulley in 1871. This ship was lost in a collision on the 20th of November 1887.[Passenger and General Carrier]

‘BAROSSA’ Built 1873. Iron ship of 968 Tons. Length; app 175 ft. Breadth; app 32 ft. Depth; app 21 ft. Built by Pile of Sunderland for T B Walker. She ended her career when she rolled over in dock and was sold to the shipbreakers. [Passenger and General]

SS ‘BARRABOOL’ Built c1881. Iron screw steamer of 588 Tons. Length; 224.8 ft. Breadth; 30.5 ft. Depth; 18.2 ft. Built by Palmers Company at Newcastle, England. Owned by W.H. Smith. Master: Captain H. B. Bristow.

‘BARTHOLD VINNEN’ ex ‘Alcedo’

‘BATTLE ABBEY’ Built 1875. Iron ship of 1559 Tons. Length: 242.1 ft. Breadth: 40.3 ft. Depth: 22.8 ft. Built by Royden for J. Pooley and Sons. Later sold to H C Oswald of Liverpool in 1901. A. P. Rolph then bought her in 1910. She caught fire while carrying coal in 1913, she was abandoned at sea .She was sister to ‘Eversham Abbey’.[Passenger and General]

‘BAUNEN’ ex ‘Criffel’

‘BAYARD’ ex ‘Cambrian Queen’ ex ‘’Hooghly’.

‘BAY OF BENGAL’ Built 1875. Iron ship of 1527 Tons. Length: 260.3 ft. Breadth: 39.3 ft. Depth: 23.1 ft. Built by Elder for J. G. Bulloch. of the ‘Bay’ line. Sister to the ‘Bay of Biscay’. Benyon and Co bought her in 1900. She went missing in 1905. Wreckage was found on the coast of Ireland.[Passenger and General]

‘BAY OF BISCAY’ Built 1875. Iron ship of 1544 Tons. Length; 260.4 ft. Breadth; 39.3 ft. Depth; 23.1 ft. Built by Elder for J. G. Bulloch of the ‘Bay’ line. Sister to ‘Bay of Bengal’ This ship went missing on the 7th February 1880.[General Carrier]

‘BAY OF BISCAY’ 2nd. Built 1902. Steel ship of 1998 Tons. Length: 265.7 ft. Breadth: 40.1 ft. Depth: 23.6 ft. Built by A. Rodger. Owned by S O Stray of Norway in 1917. She was renamed ‘Svendsholm’ by that Firm. [General Carrier]

‘BAY OF NAPLES’ Built 1875. Iron ship of 1615 Tons. Length: 266.7 FT. Breadth: 39.3 ft. Depth: 23.8 ft. Built by Hall at Aberdeen for J. G. Bulloch of the ‘Bay’ line. She was sold to the Russians and went missing in 1899 while under the name ‘Triton’. [Passenger and General Carrier]

‘BAY OF PANAMA’ Built 1883. Steel four-mast ship of 2282 Tons. Length: 294 ft. Breadth: 42.3 ft. Depth: 24.3 ft. Built by Harland and Wolf for J. G. Bulloch and his ‘Bay’ line. She was working as a Jute clipper when in 1891, she was wrecked on the Cornish coast. Her Master; Captain Wright and his wife were among those drowned or frozen to death in the Blizzard that caused the shipwreck. Sixteen of her crew managed to survive the tragedy.[Passenger and General Carrier]

‘BEATRICE’ Built 1858. Wood barque of 418 Tons. Length: 130.5 ft. Breadth: 27.6 ft. Depth: 17.7 ft. Built at Sunderland. Reg. Sandswell, NFTB. Master: Captain Begtsson. Owned by L M Altin of New York USA. This vessel put into Brisbane, Qld in a leaking condition and was hulked in that port in 1884. She survived in that category for some years for there are some fine photographs of her helping to repair or build the Indooroopilly railway bridge after the 1893 floods. [Passenger and General Carrier]

BEATRICE ex ‘Romsdal’.

‘BEATRICE’ ex ‘Routenburn’

‘BEBINGTON’ Built 1859.Iron barque of 924 Tons. Length: 183.4 ft. Breadth: 33.1 ft. Depth: 20.4 ft. Built by R. Hickson and Co of Belfast . Owned by C. Neill in 1885.
Registered; Belfast, Ireland. Master; Captain J Reid.

‘BEECHBANK’ Built 1892. Steel four-mast barque of 2288 Tons. Length; 277.5 ft. Breadth; 42 ft. Depth; 24.2 ft. Built by Russell for Weir. She was bought by Norway and ended her days under the name ‘Stoveren’.[General Carrier]

‘BELEN’ ex ‘Jeanne d’ Arc’. Built 1901. Steel three-mast barque of 2202 Tons. Length; 281 ft. Breadth; 40.1ft. Depth. 22.7 ft. Built by Atel Chant de la Loire at St Nazaire, France. She was registered at Nantes, France. She was built for the Societe Navale de L’Oceanie and then was sold to the Celtique Maritime of Nantes and then she was resold to A.D Bordes et Fils. They renamed her ‘Jeanne d’ Arc’. She was sold out of their fleet in 1923.[General Carrier]

‘BELFAST’ Built 1874. Iron ship of 1865 Tons. Length; 260.5 ft. Breadth; 40.2 ft. Depth; 24.2 ft. Built by Harland and Wolf for Brocklebank. Masters; Captains Tully, Kenworthy, Balverson, Morley, Russell and Candlish. She sailed in the Calcutta trade for some time before being sold to Shaw, Savill in 1901 for the New Zealand run. Her new Master was Captain M J Davies. She was then sold to Chile in 1906 and her Master became Captain Parajow . She was then sold to W Crage in 1916. She finally was laid up at Norfolk, England in 1925.[Passenger and General Carrier]

‘BELFORD’ Built 1894. Steel ship of 1905 Tons. Length; 267 ft. Breadth; 40.1 ft. Depth; 23.6 ft. Built By McMillan for Briggs and Co. Master; Captain William Davies. Fully rigged ship that almost got herself lost on her maiden voyage Whilst under tow during a squall, she became stranded. She was luckily refloated and was later sold to R Thomas and Co. A German submarine in the First World War sank her. [General Carrier]

‘BELLANDS’ ex ‘Yawry’ ex ‘Werner Vinnen’.

‘BELLAS’ ex ‘Routenbek’.

‘BELLHOUSE’ ex ‘Ponape’ ex ‘Regina Elina’

‘BELLPOOL’ ex ‘Wellgunde’

‘BELTANA’ Built 1868. Composite clipper of 734 Tons. Length; 172.5 ft. Breadth; 33. ft. Depth; 19.2 ft Built by Laing and Co of Sunderland for Elder and Co. Master; Captain Richard Angel. She was a good ship in all weather but her Captains caused her some grief at times , she was run aground on Kangaroo Island in South Australia but was got off without too much trouble but Captain Angel was dismissed when she arrived at Port Adelaide. She began loading wool but was found to be leaking and had to be repaired. She was almost lost again in 1889 but was again repaired and lasted a few more voyages.[Passenger and General]

‘BEN CRUACHAN’ Built 1873. Iron ship of 1468 Tons. Length; 255.5 ft. Breadth; 37 ft. Depth; 21.7 ft. Built by Barclay, Curle for the Watson Brothers of Glasgow. Master; Captain William Martin. She took 67 days on her maiden voyage to Australia under Captain Martin. She remained in the passenger trade to Melbourne until 1885, she then joined her sister ship, ‘Ben Voirlich’ in the Sydney run. ‘Ben Cruachan’ left the passenger and wool trade in 1887 and joined the San Francisco wheat trade. She eventually was sold to Mexico and ended her career under the name ‘Carmela’. [Passenger and General]

‘BEN DEARG’ Built 1894. Steel ship of 2349 Tons. Length; 283 ft. Breadth; 43 ft. Depth; 24.5 ft. Built by Conner for Watson Brothers. She was eventually sold to the Germans and given the name ‘Lasbek’. She was given to the French at the end of the first world war.[General Carrier]

‘BENGAIRN’ ex ‘Pass of Brander’

‘BENICIA’ Built 1883. Iron ship of 1868 Tons. Length; 261 ft. Breadth; 39.3 ft. Depth; 24.1 ft. Built by the Whitehaven Ship Building Company for J Edgar and Co. Reg.; Liverpool 87916JCHP. Master; Captain T K Crammond. She was sold to the Norwegians and renamed ‘Manicia’. Again sold to the Germans in 1922 for breaking up.[General Carrier]

‘BENJAMIN F PACKARD’ Built 1883. Steel ship of 2130 Tons. Length; 244.2 ft. Breadth; 43.3 ft. Depth; 26.7 ft. Built by Goss, Sawyer and Packard for themselves. Sold to A Sewell and Co in 1894 by Goss. Master; Captain Zachary Allen. Resold to Northwestern Fisheries Oport Townsend in 1925. Her Master; Captain Dan Martin. She was again sold, this time to Theodore Roosevelt Pell for use as a Museum Ship.[General Carrier]

‘BENMORE’ Built 1879. Iron ship of 1460 Tons. Length; 242 ft. Breadth; 39.2 ft. Depth; 23.6 ft. Built by Reid for Nicholson and McGill. She was a sister to the Australian passenger clippers, ‘Antiope’ and ‘Marpesia’. She was broken up in 1924.[Passenger and General]

‘BEN NEVIS’ Built 1868. Iron barque of 1079 Tons. Length; 218 ft. Breadth; 34.6 ft. Depth; 21 ft. Built by Barclay, Curle and Co . She was sold to Norway and renamed ‘Astoria’. Master; Captain J C Johansen at the end of her time.[Passenger and General]

‘BEN VENUE’ Built 1867. Wood ship of 999 Tons. Length; 210 FT. Breadth; 35.1 ft. Depth; 20.7 ft. Built by Barclay, Curle and Co of Glasgow for the Matson Brothers. Reg. Glasgow. HPNQ 58314. Master; Captain Bully Martin and then later in her career, Captain J McGowan. Passenger ship that was mostly in the New Zealand trade. She dragged her anchor and ran aground on the 13th May 1882, becoming a total wreck.

‘BEN VOIRLICH’ Built 1873. Iron ship of 1474 Tons. Length; 255.6 ft. Breadth; 37.1 ft. Depth; 21.8 ft. Built by Barclay, Curle and Co for George Thompson. Very fast ship that took only 64 days from Portsmouth, England, to Melbourne, Victoria. An argument between the great speedster ‘Thermopylae’ and the ‘Ben Voirlich’ owners resulted in an unrecognised record to the ‘Ben Voirlich’. She was almost lost in 1878 during a squall when her cabin was washed overboard with nine of her crew. Master’ Captain Ovenstone and the rest of her crew managed to get her righted and she stuggled home. She was repaired and sold to the Germans who converted her into a barge. Sold again, this time to the Italians, she was renamed ‘Cognati’. She struck an iceberg in 1908 but was again repaired and kept sailing for quite a few more years before being broken up.[Passenger and General]


‘BEREAN’ Built 1869. Composite ship of 526 Tons. Length; 160.5 ft. Breadth; 30.2 ft. Depth; 17.2 ft. Built by Pile of Sunderland for the Walker fleet. Master: Captain John Wyrill. This vessel was so well built that she never was a wet or leaking ship. She was still under top classification when 18 years old eventually she was sold to the Norwegians in 1896. She was run into by a steamship and was towed ashore in a sinking condition but was saved to become a hulk at Falmouth, England.
[Passenger and General Carrier]

‘BERLIN’ Built 1882. Iron ship of 1634 Tons. Length; 222 ft. Breadth; 40 ft. Depth; 24.ft Built at Phippsburg, Maine for C V Minott. She was a ‘Downeaster’ that was sold first to G E Plummer and then to the Alaska Packers Association in 1907. She continued to sail for them until 1922.[General and Fish Carrier]

‘BERMUDA’ Built 1893. Steel four-mast barque of 2846 Tons. Length; 280.2 ft. Breadth; 44.8 ft. Depth; 22.9 ft. Built by Russell for Soley and Co. Sister ship to the ‘Ancona’. Master; Captain Kohn. Sold to Norwegians and renamed ‘Nordhav’. A German submarine sank her in 1918. [General Carrier]

‘BERTHA’ ex ‘Buckingham’.


‘BIDSTON HILL’ Built 1886. Square rigged four-mast iron ship of 2519 Tons. Length; 301.6 ft. Breadth; 37.5 ft. Depth; 24.7 ft. Built by Royden and Co for the Bidston Hill Company and W. Price. Master; Captain R C Tait. Reg. Liverpool. This ship was sunk off Staten Island on May 19th 1905. [General Carrier]

‘BILLE’ ex ‘Westward Ho’

‘BIRGER’ ex ‘Loch Doon’.

‘BIRKDALE’ Built 1892. Steel barque of 1483 Tons. Length; 248.5 ft. Breadth; 37.5 ft. Depth; 21.7 ft Built at Londonderry by Bigger and Co for Porters ‘Dale’ line. Master; Captain J W S Davies. She was later sold to Chadwick, Wainwright and Co of Liverpool in 1897. Her new Master was Captain R B Watts in 1910. She was wrecked on Lobos Island in 1927.[General Carrier]

‘BERWICKSHIRE’ Built 1892. Iron barque of 1483 Tons. Length; 200 ft. Breadth; 32.8 ft. Depth; 10.5 ft. Built by Russell for the Shire line. Sold to Genoa and renamed ‘Papa’ then resold and renamed ‘Monte Moro’. She was broken up under this name in 1923.[General Carrier]

‘BLACKADDER’ Built 1870. Iron ship of 917 Tons. Length; 216.6 ft. Breadth; 35.2 ft. Depth; 20.5 ft. Built by Maunsley and Co on London river for John Wills and Co. Master; Captain Moore. She was launched in March of 1870. This vessel had many unfortunate incidents befall it. She was stranded on a reef in the China Sea and her crew abandoned her when they could not get her off. A squall washed her off the reef a few weeks later and drifted for some time before a rescue ship caught up with her and towed her to port. She was sold to the Norwegians in the late 1890’s and she was lost at Bahia in 1905.[Passenger and General Carrier]


‘BLACKBRAES’ Built 1892. Steel ship of 2207 Tons. Length; 277.1 ft. Breadth; 42 ft. Depth; 24.2 ft. Built by Hamilton and Co of Glasgow for the Potter Brothers. After a very good career, she was sold to the Germans and was registered at Hamburg under the new name ‘Luna’ and then later she was sold again and renamed ‘Kassai’. She was sold again and renamed ‘Monte Bianco’ by the Italians at Genoa. She was abandoned on fire in June 1921. [See ‘Luna’]. [General Carrier]


‘BLACK PRINCE’ Built 1863. Composite ship of 750 Tons. Length; 183 ft. Breadth; 35 ft. Depth; 19.6 ft, Built by Hall and Co for Baring Brothers. Master: Captain Inglis. Used as a British Tea Clipper and she ended her days lost in the Java sea.[Passenger and Tea Clipper]


SS.‘BLACK SWAN’ Built 1863.Iron steamer of 276 Tons. Length; 174 ft. Breadth; 20/5 ft. Depth; 11.4 ft. Built by Blackwood and Gordon Paisley for her Tasmanian owners. She took part in the search for survivors of the wreck of the ‘Dunbar’ that was lost at Sydney Heads in 1857. She was sunk in a collision with the paddle steamer ‘Luna’ , she was raised and repaired and sold to the AUSN Company in July 1868. She was broken up in November 1880.[Coastal Passenger and General Carrier]


‘BLAIRMORE’ Built and launched 1893. Steel ship of 1943 Tons. Length; 264 ft. Breadth; 39 ft. Depth; 23.5 ft. Built by McMillan and Son of Dumbarton for Thompson, Dickie and Co. Long lasting ship that lived through two world wars. She did have her share of disaster though. She was anchored in Mission Bay , San Francisco when a gust of wind swung her hard up against her cable which caught on her bow and slowly pulled her over. Many of her crew was caught in her ballast and others were trapped below, only a few escaped and were rescued. ‘Blairmore’ lay on her side until rescuers arrived and they heard hammering from within. Much to their despair, when they cut a hole in the side of the ship, the air escaped and ‘Blairmore’ went to the bottom taking her crew with her.
Three months later, she was raised and repaired, she was then sold to R Sudden and Co of San Francisco and renamed ‘Abbey Palmer’. She was again sold, this time to the Alaska Packers Association and was again renamed, this time ‘Star of England’. She was sold to Norway and renamed ‘Stofeno’. She was again resold and renamed ‘
’Island Carrier’ and she was still going in 1945.[General Carrier]


‘BLANCA’ ex ‘Sierra Blanca’ ex ‘Auriga’


‘BLANCHE’ ex ‘Tilkhurst’


‘BLENHEIM’ Built 1848. Wood Frigate of 1314 Tons. Length; 175 ft. Breadth; 42 ft. Depth; 29.4 ft. Built by Smith for T W Smith. Master; Captain Close. Sister ship to the well known vessel ‘Marlborough’. She was almost lost in an 1867 cyclone whilst in the Indian Ocean. ‘Blenheim’ only reached Calcutta with difficulty being under Jury rig on all her masts. She was sold in 1868.[Passenger Liner]


‘BLENHEIM’ ex ‘Wanganui’


‘BLUE JACKET’ Built 1854. Wood ship of about 1700 Tons. Length; 235 ft. Breadth; 41.6 ft. Depth; 24 ft. Built by R E Jackson of East Boston USA. James Frost of London bought her on her arrival in England on her Maiden voyage for the ‘Fox’ line. Master; Captain Underwood. She was put straight into service on the Liverpool to Melbourne run. On her first voyage, she made the trip in 69 days. ‘Blue Jacket’ was abandoned on fire off the Falkland Islands on March 9th, 1869. In 1871, her partly charred figurehead was found washed ashore on Rottnest Island near Perth Western Australia. [Passenger ship]


‘BLYTHSWOOD’ Built 1875. Iron ship of 1607 Tons. Length; 259.8 ft. Breadth; 39 ft. Depth;23.3 ft. Built by R Duncan and Co. She was sold to the Danes and renamed ‘Pesca’, she was then resold and renamed ‘Lysglimpt’ and was abandoned on fire in May 1921.[Passenger and General]


‘BOKO’ Steam Tug. Built 1877. Iron tugboat of 70 Tons. Length; 125 ft. Breadth; 21 .1 ft. Depth; 10.4 ft. Built at Newcastle NSW for O W Hart. This vessel operated out of Brisbane, Qld and was equipped with a 99 hp engine.[Steam Tugboat]


SS. ‘BOOMERANG’ Built 1854. Iron screw steamer of 655 Tons. Length; 211.9 ft. Breadth; 21.8 ft. Depth; 19 ft. Built by T Windgate and Co. Owned by the Newcastle and Hunter River Steam Ship Company . Registered; Sydney NSW. Engine; 106 hp.[Passenger and General]


‘BOLIVIA’ Built 1881.Steel barque of 904 tons. Length: 202.3 ft. Breadth: 33.1 ft. Depth: 19.9 ft. Built by Reid for Nicholson and McGill of Liverpool. She was sold and renamed ‘Baunen’ then resold and renamed ‘Tuxpan’ by the Cubans in 1922. [General Carrier]


‘BOLIVIA’ Built 1887. Wood barque of 878 Tons. Length; 147.8 ft Breadth; 25.9 ft. Depth; 17.3 ft. Built at Whitehaven for R W King and Co.[General Carrier]


‘BORROWDALE’ Built Sunderland in 1785. Wood ship of 275 Tons. Master: Captain R. Hobson. She was one of the three storeships that sailed with the first convict fleet to Australia.[Storeship]


‘BORROWDALE’ Built; 1868. Iron ship of 1197 Tons. Length; 226.4 ft. Breadth; 36.4 ft. Depth; 22 ft. Built by W H Potter for Newton’s ‘Dale’ line. She was the first vessel for this new shipping group. She was eventually sold to Nicholson and McGill. Master; Captain McAllister.[Passenger and General]


‘BOSPHORUS’ Built 1855. Wood ship of 1346 Tons. Built at St John USA. Owned by Rathbone in 1856. Reg. Liverpool. She was a popular and well-known passenger ship that was placed in the colonial service during the gold fever years. Master; Captain J. Murphy then Captain J. Bogart. [Passenger liner]


‘BOUGANVILLE’ ex ‘Himalaya’ Built 1865


‘B P CHENEY’ Built 1874. Wood ship of 1322 Tons. Length: 195.9 ft. Breadth: 38.6 ft. Depth: 24.2 ft. Built by Goss and Sawyer at Bath. Maine, USA. Owned by NakNek Packing Company. Reg. San Francisco JPQB. Master; Captain C Johnson.
[Passenger and General Carrier]


‘BRABLOCH’ Built 1889. Steel ship of 2062 Tons. Length; 278.7 ft Breadth; 41. 1 ft. Depth: 24.2 ft. Built by Barclay, Curle for Aitken Lilburn and Co. Master: Captain David Kiddie. This vessel caught fire when taking coal from Newcastle, NSW to San Francisco. She arrived at her destination and she was towed to Sausalito Flats where the fire was put out by flooding the holds. She was later sold to the Norwegians who renamed her ‘Vinga’. She was resold to Odd. J. Enger of Norway. Her Master; Captain M S Spielberg in1917. She was broken up in 1922.[General Carrier]


‘BRACADALE’ Built 1899. Iron four-mast Barque of 2085 Tons. Length; 285.3 ft. Breadth; 40.5 ft. Depth; 23.8 ft. Built by A Stephen and Co for Roxburgh. She was sold to the Norwegians in 1909 and renamed ‘Svolder’ .She was wrecked under that name in 1911. [General Carrier]

‘BRAGDO’ ex ‘Nordfarer’ ex ‘Ditton’

‘BRAZIL’ Built 1852. Iron ship of 2138 Tons. Length: 254 ft. Breadth: 39 ft. Depth: 24.9 ft. Built by Mare. Owned by the General Steamship Company and sold by them to Shaw-Savill for the Australian trade. She was renamed ‘Lady Jocelyn’ by them and remained so until she ended her career as a hulk at the West India dock. Master: Captain G. Jenkins. [Passenger ship]


‘BREMEN’ Built 1891. Iron three-mast barque of 736 Tons. Length; 145 ft. Breadth; 30 ft Depth; 18 ft. Built at Vegesack by Lange for C L Bauer and son. Master; Captain Helimers. Reg. Bremen. [General Carrier]


SS’ BREMEN’ Built 1858. Iron steamer of 2687 Tons. Length; 328 ft. Breadth; 30 ft. Depth; 33.4 ft. Built by Caird of Greenoch for the North German Lloyd Co. She was sold to E Bates and son and re-rigged as a three-mast ship. Reg. Liverpool. Master; Captain S Leslie.
[Passenger and General Carrier]


‘BRENDA’ Built 1891. Steel ship of 2122 Tons. Length; 277 ft. Breadth; 41 ft. Depth; 24 ft. Built by Barclay, Curle for the Brendasia Shipping Company. Master; Captain W Craig. Reg. Liverpool, 98316 MKTF. [General Carrier]


‘BRIERHOLME’ Built 1876. Iron barque of 894 Tons. Length; app 210 ft. Breadth; app 32 ft. Depth; app 18 ft. Built by Thompson of Sunderland for the Hine Brothers of Maryport. Master; Captain Rich. This Captain was on his final voyage before retirement when the ‘Brierholme’ disappeared. Wreckage was found about three months later on the West Coast of Tasmania. Searchers along the coast found a crude campsite and footprints. Fishermen found the sole survivor a few weeks later and he told them that the ‘Brierholme’ was hove to during a storm when she went aground and broke up. The rest of the crew was lost. [Passenger and General Carrier]


‘BRILLIANT’ Built 1877. Iron ship of 1613 Tons. Length; 254.8 ft Breadth; 39.7 ft. Depth; 24.2 ft. Built by Duthie of Aberdeen for J Duthie and sons. Master; Captain Davidson. ‘Brilliant’ was built alongside her great rival ‘Pericles’ and these two ships had many races with ‘Pericles’ taking passengers and her rival taking cargo. ’Brilliant’ was painted black with a white underbelly and she was a speedy ship. She was sold to the Italians in 1904 and was broken up in Genoa under the name ‘Nostra Signora Del Carmine’ in the late 1920’s or early 1930’s. [General Carrier]


‘BRILLIANT’ Built 1901. Steel four-mast barque of 3765 Tons. Length: approx. 351 ft. Breadth: approx. 49 ft. Depth: approx. 29 ft. The Standard Oil Company owned her and along with the big ship ‘Daylight’, was an oil carrier for that company. Master: Captain George Cowislaw. She was sold to the Tank Storage and Carriage Company and worked from London for them in 1914. Master: Captain C. Grant. She sailed on during the war years, continuing in the oil trade. She was sold perhaps to the Spanish where she was given the name ‘Perkeo’ and then the Norwegians bought her and renamed her ‘Bell’ under which name, she probably saw out her career. Registered; London. Then Norway.


SS ‘BRITANNIA’ Built 1887. Iron ship of 6500 Tons. She was built to celebrate the Golden Jubilee of Queen Victoria and was one of four vessels built for the occasion. The others were the ‘Oceania’. The ‘Arcadia’ and the ‘Victoria’. She also carried sail on four masts and had dual funnels.[Passenger ship]


‘’BRITISH AMBASSADOR’ Built 1873. Iron ship of 1794 Tons. Length; 262 ft. Breadth; 41.9 ft. Depth; 23.6 ft. Built by Potter of Liverpool for the British Shipowners ‘British Ambassador’ on the voyage before Captain Davies died. Captain Banks remained with this vessel until she was sold to the Germans in 1894. She was renamed ‘Emilie’ and was based in Bremen. She was resold to the Portuguese who renamed her ‘Dabeja’. They put engines in her [500 hp Bollingers ] and also equipped her with a funnel and derricks. This of course took away her clipper looks and she went to her end a sadder looking ship.[Passenger and General Carrier]

‘BRITISH EMPIRE’ Built 1869. Iron ship of 1550 Tons. Length; 245.1 ft. Breadth; 39.7 ft. Depth; 23.4 ft. Built by Pile of Sunderland for G Duncan and Co. Master; Captain Kidd. She was broken up in 1906 after many long years of good work for the ‘Empire’ line.[Passenger and General Carrier]

SS ‘BRITISH EMPIRE’ Built 1878 . Iron steamer of 3361 Tons. Length: 410.3 ft. Breadth: 39 ft. Depth: 28.9 ft. Built by Harland and Wolf. [General Carrier]

‘BRITISH ENTERPRISE’ Built 1876. Iron ship of 1640 Tons. Built by Richardson and Duck Co. She was an unlucky ship that was owned by the British Shipowners Company and she had her first problem when she was run into by the steamship ‘Warksworth’ and sunk at her moorings. She was bought by Johnson Sproule and Co and renamed ‘Annesley’. Her Captain then died at sea and was replaced by Captain Thomas. He was swept overboard in 1910 and drowned . She then went on her way but luck had completely deserted her or perhaps her previous masters wanted their ship to join them for she ran onto the South Tuscar Rocks and foundered.[General Carrier]


‘BRITISH GENERAL’ Built 1874. Iron ship of 1754 Tons. Length; 257.6 ft. Breadth; 41.9 ft. Depth; 23.9 ft. Built by Royden for the British Shipowners Company. Sister ship to the ‘British Admiral’ and ‘Glengarry’. She was sold to T Roberts and Co and then resold twelve years later to the Germans and was supposed to have been hulked by them in 1908 but Lloyds Register records the sale of this vessel to the Portuguese who renamed her ‘Europa’ when they bought her in 1907. Her master at that time was Captain J A Dosreis.[General Carrier]


‘BRITISH ISLES’ Built 1884 . Steel ship of 2394 Tons. Length; 308.9 ft. Breadth; 43.9 ft. Depth; 24. 8 ft. Built by Reid of Port Glasgow for the British Shipowners Company. This vessel had all steel masts, hull and yards. She was sold to Thomas Shute in 1899 and then later resold, this time to Argentina where she was renamed ‘Tigre’. She sailed under this name until she was sold again to another Argentine group who renamed her ‘Oceania’. Under this name she was still afloat as a lighter in 1938. Her registered tonnage had become 2553 while she was in that employ.[General Carrier]


‘BRITISH KING’ ex ‘GLEN SANNOX’ Built 1869. Iron ship of 1581 Tons. Length; 246 ft. Breadth; 40.3 ft. Depth; 23.8 ft. Built by Royden for Johnson of Liverpool. He sold her to the British Ship Owners Company in 1872. She received her name change from them. She went missing in 1876 on a voyage to San Francisco.[General Carrier]


SS ‘BRITISH KING’ Built 1881. Steel ship of 3559 Tons. Length;410.3 ft. Breadth; 39 ft. Depth; 28.9 ft. Master; Captain S Lecky . Owner; Lloyds of London.[General Carrier]


‘BRITISH MERCHANT’ Built 1880. Iron ship of 1698 Tons. Length; 262.4 ft. Breadth; 38.3 ft. Depth; 23.3 ft. Built by Harland and Wolf for the British Shipowners Company. Master: Captain E J Maloney. This vessel was sold in 1885 to the Germans and was renamed ‘Arthur Fitger’. It is likely that she was again sold for we find her under the name ‘Quatrino’ which suggests South American interests. She was sold after almost being burnt in Seattle harbor. She was again sold in 1908 this time to Griffith and Co of Seattle USA. She was finally wrecked while under tow as a barge on October 15th 1908. [General Carrier]


‘BRITISH SCEPTRE’ Built 1868. Iron ship of 1436 Tons. Length; 224.3 ft. Breadth; 37.8 ft. Depth; 23.5 ft. Built by Royden and Co. She was sold to the French in 1891 and was stranded on the Oyster Bank at Newcastle NSW on the January 1st 1892.
[Passenger and General Carrier]


‘BRITISH YEOMAN’ Built 1880. Iron ship of 1893 Tons. Length; 269.2 ft. Breadth; 39.8 ft. Depth; 24.2 ft. Built by Oswald Mordaunt for the British Shipowners Company. This ship was a sister to the ‘Pythomene’ and also to the ‘Dundrennan’. She was sold to Taylor of Dundee in 1897 and then resold to the Italians and renamed ‘Stefano Razeto’ .She was again sold and reverted to her original name.[General Carrier]


‘BRODICK BAY ’ Built c1870. Iron ship? of approx. 1800 tons. Used to bring passengers and goods to Australia during the 1870’s. She was sold to the Italians? She was renamed the ‘Campana’.
‘BRODICK CASTLE’ Built 1874. Iron ship of 1786 Tons. Length; 258.6 ft. Breadth; 40.3 ft. Depth; 23 ft. Built by Wingate for Skinner and Co. This vessel left Gravesend, England, for New Zealand with 420 passengers and 60 crew aboard on her maiden voyage. She struck heavy weather in the Bay of Biscay and was almost sunk but for the bravery of two seamen. David Mill Smith and an American sailor managed to save the ship but the American died for his efforts.[General Carrier]

‘BROOKLYN’ ex ‘Drumeltan’


‘BRUSSELS’ ex ‘City of Brussels’ Built 1863. Iron barque of 991 Tons. Length: 211.3 ft. Breadth: 31.9 ft. Depth: 21.5 ft. Built by Connell. Bought and owned by Shaw Savill in 1900. Master: Captain J Cerete. Reg. Ardrossan. [Passenger ship]


‘BRYNHILDA’ Built 1885. Iron ship of 1409 Tons. Length: 240.5 ft. Breadth: 38 ft. Depth: 21.7 ft. Built by A Stephen and Co for shipowner J. Carmichael She was sold to G I Dewar of Glasgow then resold to the Harvard Shipping Company of the river Plate.
[General Carrier]


‘BUCKINGHAM’ Built 1888. Steel four-mast barque of 2668 Tons. Length; 307.7 ft. Breadth; 38 ft. Depth; 21.7 ft. Built by Royden for MacVicar and Marshall of the ‘Palace’ line. Master; Captain A C Wilvers. Sold to the Germans in 1901 and renamed ‘Bertha ;then resold and renamed ‘Ottawa’. The Americans took her over during the first world war and renamed her ‘Muscoota’ She was sold again and given the famous name of ‘Flying Cloud’ then sold again and given back her old name of ‘Muscoota’ in 1922. She was sold again after colliding with the steamer ‘Yarra’ in Victorian waters. She ended her days owned by the Woolarah Coal Company of Sydney NSW and was hulked at that port. [General Carrier]


‘BUNDALEER’ Built 1869. Wood ship of 921 Tons. Length; 196.4 ft. Breadth; 34.1 ft. Depth; 20.1 ft. Built by Humphrey of Aberdeen for R Connor and Co. Her photograph shows her in Port Adelaide in 1869 while she was drying her sails. Sold to R Moore of Antofagasta then resold to MacAuliffe of Chile. This ship was wrecked in 1901.[Passenger and General Carrier]

‘BURROWA’ ex ‘Dunfermline’


‘BUTESHIRE’ Built 1883. Steel four-mast ship of 1910 Tons. Length; 266.5 ft. Breadth; 40 ft. Depth; 23.7 ft. Built by Birrell and Co for Law and Co of the ‘Shire’ line. Master; Captain Purdie. This vessel sailed for many years under the same firm and after loading Nitrate in November 1909, she left Pisagua and headed howeward. They were about 180 Klms from the port of Brest when they were caught in a gale and were soon found to be leaking badly. The captain signalled a passing steamer that they were in difficulty and the captain and crew officially abandoned ship. The steamer ‘Ardeola’ then delivered them safely home. This though, was not the end of the story for on March 29th 1910, the steamer ‘Java’ found the ‘Buteshire’ and stated that she was found to be abandoned and on fire and that she sank that very same day about 28 miles SW of Longships. [General Carrier]


‘BUTTERMERE’ Built 1877. Iron ship of 1035 tons. Length; 214 ft. Breadth; 34.4 ft. Depth; 20.2 ft. Built by the Whitehaven Ship building Company at Whitehaven. She was later sold to the Scandinavians who renamed her ‘Freya’ then resold to the Genoese and renamed ‘Pax’. F Pittaluga owned her in 1926-27. [General Carrier]

                                                       C

‘CADUSEUS’ Built 1857. Wood barque of 1116 tons. Length: 124.1 ft. Breadth: 27.8 ft. Depth: 18 ft. Built by Fletcher of London. Bought by Shaw-Savill and Co in 1869 and was sold by them four years later in 1873. [Passenger ship, NZ trade]

‘CAIRNBULG’ Built 1874. Iron Clipper ship of 1567 Tons. Length; 261.3 ft. Breadth; 39 ft. Depth; 23 ft. Built by Duthie of Aberdeen for William Duthie Jnr. Master; Captain Birnie. This vessel was sold first to the Russians who renamed he ‘Hellas’ and then to the Danes who named her ‘Alexandra’. She was a very good and tight ship while under the British but her troubles began when the Danes bought her on the 26th November 1907. She sailed out of Newcastle, NSW, for Panama and was posted missing in April of 1908. The first mate was found in charge of one of the lifeboats off the South American coast and when questioned about the fate of the ship, he stated that she was abandoned when she ran out of food supplies on the 8th of May 1908. There was no other reason given for the loss of this very good and sound ship. It can only be guessed as to what occurred aboard ship to have caused the crew to abandon this vessel. Why she was found washed up on rocks at Iguana cove, Albermarle Island, as a total loss may never be known. [Passenger and General Carrier]


‘CAIRNGORM’ Built 1853. Wood ship of 938 Tons. Length; 185 ft. Breadth; 36.6 ft Depth; 20 ft. Built by Hall of Aberdeen for Jardine, Matherson and Co. Master; Captain Robertson. This ship was the first British built wood ship to rival the great American built wood clippers. [Tea Clipper, Passenger and General Carrier]


‘CAIRNSMORE’ Built 1854. Wood ship of 1211 Tons. Length; 223 ft. Breadth; 33.6 ft. Depth; 20.6 ft. Built by John Reid and Co of Glasgow for Nicholson, McGill and Co. Master; Captain Crosbie. This captain took her from the stocks and she sailed a record on her maiden passage when sailing from London to Bombay in 70 days. On only her second voyage she was sunk when she hit an uncharted rock in the China sea.
[Passenger ship of East India trade]


‘CAITHNESS-SHIRE’ Built 1894. Steel barque of 1641 Tons. Length; 247.3 ft Breadth; 37.6 ft. Depth; 22.6 ft. Built by Russell for Law and Co. Master; Captain David Stott. Sistership to ‘Duns Law’. She was wrecked on Watling island, Bahamas, on the 4th February 1911.[General Carrier]


‘CALBUCCO’ ex ‘Cristobal Soler’ ex ‘Cursetjee Furdoonjee’ ex ‘Talisman’. Built 1864 [see ‘Talisman’]


‘CALCUTTA’ Built 1852. Wood ship of 1634 Tons. Length: 258.6 ft. Breadth: 40 ft. Depth: 29.9 ft. Built on the Thames for the General Steamship Company but they soon went out of business and the vessel was bought by Taylor, Bethall and Roberts and was quickly converted back to sail. They then renamed her ‘Darling Downs’ and under this name she became a favorite passenger ship on the Australian run. Master: Captain Wakeham then Captain Daniel Bolt. She was run into and sunk off the ‘Nore’ in 1887.[Passenger Liner]


‘CALCUTTA’ Built 1860. Iron ship of 984 Tons. Length: 212 ft. Breadth: 32 ft. Depth: 21.7 ft. Built by A Stephen and Co. Owned by C Barrie. Master: Captain A Low. Reg: Dundee QDWL in 1893-4.Sold to the ‘City’ line and renamed ‘City of Calcutta’.
[General Carrier]


‘CALCUTTA’ ex ‘Unionen’ Built 1892. Steel barque of 1694 Tons. Length: 248.8 ft. Breadth: 40.2 ft. Depth: 21.9 ft. Built by Naval Construction and Arms at Barrow. Owned by the Anglo American Oil Company. Master; Captain W Davies. Reg. London RPQN. [Oil Carrier]

‘CALEDONIA’ ex ‘Olivebank’

‘CALIFORNIA’ ex ‘Walter H Wilson’.


‘CALIFORNIA’ Built 1890. Steel four-mast ship of 3099 Tons. Length: 392.3 ft. Breadth: 45.2 ft. Depth: 26.7ft. Built by Harland and Wolf for Ismay. She was a White Star Liner that ran the Australian trade until sold to the Italians who still owned her in 1922. She was then resold to the Germans and renamed ‘Alster’ they resold her, this time to the Vinnens of Germany and they renamed her ‘Christel Vinnen’ before she was stranded on Old Providence Island in 1927.[Passenger Liner] 
 

‘CALISTOGA’ Built 1884. Iron ship of 1855 Tons. Length: 268.1 ft Breadth: 42.1 ft Depth: 24 ft. Built by T Royden and sons and she was later bought by the ‘Sierra’ line and renamed ‘Sierra Cadena’. She was able to give that firm good service and was eventually sold to the Danes. She was renamed ‘Svdana’ which appears to be a Russian name, she may have also been sold to them at some stage. The Danes then sold her to the Norwegians who renamed her ‘Prince George’ in 1911-12. Her master was Captain Hansen when she was sent to the ship breakers in 1925.[ General Carrier]

‘CAMBRIAN CHIEFTAN’ Built 1885. Iron barque of 1453 Tons. Length: 230 ft. Breadth: 37.5 ft. Depth: 22.5 ft. Built by Osbourne and Graham for T Williams. Master: Captain H Thomas. She was almost lost in 1894 when her coal cargo shifted in a gale. She was laid flat on her side and was in grave danger of sinking. An unexpected relief was found when the barque ‘Dee’ came on the scene and the Captain was able to get a boat away with his wife, two children and 12 of the crew. The boat managed to get safely to the ‘Dee’ but on its return was swamped and the second mate and four crewmen were lost. The ‘Dee’ lost sight of the ‘Cambrian Chieftan ‘ in the dark and Captain Pope took his ship away to Valparaiso. The ‘Cambrian Chieftan; was thought to be lost and Mrs. Thomas had already given evidence as to the condition of the ship when news arrived that the vessel had arrived safely at Taltal. Captain Hugh Thomas and his remaining crew had continued trimming the coal cargo until the ship righted herself and they were able to rig jury masts and sail her slowly to her destination.[General Carrier]


‘CAMBRIAN DUCHESS’ ex ‘Arvonia’


‘CAMBRIAN PRINCESS’ ex ‘Manydown’.


‘CAMBRIAN QUEEN’ ex ‘Bayard’ ex ‘Hooghly’ Built 1864. [Passenger ship]


‘CAMBUS DOON’ Built 1895. Steel ship of 1522 tons. Length: 246 ft. Breadth: 37.5 ft. Depth: 22.5 ft. Built by Russell and Co. Master: Captain A Cumming. She was sold to the Germans and renamed ‘Claus’ and was registered to Hamburg in 1922. She had been condemned in 1904 and obviously been rebuilt by the Germans.[General Carrier]


‘CAMBUSKENNETH’ Built 1893. Steel ship of 1925 Tons. Length; 263.5 ft. Breadth; 39.1 ft. Depth; 23 ft. Built by Russell for R Russell. This vessel had the misfortune to stop a torpedo in 1915. [General Carrier]


‘CAMBUS WALLACE’ Built 1894. Steel ship of 2000 Tons. Length; app 270 ft. Breadth; app 40.5 ft. Depth; app 24 ft. This vessel was wrecked on her maiden voyage to Queensland . She went aground on Stradbroke Island on September 3rd 1894. [General Carrier]


‘CAMPANA’ ex ‘Brodick Bay’.


‘CAMPERDOWN’ Built 1875. Iron ship of 1487 Tons. Length; 245.9 ft. Breadth; 38.2 ft. Depth; 22.9 ft. Built by A Stephen and Co for David Bruce of the Dundee Clipper Line. She was posted missing on August 11th 1890.[Passenger and General Carrier]


‘CAMPHILL’ Built 1889. Steel barque of 1240 Tons. Length; 226 ft. Breadth; 36.4 ft. Depth; 21.9 ft. Built by Bigger ND Co for Squarey and Co. Sister ship to the ‘Cupica’ to ‘Craiglands’ and ‘Silverstream’. This vessel ended her career when she stranded on a sunken rock while rounding the Tumbes Peninsula in October 1906. [General Carrier]


SS ‘CANBERRA’ Built 1913. Steel twin screw steamer of 7710 Tons. Length; 410 ft. Breadth; 57.2 ft. Depth; 38.4 ft. Built by A Stephen and Co of Glasgow for the Australian Steamships Propriety. Reg. Melbourne 66811 JBRM. Engine; 1202 Nhp.
[Passenger and General]


‘CANDIDA’ Built 1875. Iron ship of 1230 Tons. Length: approx. 220 ft. Breadth: approx. 36 ft. Depth: approx. 22 ft. Built at the Whitehaven yards for Lowden, Edgar and Co. Master: Captain Mathewson and then Captain J T Kee who took her over about 1890. She was wrecked on February 22nd 1898. [General Carrier]


‘CANTEBURY’ Built 1850/1. Wood ship of 789 Tons. Length; app 15 5 ft. Breadth; app 35 ft. Depth; app 24 ft. Built at Sunderland for Dunbar. Master; Captain Mollison 1852. She was wrecked in the great Madras cyclone of 1872.[Passenger Liner]


‘CANTEBURY’ Built 1874. Iron three-mast barque of 1245 Tons. Length: 239.7 ft. Breadth: 36 ft. Depth: 20.8 ft. Built by Duncan and Co and sold to the Albion Company for the Australian and New Zealand passenger trade. Master: Captain Culbert. Reg. Glasgow WMBD. She was a sister ship to ‘Dunedin’, ‘Auckland’, Invercargill’, ‘Wellington’ and ‘Nelson’. She was sold off to the Norwegians in 1900. [Passenger Liner]


‘CAPE FINNISTERRE’ Built 1874. Iron ship of 883 Tons. Length; 198.5 ft. Breadth; 33.3 ft Depth; 18.6 ft. Built by T Wingate and Co for Lyle and Co’s ‘Cape’ line. Sold to the Germans and renamed ‘Henny’. Master: Captain G. B. Figaro. Owned by the Greeks in 1919 and renamed ‘Adriatico’ by them.. Sold to the Egyptians and renamed ‘El Kahera’ then sold again and renamed ‘El Faroukieh’ again under Egyptian ownership. She was still going for them in 1939. Master; Captain J S Sorris [Egyptian] 1938. [Passenger and General Carrier]


‘CAP HORN’ Built 1888. Steel four-mast barque of 2675 Tons. Length; 305.7 ft. Breadth; 44.6 ft. Depth; 24.2 ft. Built by Russell for Bordes of France. Master; Captain B Riou. [General Carrier]


‘CAPE ST VINCENT’ Built 1877. Iron ship of 1452 Tons. Length; 239.1 ft. Breadth; 37.8 ft. Depth; 22.2 ft. Built by J and G Thompson of Glasgow for Lyle’s ‘Cape’ line. Sold to Sweden in 1891and renamed ‘Lady Lina’ then resold to the Italians of Genoa in 1907 and renamed ‘Angelo Repetto’. Reg. Genoa NDFT. Owned by G Celle VVA Repetto Italy 1907. [General Carrier]


‘CARDIGAN CASTLE’ Built 1870. Iron barque of 1214 Tons. Length: 228.5 ft. Breadth: 35.7 ft Depth: 21.6 ft. Built [need builder] Master: Captain Goulding. This vessel left Australia on the same tide as the Blackwaller ‘Newcastle’ and arrived in England also on the same tide as that ship. She was sold to the Norwegians and renamed ‘Vestre Molland’. [Passenger and General Carrier]


‘CARIBOU’ Built 1854. Wood ship of 1870 Tons. Built at Quebec, Canada. She was placed in the Liverpool-India trade. Master: Captain J. Major. [Passenger ship]


‘CARIBOU’ Built 1860. Wood ship of 1160 Tons . Later owned by Shaw Saville in 1869 when she caught fire and burned . [Passenger ship]


‘CARIBOU’ Built 1870. Wood barque of 697 Tons. Length; 155.0 ft. Breadth; 32.0 ft. Depth; 20.0 ft. Built by Valin at Quebec. Owned by E. F. Angel. Reg. Liverpool.


‘CARISBROOK CASTLE’ Built 1868. Iron ship of 1500 Tons. Length; 239.5 ft. Breadth; 37.6 ft. Depth; 22.9 ft. Built by Barclay, Curle. Owned by C. Barrie of Dundee in 1895.Master: Captain D. McMillan then Captain C. H. R. Tonnesen of Norway. She was sold to A. P. Ulrikson of Norway and was registered at Mandal, Norway late in her career. It was this vessel that was wrecked off Queensland under the name ‘Errol’ in 1909. [See Shipwrecks register]


‘CARL’ Built 1893. Three mast square rigged ship of 1933 Tons. Length; 279.5 ft. Breadth; 40.3 ft. Depth; 23.3 ft. Built by the Germans and owned and registered in Hamburg.[General Carrier]


‘CARLA’ ex ‘Arracan’


‘CARLETON’ Built 1881. Steel barque of 1358 Tons. Length; 234 ft. Breadth; 37.5ft. Depth; 23.5 ft. Built by Reid for J Kerr and Co. Master; Captain Lowe. Sister to the ‘Cloncaird’ Later sold to Italy and renamed ‘Mario’ and she was still sailing in 1926. [General Carrier]


‘CARL VINNEN’ Built 1922. Steel Auxiliary five mast Schooner of 1827 Tons. Length; 261.8 ft. Breadth; 44.3 ft. Depth; 19.1 ft. Built by Krupp for C H Vinnen Reg. Bremen 50528 QLNT. This vessel had a very unusual sail plan. She had the first two masts as a topsail schooner rig; they then set her other three masts as a topsail schooner behind the first two. She therefore became known to many of the old sailors as a three-mast topsail schooner chasing a two-mast topsail schooner. [Grain Carrier]


‘CARLISLE CASTLE’ Built 1868. Composite ship of 1458 Tons. Length; 229.8 ft. Breadth; 37.8 ft. Depth; 22.8 ft. Built at the Blackwall yards for Green. Master; Captain Cooper. This ship was lost with all hands off the Western Australian coast.[Passenger Liner]


‘CARL RUDGERT VINNEN’ ex ‘Dunfermline’


‘CARNARVON BAY’ Built 1894. Steel ship of 1932 Tons. Length; 265.4 ft Breadth; 40.1 ft. Depth; 22.9 ft. Built by A Roger and Co for Roger, Owen and Co.[General Carrier]


‘CARNARVON CASTLE’ Built 1867. Iron ship of 1221 Tons. Length; 229ft. Breadth; 36 ft. Depth; 22.1 FT. Built by Barclay . Master; Captain E Roberts. Reg. London WQBE 56826. Owned by Wakeham and Co in 1897. Sold to O.S.S. Piper.[General Carrier]


‘CARMELA’ ex ‘Ben Cruachan’


‘CARMEN’ ex ‘County of Inverness’


‘CARNARVON CASTLE’ Built 1870. Iron ship of 729 Tons. Length: 186 ft. Breadth: 31.3 ft. Depth: 19 ft. Built by Evans and Co. Master: Captain Davis in 1881. [General Carrier]


‘CARNARVON CASTLE’ ex ‘Red Rock’ Built 1894, Abandoned on fire at sea in 1907.[see ‘Red Rock’]

‘CAROLINE’ ex ‘Mashona’


‘CARRABIN’ ex ‘North Star’


‘CARRADALE’ Built 1889. Steel four-mast ship of 2085 Tons. Length; 285.7 ft. Breadth; 41 ft. Depth; 23.7 ft. Built by A Stephen and Co for Roxburgh of the Glasgow ‘Dale’ line. She was sister to the ‘Fascadale’. Master Captain R Reeves, then Captain Baxter then Captain Alexander Smith. She was first sold to the Norwegians and then to the Germans who broke her up in 1925.[General Carrier]


‘CARVOUR’ ex ‘Commonwealth’


‘CASA BLANCA’ Built 1868. Iron barque of 601 Tons. Length; 172.1 ft. Breadth; 28 ft. Depth; 17.5 ft. Built by T Royden at Liverpool. Eventually sold to W H Heays of Auckland in 1907. Reg. Auckland HGJD. Master: Captain W Heays. She is seen with ‘Joseph Craig’ in company in her photograph.[General Carrier]


‘CASSIUS’ ex ‘Kilmory’


‘CASTAQUA’ ex ‘’Giovanna B’ ex ‘Loch Cree’.


‘CASTLEHOLME’ Built 1875. Iron barque of 996 Tons. Length; 213.9 ft. Breadth; 34.5 ft. Depth; 20.7 ft. Built by Bartram and Co for Hine and Co. Sold to Walker and Co who put her into the Tasmanian trade before selling her to the Norwegians who renamed her ‘Ester’. She was again sold, this time to the Danes who renamed her ‘Ternan’. Master; Captain L Beyer. Reg. Denmark NVBW. She was again sold, this time to the Swedes who adjusted her name to ‘Tarnan’ in 1924. Master: Captain J Redin. [General Carrier]


‘CASTLETON’ Built 1903. Steel ship of 1971 Tons. Length; 265.1 ft. Breadth; 40.1 ft. Depth; 23.6 ft. Built by A Roger and Co for the Benyon group. She was sold to the Norwegians in 1915 and renamed Svalen’ then resold and renamed ‘Skaregrom’ she went to the Dutch ship breakers in 1927.[General Carrier]


‘CATERINA F’ ex ‘Barfillan’


‘C. B. PEDERSEN’ ex ‘Emanuelle Accame’


‘CEDARBANK’ Built 1892. Steel four-mast barque of 2825 Tons. Length; 326 ft. Breadth; 43 ft. Depth; 24.5 ft. Built by Mackie and Co for Andrew Weir. Master; Captain A D Moody. This vessel arrived in San Francisco on fire and her Captain and crew managed to hide that fact from the Salvagers until she was safely in port and so avoided a hefty salvage fee. She was later sold to Norway in 1918; in fact, she was listed as missing in 1917 on a voyage from Halifax to Aarhus. This point is still being examined. [General Carrier]


‘CEDRIC THE SAXON’ Built 1875. Iron ship of 1619 Tons. Length; 259.8 ft. Breadth; 40.1 ft. Depth 23.6 ft. Built by Reid and Co for Williamson and Milligan of the ‘Waverley’ line. Master: Captain T Swan, Captain Alex Burgess, Captain F McNair, Captain W Harris and finally Captain D Rees. This ship was a very popular and good looker that was used on the Australian passenger run. She was later sold to American interests and went missing in 1896.[Passenger ship]


‘CELTIC BURN’ Built 1892. Steel ship of 2500 Tons. Length; 296 ft. Breadth; 45.6 ft. Depth; 25.7 ft. Built by Barclay and Curle and sold to the Anglo American Oil Company, by whom, she was renamed ‘Circe Shell’. She was changed to a barque rig in 1897 and her tonnage increased to 2655 tons. Reg. Greenoch. Master: Captain R Linklater. [General Carrier]


‘CELTIC GLEN’ ex ‘Iquique’


‘CELTIC MONARCH’ Built 1884. Iron ship of 2073 Tons. Length; 277.3 ft. Breadth; 42.5 ft. Depth; 24.2 ft. Built by Royden and Co for Parry Jones and Co Bought by Hughes, she became part of the Hughes, Jones and Co of the ‘Celtic’ line. She was later sold to the Americans and renamed ‘James Rolph’ in 1924. She was put to rest in Oakland Creek, California and went to the scrappers in 1934.[General Carrier]


‘CELTIC RACE’ Built 1891. Steel ship of 1874 Tons. Length; 263 ft. Breadth; 39.1 ft. Depth; 23.2 ft. Built by Pickersgill for Hughes, Jones and Co of the ‘Celtic’ line. She was sold to the Norwegians and renamed ‘Concordia’ by them. She was still sailing in 1910-1911.[General Carrier]


SS ‘CENTAUR’ Built by Scott of Greenoch for the Ocean Steamship Company. Steel twin screw oiler of 3066 Tons. Length: 315.7 ft. Breadth: 48.2 ft. Depth: 21.5 ft. Reg.: Liverpool KRHC. Steamer used as a hospital ship during the Second World War. She was torpedoed and sunk by a Japanese submarine off the coast of Queensland Australia on the 4th of May 1943. [Hospital Ship]


‘CENTENNIAL’ Built 1875. Iron ship of 1286 Tons. Length: 190.4 ft. Breadth: 38 ft. Depth: 24 ft. Built at East Boston for Sylvanus Smith. This vessel was burnt to the waterline in 1904. Her hull was used as a base for rebuilding and she went to Alaska as a four-mast barquentine. [General Carrier]



‘CERES’ Built 1855. Wood three-mast schooner of 259 Tons. Length: 113.2 ft. Breadth: 24.4 ft. Depth: 14.9 ft. Built at Sunderland. Owned by M. Kuipers of Delfzyl of Holland.
[General Carrier]


‘CERES’ ex ‘Kirkham’ Built 1856. Iron barque of 1072 Tons. Length: 201.9 ft. Breadth: 34.2 ft. Depth: 21.7 ft. Built at Birkenhead, England. Owner: M. G. Amsinck of Hamburg, Germany. [General Carrier]


‘CERES’ Built 1859. Wood ship of 551 Tons. Length: 167.1 ft. Breadth: 29.0 ft. Depth: 19.4 ft. Built at Workington. Owned by Bushby in 1872. Reg. Workington. Master: Captain R. Carr.
[passenger and cargo]

‘CERES’ Built 1860 at Quebec. Wood three-mast ship of 861 Tons. Length: 153.3 ft. Breadth: 33.5 ft. Depth: 22.5 ft. Reg. Greenock. Master and Owner: Captain Cockrane. [General Carrier]


‘CERES’ Wood barque of 384 Tons. Built c1865 at Liverpool. Length: 130.4 ft. Breadth: 28.4 ft. Depth: 12.9 ft. Master: J. Meraman. Owner; Ashwall of Liverpool.. [General Carrier]


‘CERES’ Wood barque of 532 Tons. Built at Shields c1865. Length: 139.6 ft. Breadth: 28.4 ft. Depth: 17.6 ft. Master: Captain W. Cooper then Captain H. Olsen after she was sold to Norway c1880. Owned by Wilson at North Shields, Newcastle Eng. [General Carrier]


‘CERES’ Built 1901. Wood three-mast barquentine of 296 Tons. Length: 118.6 ft. Breadth: 26.7 ft. Depth: 12 ft. Master: Captain G. Allain.


‘CERES’ ex ‘Bankleigh’


‘CHALLENGE’ Built 1851. Wood ship of 2006 Tons. Length: 230.6 ft. Breadth: 43.6 ft. Depth: 27.6 ft. Built by William Webb for N L and G. Griswold. Master: Captain R. H. ‘Bully’ Waterman . This American built ship became a hell ship for many of her crew under this ferocious Captain. She was later sold and renamed ‘Golden City’ during the gold rush days of the 1860’s. [American General Carrier]


‘CHAMPIGNY’ ex ‘Fennia’


‘CHAMPION OF THE SEAS’ Built 1854. Wood ship of 2447 Tons. Length: 259 ft. Breadth: 45.6 ft. Depth: 29 ft. Built by Donald Mackay at East Boston and then sold to James Baines and placed on the Australian Passenger run. She was later abandoned at sea in 1877. [Passenger Liner]


‘CHANARAL’ ex ‘Achnashie’


‘CHARLES E MOODY’ Built 1882. Steel ship of 2203 Tons. Length: 233.9 ft. Breadth: 43.4 ft. Depth: 18.2 ft. Built at Bath for J. Kelley. [General Carrier]


‘CHARLES RACINE’ Built 1892. Steel barque of 1644 Tons. Length: 250.2 ft. Breadth: 38.5 ft. Depth: 22 ft. Built by J. Blumer and Co at Sunderland Owned by S. Bergensen of Norway in 1895. Master: Captain G. Waage.


‘CHARLONUS’ ex ‘Sam Mendel’


‘CHARLOTTE’ Built 1784. Wood ship of 335 Tons. Length; 105 ft. Breadth; app 27 ft. Depth; app 17ft. Master; Thomas Gilbert. Surgeon; John White. She carried 88 male and 20 female convicts to Port Jackson with the first fleet in 1788.She sailed for China after completing this service and was sold to Bond and Co for the Jamaica-London trade. She was lost in 1818 on the coast of Newfoundland after having been sold to French Canadian owners. [Convict Transport]


‘CHARLOTTE’ Built 1868. Iron bark of 378 Tons. Length: 145.0 ft. Breadth: 27.1 ft. Depth: 16.1 ft. Built by Iliff and Mounsey at Sunderland. Owned by J. McKellar. Reg. Liverpool.
[General carrier]


‘CHARLOTTE’ Built 1890. Iron barque of 1308 Tons. Length: 221.3 ft. Breadth: 34.2 ft. Depth: 20.6 ft. Built by J. Lange at Vegesack . Owned by Elfieth of Germany.
[General Carrier]


‘CHARLOTTE ANN’ Built 1864. Wood ship of 412 Tons. Length; 130 ft. Breadth; 27.4 ft. Depth; 17.4 ft. Built by White at Cowes in 1854. Owned by the Swedes in 1881, she went off the register in 1884.General Carrier]


‘CHILDERS’ Built 1868. Iron ship of 927 Tons. Length; 179.9 ft. Breadth; 32.4 ft. Depth; 21 ft. Built by Doxford of Sunderland for P G Carvill of Liverpool. Master’ Captain Enright then Captain J R McFee in 1881.[Passenger and General Carrier]


‘CHILE’ ex ‘Chiltonford’


‘CHILTONFORD’ Built 1892. Steel four-mast barque of 2348 Tons. Length; 298.8 ft. Breadth; 44 ft. Depth; 24.5 ft. Built by Fairfield for Briggs and Co.’s ‘Ford’ fleet. She was sold to the Norwegians in 1915 and renamed ‘Chile’. Then she was again sold and renamed ‘Asalia’.[General Carrier]


‘CHITTAGONG’ ex ‘Arundel Castle’.


‘CHOLUA’ Built 1867. Iron ship of 1066 Tons. Length; 210.2 ft. Breadth; 35.1 ft. Depth; 21.6 ft. Built by G R Clover and Co for Willis. Sold to Newton of the ‘Dale’ line and renamed ‘Dunnerdale’ then resold and renamed ‘Cimbria’.[General Carrier]


‘CHRISTEL’ ex ‘Old Kensington’


‘CHRISTEL VINNEN’ ex ‘California’


‘CHRISTIAN McCAUSLAND’ Built 1869. Iron ship of 962 Tons. Length; 204 ft. Breadth; 33.5 ft. Depth; 20.3 ft. Built by Scott of Greenoch for Henderson and Co. Sister ship to ‘Jessie Readman’, she was painted black with a gold stripe. This vessel had a rather weird experience whilst homeward bound to England, her wheel was washed away in heavy weather and for some reason, the ship continued on sailing as if she were still being handled. This went on long enough for the crew to repair the damage and continue on their way. She was later sold to the Albion Shipping Company in 1874 and was registered in Glasgow JKLV. Master: Captain R Tilley. [General Carrier]


‘CHRYSOLITE’ Built 1851. Wood ship of 471 Tons. Length; 149.3 ft. Breadth; 26.1 ft. Depth; 17 ft. Built by Hall of Aberdeen for Taylor and Potter. Master; Captain Anthony Enright. With the ship ‘Stornaway’, she was said to be the first of the British tea clippers. She was also one of the longest serving ships in that trade. [Tea Clipper]


‘CHRYSOMENE’ Built 1873. Iron ship of 1778 Tons. Length; 261.6 ft Breadth; 41.8 ft. Depth; 23.8 ft. Built by Potter for Fernie and Co. Sold to the Germans and renamed ‘Elfrieda’ then resold and renamed ‘Clevedon’.[General Carrier]


SS ‘CHUSAN’ Built c1850 Iron screw steamship of 788 Tons. Length: 261 ft. Breadth: 41.5 ft. Depth: 23.8 ft. Master: Captain O. Hills. Owned by the Peninsula and Oriental Company she was used in the expeditionary forces landing in the Persian war of 1855. She was later used on the Australian run. She was still going in 1885 for the British and Eastern Company of Liverpool. Her first trip to Sydney was in 1852 when she arrived on the 3rd of August.[Passenger ship]

‘CHUSAN’ Built 1884. Steel Screw Steamer of 2651 Tons. Length: 400.3 ft. Breadth: 45.2 ft. Depth: 28.9 ft. Built by Caird and Co at Greenock. Owned by P&O. Engine 800 Nhp. Reg. Port Greenock.


‘CIMBA’ Built 1878. Iron ship of 1174 Tons. Length; 223 ft. Breadth; 34.6 ft. Depth; 21.7 ft. Built by Hood of Aberdeen for A Nicol and Co. Master; Captain Fimister, then Captain J Holmes in 1895. She was painted green with gold scrollwork. Captain Fimister caused a stir in Sydney when he ‘jumped’ the line whilst awaiting loading. The crew of the ship ‘Patriarch’ were very put out by this insult which resulted in a fine of twenty five pounds against Captain Fimister.[General Carrier]


‘CIMBRIA’ ex ‘Warwick Castle’.


‘CIMBRIA’ ex ‘Dunnerdale’ ex ‘Cholua’.


‘CIRCE SHELL’ ex ‘Celtic Burn’.

‘CIS’ ex ‘Albuera’


‘CISSIE’ ex ‘Drumblair’.


‘CISNEROS’ ex ‘Curzon’.


‘CITY OF ADELAIDE’ Built 1864. Composite clipper of 791 Tons. Length; 176.8 ft. Breadth; 33.2 ft. Depth; 18.8 ft. Built by Pile of Sunderland for Devitt and Moore. Master; Captain Bruce. This vessel held the record for the London to Adelaide run with the clipper ship ‘Yatala’ of 65 days until the big passenger ship ‘Torrens’ beat that record. She is still afloat in Glasgow in the year 2000 ad. [Passenger Ship]


‘CITY OF ADELAIDE’ Built 1864. ‘Jackass barque [Iron four mast barque with the fore and main masts square rigged] of 887 Tons. Length: 246 ft. Breadth: 28.3 ft. Depth: 16.6 ft. Built by J Thompson. Owned by G Robertson. Reg. Sydney Master: Captain G Greenwood. She was Australian owned.[General Carrier]


‘CITY OF AGRA’ Built 1860. Iron ship of 1074 Tons. Length: 213.6 ft. Breadth: 34.7 ft. Depth: 20.6 ft. Built by Pile of Sunderland for the Coupland brothers. Master; Captain Young. She was later sold to J. Blyth and Co for the Colonial trade and was a fast ship that went from Tuscar to Melbourne in 65 days. She was finally wrecked on Cape Sable on the 31st March 1907 after a life of 47 years.[Passenger and General Carrier]



‘CITY OF BENARES’ Built 1882. Iron ship of 1652 Tons. Length; 259 ft. Breadth; 38.2 ft. Depth; 23 ft. Built by Barclay, Curle and Co for Smiths ‘City’ line. Sold to the Russians in 1900 .[General Carrier]


SS ‘CITY OF BRISBANE’ Paddle steamer belonging to the AUSN Co. She operated as an Auxiliary passenger vessel .[Coastal passenger service]


‘CITY OF BRUSSELS’ Built 1863. Iron barque of 991 Tons. Length; 211.3 ft. Breadth; 31.9 ft. Depth; 21.5 ft. Built by Connell and Co. Bought by Shaw-Saville in 1900. Registered. Ardrossan. Master; Captain J Cerete. She was sold to the Norwegians and renamed ‘Brussels’.[Passenger and General Carrier]


‘CITY OF CALCUTTA’ ex ‘Calcutta’ Built 1860. Iron ship of 984 Tons. Length; 212 ft. Breadth; 32 ft. Depth; 21.7 ft. Built by A Stephen and Co. Master; Captain A Low.[Passenger and General Carrier]


‘CITY OF CORINTH’ Built 1870. Iron ship of 1220 Tons. Length; 235 ft. Breadth; 35.5 ft. Depth; 22.3 ft. Built by Barclay, Curle for the ‘City’ line. This ship was lost in a collision on the 8th March 1889.[General Carrier]


‘CITY OF DELHI’ Built 1867. Iron ship of 1199 Tons. Length: 227 ft. Breadth: 34.8 ft. Depth: 22.7 ft. Built by Barclay, Curle for the ‘City’ line. She was eventually sold to the Norwegians and renamed ‘Ailsa’.[General Carrier]


‘CITY OF DUNEDIN’ Built 1863. Iron barque of 1074 Tons. Length; 195 ft. Breadth; 34.6 ft. Depth; 22 ft. Built by Rankin at Dumbarton for Ritson. Master: Captain G W Dixon. Owned at Maryport, Quebec. [General Carrier]


‘CITY OF GLASGOW’ Built 1867. Iron ship of 1168 Tons. Length; 2228 ft. Breadth; 34 ft. Depth; 22.2 ft. Built by Barclay, Curle for Smiths ‘City’ line. She was sold to Norway and renamed ‘Albania’ and was abandoned at sea on the 17th May 1907. [General Carrier]


‘CITY OF HANCOW’ Built 1869. Composite ship of 1195 Tons. Length; 223 ft. Breadth; 35.2 ft. Depth; 22.3 ft. Built by A Stephen and Co for Smiths ‘City’ line. Sold to G Robertson of Sydney Master: Captain Napier then Captain Muir. She became a hulk at Gladstone Queensland in 1927. She was the only vessel with a Teak bottom and Iron topsides.[Passenger ship and General Carrier]


‘CITY OF LAHORE’ Built 1864. Wood ship of 989 Tons. Length: 202.8 ft. Breadth: 31.8 ft. Depth: 21.4 ft. Built by A. Stephen and Son at Glasgow. Master: Captain J. Webster. Owner: T. C. Guthrie in 1885.Registered. Glasgow, Scotland. She was sold and renamed ‘Durisdeer’ She ran aground at Stockton beach near Newcastle, New South Wales, in 1895.[Passenger Ship and General Carrier]


‘CITY OF LUCKNOW’ Built 1869. Iron ship of 1195 Tons. Length; 231.1 ft. Breadth; 35.5 ft. Depth; 22.2 ft. Built by Barclay, Curle for Smiths ‘City’ line. Sold to the Germans who renamed her ‘Reinbek’ then sold to Italy and renamed ‘Agostino Terrizano’ and was owned by Bertocello of Genoa in 1914 under that name. Master; Captain A Ventura 1914.[General Carrier]


‘CITY OF MADRID’ Built 1869. Iron ship of 1191 Tons. Length; 231.6 ft. Breadth; 35.3 ft. Depth; 22.2 ft. Built by Connell for Smiths ‘City’ line. This ship once outran the mighty ‘Thermopylae’ in a 24-hour run and beat that vessel by ten miles. She was sold and renamed ‘Agnes Lillian’ then resold to the Germans who renamed her ’Lofthus’.[General Carrier]


‘CITY OF MOBILE’ Built 1854. Iron ship of 1189 Tons. Length; 232.5 ft. Breadth; 35.4 ft. Depth; 29.6 ft. Built by Perrine and Co at Greenpoint, New York for Harbeck and Co. Master; Captain Cook and later, Captain C Kilvert. Sold to W Herron in 1874. Reg. Liverpool VNTC. [Passenger and General Carrier]


‘CITY OF NEW YORK’ Steel Auxiliary ship of 5000 Tons. This vessel is perhaps the same used by American
polar explorers.


‘CITY OF PERTH’ Built 1868. Iron ship of 1189 Tons. Length; 232.5 ft. Breadth; 35.4 ft. Depth; 22.2 ft. Built by Connell for Smiths ‘City’ line. She was later sold to the New Zealand Shipping Company and renamed ‘Taurakina’ she enjoyed some good sailing under that name until sold to the Norwegians and renamed ‘Elida’.
[General Carrier]


‘CITY OF SPARTA’ Built 1870. Iron ship of 1191 Tons. Length; 234.2 ft. Breadth; 35 ft. Depth; 22.5 ft. Built by A Stephen and Co for Smiths ‘City’ line. Sold to the Germans and renamed ‘Staut’ then resold and renamed ‘Florence Stella’ by the Italians.
[General Carrier]


‘CITY OF SYDNEY’ Built 1875. Iron six-mast barquentine of 2903 Tons. Length: 339 ft. Breadth: 40.2 ft. Depth: 20.5 ft. Built by J. Roach and son at Chester P.A. Master: Captain A H. Anderson . Owned by L. H. Pedersen. Reg. San Francisco. The unusual size and rig of this vessel came about because she was a converted steamer.[General Carrier]


‘C.J.S.’ ex ‘West Glen’.


‘CLACKMANNANSHIRE’ Built 1884. Iron ship of 1482 Tons. Length; 250 ft. Breadth; 38.3 ft. Depth; 22.9 ft. Built by Russell and was sold to the Germans in 1922 and renamed ‘Robert’ and sailed for them until 1924 when she was finally broken up.
[General Carrier]


‘CLAN BUCHANAN’ Built 1887. Iron four-mast barque of 2072 Tons. Length: 283.5 ft Breadth: 40.5 ft. Depth: 24.5 ft. Built by Russell for Dunlop’s ‘Clan’ line. Master: Captain A. Jack then Captain George Harris then Captain T. Rankine. She was sold and renamed ‘Valerie’ by the Norwegians and she was sunk by the Germans in 1917. [General Carrier]


‘CLAN FERGUSON’ Built 1876. Iron barque of 799 Tons. Length; 199.2 ft. Breadth; 31.6 ft. Depth; 19.3 ft. Built by J Reid and Co for the ‘Clan’ line. She was sold to the Peruvians and renamed ‘Juana Peral’ then again sold and ended her days as ‘Claudina’. She was registered at Callao, Peru. [General Carrier]

‘CLAN GALBRAITH’ Built 1894. Steel four-mast barque of 2149 Tons. Length; 282.9 ft. Breadth; 40.4 ft. Depth; 24.6 ft. Built by Russell for the ‘Clan’ line. Sister ship to ‘Clan Graham’. She was the last member of the ‘Clan’ line and was almost lost when stranded in 1916. She was luckily refloated and went on sailing for a few more years. [General Carrier]


‘CLAN GRAHAM’ Built 1893. Steel four-mast barque of 2147 Tons. Length: 282.89 ft. Breadth: 40.4 ft. Depth: 24.6 ft. Built by Russell for Dunlop’s ‘Clan’ line. She was sold to the Norwegians in 1916 and renamed ‘Asheim’ and was sunk by the Germans in July of 1917.[General Carrier]


‘CLAN McFARLANE’ Built 1881. Iron ship of 1484 Tons. Length; 249.1 ft. Breadth; 38.3 ft. Depth; 23.1 ft. Built by Russell for the ‘Clan’ line. She was sold to the Swedes[1909], then the Russians[1912] and finally to the Finns in 1914.[General Carrier]


‘CLAN McKENZIE’ Built 1882. Iron ship of 1597 Tons. Length; 249.1 ft. Breadth; 38.2 ft. Depth; 23.1 ft. Built by Duncan and Co for the ‘Clan’ line. She was sold to the Norwegians and renamed ‘Majorka’ . She was the fastest of the ‘Clan’ fleet of ships but was unfortunately not fast enough to escape a German submarine in August 1917 and was sunk.[General Carrier]


‘CLAN McPHERSON’ Built 1885. Iron ship of 1601 Tons. Length; 260.5 ft. Breadth; 38.2 ft. Depth; 23.2 ft. Built by Russell for the ‘Clan’ line. She went missing on a voyage from Newcastle NSW to Valparaiso, Chile in 1909.[General Carrier]


‘CLAN McLEOD’ Built 1874. Iron barque of 646 Tons. Length; 179.8 ft . Breadth; 31.3 ft. Depth; 17.5 ft. Built by Bartram of Sunderland as the first of the ‘Clan’ line. Dunlop later sold her to J. J. Craig for the New Zealand trade and he renamed her ‘James Craig’. She has been almost totally rebuilt as a memorial to sailing ships and is stationed in Sydney NSW.[General Carrier]


‘CLAN RANALD’ Built 1868. Iron wool clipper of 1185 Tons. Length; 217.8 ft. Breadth; 35.5 ft. Depth; 21 ft. Built by Thompson of Glasgow for the Glasgow Shipping Company. Master; Captain Bully Martin then Captain Ross then Captain Morrison. She was sold to the Norwegians in 1907, she then went to the ship breakers in Germany in November 1910.[Passenger and General Carrier]


‘CLAN ROBERTSON’ Built 1884. Iron ship of 1625 Tons. Length; 259.5 ft. Breadth; 38.3 ft. Depth; 23.3 ft. Built by R Duncan and Co for the ‘Clan’ line. She was later sold by Dunlop to the Norwegians who renamed her ‘Maletta’.[General Carrier]


‘CLARENCE S BEMENT’ Built 1884. Iron ship of 1999 Tons. Length; 259.9 ft. Breadth; 40.6 ft. Depth; 23.6 ft. Built by the American Ship Building Company for J. E. Ridgeway at Philadelphia USA. She was sold to G W Hume of San Francisco in 1904. She was burnt at sea whilst en-route to her new port. [General Carrier]


’CLAUDINA’ ex ‘Peral’ ex ‘Clan Ferguson’


‘CLAUS’ ex Travencore’


‘CLAVERDON’ ex ‘Alexandra’


‘CLEOMENE’ Built 1877. Iron ship of 1794 Tons. Length: 251 ft. Breadth: 38.9 ft. Depth: 24 ft. Built by T R Oswald. She was sold to the Italians of Genoa and renamed ‘Mincio’ Master: Captain G. R. Schiaffino in 1914. [General Carrier]


‘CLEOPATRA’ Built 1844. Wood Auxiliary ship of 508 Tons. Length; 118.8 ft. Breadth; 27.8 ft. Depth; 18.1 ft. Built for James Baines and later sold to G. Pecket of Sunderland in 1881.She was well used in the immigrant trade to Australia She was an early Blackball liner. [Passenger Liner]


‘CLEVEDON’ ex ‘Chrysomene’.


‘CLOSEBURN’ Built 1881. Iron ship of 960 Tons. Length; 195.6 ft. Breadth; 33.7 ft. Depth; 19.5 ft. Built by Russell at Port Glasgow sold to S. M. Nielson of Sweden and renamed ‘Virgo’. Reg. Sweden KDMC 1926-27. Master; Captain A Johansson.
[General Carrier]

‘CLUNY CASTLE’ Built 1883. Iron four-mast ship of 1934 Tons. Length; 276.8 ft. Breadth; 41.2 ft. Depth; 24 ft. Built by Barclay, Curle for Donald Currie. Master; Captain Hamilton then Captain Pierce. She was sold to Ferguson, Letham and Co and renamed ‘Rowena’ . She was converted to a hulk in 1923.[General Carrier]


‘COCKERMOUTH’ Built 1876. Iron four-mast ship of 1377 Tons. Length: 238.8 ft. Breadth: 36.7 ft. Depth: 21.4 ft. Built by A Stephen and Co at Port Glasgow for Peter Iredale and Co. Sold and renamed ‘Nostra Signora Della Misericordia’ in 1910-11. She was then resold to G Mazzini of Callao, Peru in 1915 and renamed ‘G Mazzini’ in 1915.Reg. Callao in 1910. [General Carrier]


‘COGNATI’ ex ‘Ben Voirlich’

'COLLECTOR' ?? arrived in Melbourne in 1852 Samuel Henshall as Surgeon. [I cannot find data on this vessel but it was recorded
 as being the vessel that brought the Surgeon and Chemist above to Australia]


‘COLLINGROVE’ Built 1869. Iron ship of 861 tons. Length; 181.4 ft. Breadth; 33.5 ft. Depth; 19.4 ft. Built by J Laing at Sunderland . Master: Captain R Angel then Captain J. Sanderson. Reg. London. Owned by A Elder in 1881.[General Carrier]


‘COLLINGWOOD’ Built 1872. Iron ship of 1011 Tons. Length; 211.1 ft. Breadth; 34.8 ft. Depth; 21 ft. Built by Hood of Aberdeen for Devitt and Moore. Master; Captain Bully Martin. Handy wool clipper that gave good service in that trade. A German submarine sank her on March 12th 1917. [Passenger and General Carrier]


‘COLONIAL EMPIRE’ Built 1902. Steel four-mast barque of 2436 Tons. Length; 302.1 ft. Breadth; 43.2 ft. Depth; 24.7 ft. Built by Reid and Co for George Duncan's ‘Empire’ line. Later sold to Cook, Dundas and Co in 1910 and sailed for them until wrecked on Thunderbolt reef on September 27th 1917.[General Carrier]


‘COLONY’ Built 1886. Iron four-mast barque of 1750 Tons. Length; 258 ft. Breadth; 39.5 ft. Depth; 23.1 ft. Built by Doxford and Co at Sunderland for M J Hughes. Sold to W Thomas and Co in 1897. Master; Captain J Thomas. Reg. Liverpool KHWP 93967. [General Carrier]


‘COLUMBIA’ Built 1871. Wood ship of 1471 Tons. Length: 205.9 ft. Breadth: 40 ft. Depth: 24 ft. Built by Houghton’s of Bath for G E Plummer. Sold to G Anderson of San Francisco in the early 1900’s. Reg.: San Francisco JKWM. Master: Captain Neilson 1906. [General Carrier]


‘COLUMBIA’ ex ‘Lord Wolseley’


‘COLUMBUS’ Built 1868. Composite ship of 744 Tons. Length; 182.4 ft. Breadth; 31 ft. Depth; 18.2 FT. Built at Glasgow for Lidgett and Sons. [Passenger and General Carrier]


‘COMADRE’ Built 1868. Iron barque of 805 Tons. Length; 195.3 ft. Breadth; 31.7 ft. Depth; 19.4 ft. Built by J Stephen of Glasgow for T H Ismay. Sold to Tomlinson and Hodgett in 1880. Reg. Liverpool. [Passenger and General Carrier]


‘COMBEMERE’ Built 1881. Iron ship of 1686 Tons. Length; 251.3 ft. Breadth; 39.1 ft. Depth; 24.1 ft. Built by Richardson and Duck for C W Kellock.[General Carrier]


‘COMET’ Built 1851. Wood ship of 1836 Tons. Length; 229 ft. Breadth; 42 ft. Depth; 22.8 ft. Built by William H Webb for Bucklin and Crane. She was sold to the Black Ball Line by T. Mackay who had bought her and registered her in London. On her first voyage under her new name of ‘Fiery Star’, she carried 525 passengers to Brisbane and arrived from London-Queenstown at Moreton Bay on the 20th of November 1863. She then returned to London and again loaded for Brisbane and arrived on the 21st of November 1864. She did not leave again until the 1st of April 1865 and when she did, she had 55 passengers and 41 crew and a cargo of wool. This ship caught fire at sea on the 20th of April 1865 and although the hatches were all battened down and the crew doing all they could to put the fire out, the fire burned through the port bow. The captain ordered the boats provisioned and away but there was not enough room for all so the chief petty officer and seventeen seamen [thirteen apprentices] volunteered to stay aboard the doomed vessel. For twenty-one days this brave group battled the flames while they steered a course that kept them to the shipping lanes. Finally after fighting the fire through storms and calm, they were rescued on the 11th March 1865 by the American ship ‘Dauntless, as the last man was taken off, the mainmast fell over the side and the ‘Fiery Star’ sank. Master: CaptainYule. .
The Skeleton crew received a reward of one hundred and sixty pounds from the people of New Zealand. She had been sold prior to her fire and she went to the bottom of the sea under the name ‘Fiery Star’. The four boats got away with 78 passengers and crew, disappeared and were lost. [Passenger Liner]


‘COMLIEBANK’ Built 1890. Steel four-mast barque of 2390 Tons. Length; 278.6 ft. Breadth; 42.9 ft. Depth; 24.2 ft. Built by Russell and Co for Weir. After good sailing for them, she was sold to Heinstein of Norway and renamed ‘Asulf’ and was still pounding the waves for them in 1917-18.[General Carrier]


’COMMANDANT POSTH’ ex ‘Durham’


‘COMMODORE T. H. ALLEN’ Built 1884. Steel ship of 2390 Tons. Length; 245.3 ft. Breadth; 41.7 ft. Depth; 24.2 ft. Built by T. J. Southard and Sons of Richmond USA, for themselves. Master; Captain Robert Merriman. Second Mate: Mr Crocker. This vessel was one of those that received a bad name from the conduct of her officers. The ship was plagued by the court appearances of the officers due to the cruelty exhibited to the crew. She ended her days as a deep-water ship in November 1901 when she was burned almost to the waterline. She was made into a barge and renamed ‘Sterling’ .[General Carrier]


‘COMMONWEALTH’ Built 1875. Iron ship of 1345 Tons. Length; 237.5 ft. Breadth; 36.2 ft. Depth; 21.6 ft. Built by Russell for C H Stewart. Master; Captain J E Cooper then Captain George Cooper [nephew]. Her mate was W H Popham. Second mate was George Cooper. Bosun was Robert Miller and the Sailmaker was Harry Stringer. She was sold to the Peruvians in 1907 and renamed ‘Cuatro Hermanos’ . She was sold again, this time to the Genoese and renamed ‘Carvour’ . She was sold back to the Peruvians in 1918 and they named her ‘Cuatro Hermanos’ again. She was again sold and renamed ‘Sofia’ by the Peruvians of Callao and she finally sank at her moorings at Antofagasta in 1927. [General Carrier]


‘COMPTE De SMET De NAEYER’ ex ‘Linlithgowshire’
.Belgian training ship.[see ‘Linlithgowshire’]


‘CONCORDIA’ ex ‘Celtic Race’


‘CONFERENCE’ Built 1855. Iron barque of 421 Tons. Length; 164.8 ft. Breadth; 26.3 ft. Depth; 15.9 ft. Built by Tayleur and Co of Warrington for the Adelaide Steamship Company. Reg. PJGS 25992 Sydney NSW. Master: Captain B. Jenkins. [Passenger ship]


‘CONNISHEAD’ Built 1892. Steel four-mast barque of 2526 Tons. Length; 305.8 ft. Breadth; 42.3 ft. Depth; 24.6 ft. Built by Williamson for Burke and Huntrods. Sold to the Germans and renamed ‘Athene’.[General Carrier]


‘CONQUEROR’ Built 1874. Iron ship of 1621 Tons. Length; 215.3 ft. Breadth; 41.8 ft. Depth; 24 ft. Built at East Boston for W F Wells.[General Carrier]


‘COPLEY’ Built 1881. Iron ship of 1741 Tons. Length; 263 ft. Breadth; 39.1 ft. Depth; 24.1 ft. Built by Potter and Co for the White Star Line. Sister ship to ‘Walden Abbey’[General Carrier]


SS ‘COPTIC’ Built 1881. Steel steamer of 4352 Tons. White Star liner that was sold in 1906 and renamed ‘Persia’. She was broken up in 1926. [Passenger Liner]


‘COQUITLAM CITY’ Built 1914. Wood four-mast schooner of 933 Tons. Length; 196 ft. Breadth; 41 ft. Depth; 13 ft. Built by the Coquitlam Ship Building and Marine Company at Port Coquitlam British Columbia.[Timber Drogue]


‘CORINTH’ Built 1870. Composite ship of 614 Tons. Length; app 175 ft. Breadth; app 33 ft. Depth; app 18 ft. Built by Pile of Sunderland for T B Walker. Master; Captain brown. She was lost by fire while at sea due to Spontaneous combustion. This occurred in February 1903. The crew got away safely and were picked up by the Steamship ‘Fifeshire’ and returned safely to London.
[Wool Clipper]


‘’CORNELIUS GRINNELL’ Built 1850. Wood ship of 1100 Tons. Length; 180 ft. Breadth; 38 ft. Depth; 23.6 ft. Built for the Swallow Tail line and was an Atlantic Packet ship.[Passenger and General Carrier]


‘CORUNNA’ Built 1893. Steel four-mast barque of 2432 Tons. Length; 293 ft. Breadth; 43 ft. Depth; 24.4 ft. Built by Henderson for Hardie and Co. Master; Captain Robson then Captain McMillan in 1896, then Captain McNeil in 1898, then Captain Mason in 1904. She was stranded at Miramar, South America in June 1904. She was refloated and refitted in October 1904. She was then renamed ‘La Epoca’ and was finally sunk by a German U-boat in 1917. [General Carrier]


‘COSPATRICK’ Built 1856. Wood [Teak] ship of 1119 Tons. Length: app 198 ft. Breadth: app 33 ft. Depth: app 21.5 ft. Built at Moulamein for Dunbar. He put this vessel into service on the India run. Master: Captain A Elmslie. She was sold to Shaw Servile for the New Zealand run and was set to become a favorite when fate intervened on her second voyage for them she caught fire at sea. She left Gravesend, England on the 11th September 1874 and during the night of 18th November 1874, she caught fire in the Bosuns store. The weather was calm and there was little if any breeze and the crew and passengers got to work trying to put the fire out. This was an effort wasted though for she was soon ablaze and the 472 people aboard were now in serious trouble. ‘Cospatrick’ took two days to burn to the waterline and sink, the lifeboats that managed to get away held only 85 persons .One of the boats drifted away and was never seen again. The other spent the next ten days drifting with its passengers dying of thirst and dementia. Finally on the 27th November, the ship ‘British Sceptre’ saw them and took aboard five men of whom two died before they reached land. [Passenger Liner]


‘COUNTY OF ANTRIM’ Built c1880. Iron three-mast barque of 1200 tons. Length: app 215 ft. Breadth: app 35 ft. Depth: app 21.6 ft. Master: Captain McDonald then Captain Hyland. . While running through Bass straight in 1897, She began leaking heavily due to her cargo of steel rails shifting. She could not be saved and the captain ran his ship up onto the 90-mile beach near Lakes Entrance. All the crew was saved but the ship was a total loss.
[General Carrier]


‘COUNTY OF ANGLESEA’ Built 1877. Iron ship of 1103 Tons. Length; 214.4 ft. Breadth; 35.2 ft. Depth; 21.2 ft. Built by Evans and Co for Thomas and Co of the Welsh ‘County’ line. Master; Captain S Parry.[General Carrier]


‘COUNTY OF AYR’ Built 1863. Iron ship of 499 Tons. Length; 170 ft. Breadth; 26.5 ft. Depth; 17.3 ft. Built by Connell of Glasgow for Craigs ‘County’ line She was sold in 1884.[General Carrier]


‘COUNTY OF CAITHNESS’ Built 1876. Iron four-mast ship of 1646 Tons. Length; 266.4 ft. Breadth ; 38.8 ft. Depth; 23.6 ft. Built by Barclay, Curle for Craig’s ‘County’ line. Sister ship to ‘County of Inverness’, ‘County of Cromarty’, ‘County of Dumfries’ and ‘County of Peebles’. She was sold to Norway and converted to a bark and renamed ‘Sofie’ and they later sold her again. [General Carrier]


‘COUNTY OF CARDIGAN’ Built 1877. Iron ship of 1325 Tons. Length; 229.4 ft. Breadth; 37.1 ft. Depth; 22.7 ft. Built by Evans for W Thomas of the Welsh ‘County’ line. Master; Captain Hughes.[General Carrier]


‘COUNTY OF DUMFRIES’ Built 1878. Iron ship of 1640 Tons. Length: 266.2 ft. Breadth: 38.8 ft. Depth: 23.6 ft. Built by Barclay, Curl for Craig’s ‘County’ line. She was sold to the Russians in 1904-5 who re-rigged her as a bark and then named her ‘Sovinto’.
Under which name and flag, she was wrecked in November, 1906 on Prince Edward Island with the loss of 10 lives. She was bound for Melbourne from New Brunswick when she struck.[General Carrier]


‘COUNTY OF EDINBOROUGH’ Built 1885. Iron four-mast ship of 2078 Tons. Length: 285.6 ft. Breadth: 42.5 ft. Depth: 24.3 ft. Built by Barclay, Curle for Craig’s ‘County’ line. Master: Captain F. W. J. Tode then Captain W Hood. She was sold to the Germans in 1906 and re-rigged as a bark then renamed ‘Frieda’. [General Carrier]

‘COUNTY OF FLINT’ Built 1877. Iron ship of 1111 Tons. Length: 219.5 ft. Breadth: 35.1 ft. Depth: 21.3 ft. Built by Doxford for the Welsh ‘County’ line. Sold to Chile and renamed ‘Zelbio’. She sailed for them until she was resold and renamed ‘Armando’
in 1922.[General Carrier]


‘COUNTY OF INVERNESS’ Built 1877. Iron four-mast barque of 1636 Tons. Length: 266.6 ft. Breadth: 38.8 ft. Depth: 23.6 ft. Built by Barclay, Curle for Craig’s ‘County’ line. Shee was then bought by Shaw-Savill and remained with them for a few years until they sold her in 1937. She was sold to the French who renamed her ‘Dora’ . She was again sold and renamed ‘Carmen’ in 1922 at which time she was converted to a motor ship. She ended her days under the Estonian flag.
[General Carrier]


‘COUNTY OF KINROSS’ Built 1875. Iron four-mast ship of 1641 Tons. Length: 267 ft. Breadth: 38.8 ft. Depth: 23.6 ft. Built by Barclay, Curle for Craig’s ‘County’ line. She was sold to the Norwegians and renamed ‘Marpesia’ in 1906.


‘COUNTY OF LINLITHGOW’ Built 1887. Iron four-mast barque of 2122 Tons. Length; 286.6 ft. Breadth; 43.5 ft. Depth; 24.1 ft. Built by Barclay, Curle for Craigs ‘County’ line. She ended her days as a motor ship under the name ‘Katherine’ in the Philippines.
[General Carrier]


‘COUNTY OF PEEBLES’ Built 1875. Iron four-mast ship of 1614 Tons. Length: 266.6 ft. Breadth: 38.7 ft. Depth: 23.4 ft. Built by Barclay, Curle for Craig’s ‘County’ line. She was sold to the Chileans in 1898.She became a breakwater at Valparaiso and was still there in 1991 in fairly good condition. [General Carrier]


‘COUNTY OF ROXBURGH’ Built 1886. Iron four-mast ship of 2121 Tons. Length: 289.5 ft. Breadth: 43.5 ft. Depth: 24.1 ft. Built by Barclay, Curle for Craig’s ‘County’ line. She was wrecked on Tokawa Island in 1906.


‘COUNTY OF SELKIRK’ Built 1878. Iron four-mast ship of 1865 Tons. Length; 281 ft. Breadth; 40.4 ft. Depth; 24.1 ft. Built by Barclay, Curle for Craigs ‘County’ line. She went missing in1895.[General Carrier]


‘COWASJEE JEHANGER’ Built 1864. Iron ship of 1264 Tons. Length; 217.4 ft. Breadth; 34.5 ft. Depth; 22.4 ft. Built by Kart of Liverpool for Nicholson McGill of Liverpool. Master: Captain S. Stephenson. She was sold and renamed ‘Ranee’ then resold to the Norwegians and renamed ‘Marta’ then sold to the Italians who renamed her ‘Santa Rosalia’ and was registered to Palermo.[Passenger and General Carrier]


‘CRAIGERNE’ Built 1889. Steel four-mast barque of 1905 Tons. Length; 270 ft. Breadth; 40 ft. Depth; 23.6 ft. Built by R Duncan and Co for W. Thorburn. Reg. Greenoch LDPF. Master: Captain Suffern. She was sold to Norway and renamed ‘Margareta’ . She was again sold and was still sailing in 1915 Master: Captain C. E. Erikson. Watson Bros. had also owned her in 1909. Master at that time was Captain W. Loadas. [General Carrier]


‘CRAIGMORE’ Built c1895. Steel ship of 1997 Tons. Length; 262.5 ft. Breadth; 40 ft. Depth; 23.6 ft. Built by A Rodger and Co. Owned by the Italian Government in 1922 as the Training ship ‘Marie’ [General Carrier and Training ship]


‘CRESSINGTON’ Built 1883 Iron ship of 2211 Tons. Length: 289.5 ft. Breadth: 40.4 ft. Depth: 24.6 ft. Built by Oswald Mordaunt. Sold to the Norwegians and renamed ‘Songvand’ she was sunk by a German submarine in 1917 off the Scilly Isles. [General Carrier]


‘CRICCIETH CASTLE’ ex ‘Silverdale’.


‘CRIFFEL’ 1891. Steel barque of 1400 Tons. Length: 221.4 ft. Breadth: 36.6 ft. Depth: 212.5 ft. Built by Ritson of Maryport for M. McDiarmid of Greenshields. Master; Captain A Billet. Reg. Liverpool MBPD. [General Carrier]


‘CRISTOBAL SOLER’ ex ‘Cursetjee Furdoonjee’


‘’CROCODILE’ Built 1892. Steel four-mast barque of 2555 Tons. Length; 288.4 ft. Breadth; 41.2 ft. Depth; 24.6 ft. Built by T. S. Oswald at Southampton for Peel and Co. Master; Captain W Wilson. Sold to the Norwegians in 1915 and was renamed ‘Storegut’ . Master: Captain N. Isaksen and owned by S. O. Stray.
[General Carrier]


‘CROMARTYSHIRE’ Built 1879. Iron ship of 1462 Tons. Length; 248.8 ft. Breadth; 38.1 ft. Depth; 22.8 ft. Built by Russell for the ‘Shire’ line. Master: Captain Henderson then Captain Reid then Captain D. Nicholl. This ship was involved in a collision with the French passenger ship ‘La Bourgoyne’. No one was hurt in the accident and ‘Cromartyshire’ was towed into Halifax, Nova Scotia. She was finally wrecked some time later at Printabu in the Pacific Ocean on October 24th 1906. [General Carrier]


‘CROMDALE’ Built 1891. Steel skysail yard ship of 1903 Tons, Length; 271,6 ft. Breadth; 40.1 ft. Depth; 23.4 ft. Built by Barclay, Curle for D Rose and Co. Master; Captain E H Andrew who took her from the start and then Captain Arthur who was with her until her career ended. She was the last ship built for the Australian wool trade with her sister ship ‘Mount Stewart’. She was wrecked with all her sails flying on the Cornish coast in 1913. [General Carrier]


‘CROWN OF DENMARK’ Built 1883. Iron ship of 2209 Tons. Length; 283.5 ft. Breadth; 41.3 ft. Depth; 24.1 ft. Built by McMillan for Robertson, Cruikshank. Sold to the Norwegians and renamed ‘Saga’ . She sailed for them until 1917 when she was resold and renamed ‘Viben’. The Danes owned her at that time. Master; Captain R Hansen 1917-18.[General Carrier]


‘CROWN OF GERMANY’ Built 1892. Steel four-mast barque of 2241 tons. Length; 284.4 ft. Breadth; 41.9 ft. Depth; 24.5 ft. Built by Workman and Clark for the Crown Steamship Company. Owned by W. Gibson and Co then sold to Thomas and Co who resold her to the Norwegians in 1915. [General Carrier]


‘CROWN OF INDIA’ Built 1885. Iron ship of 1551 Tons. Length: 251.3 ft. Breadth: 38.2 ft. Depth: 21.9 ft. Built by Ramage and Ferguson for Robertson, Cruikshanks ‘Crown’ line. She was sold to R J Young and Co in 1902. They sold her to Henderson, Tucker and Co. She was again sold, this time to J Joyce and Co and while owned by them was sunk by a German submarine in 1916.[General Carrier]


‘CROWN OF SCOTLAND’ Built 1883. Iron ship of 1550 Tons. Length; 249.7 ft. Breadth; 38.3 ft. Depth; 22 ft. Built by Royden for Robertson, Cruikshank of the ‘Crown’ line. She was sold to R J Young in 1902. Resold to Genoa in 1906 and renamed ‘Gaverone Fratelli’.[General Carrier]


‘CROWN ZELLERBACH III’ ex ‘Riversdale’


‘CRUMMOCK WATER’ Built 1878. Iron barque of 1024 Tons. Length: 216 ft. Breadth: 34.4 ft. Depth: 20.4 ft. Built by Doxford at Sunderland. Sold to the Massone’s of Genoa . Master: Captain C. De Bernardis. Reg. Genoa QVLC. [General Carrier]


‘CRUSADER’ Built 1865. Iron ship of 1059 Tons. Length; 2`10.7 ft. Breadth; 35.1 ft. Depth; 21.4 ft. She was an extremely fast ship that was bought by Shaw-Savill in 1869 for the New Zealand trade. She continued sailing for them until she was sold to the Norwegians in 1902. She was still sailing for them in 1914. [Passenger and General Carrier]


‘CUATRO HERMANUS’ ex ‘Commonwealth’


‘CUBA’ Built 1864. Iron ship of 2470 Tons. Length; 338.2 ft. Breadth; 42.4 ft. Depth; 27.6 ft. Built by Todd and McGregor of Glasgow for the ‘Cunard’ line. She was later sold to David Brown for his ‘Earl’ line and was converted to a four-mast ship in 1877. She was renamed ‘Earl of Beaconsfield’ and ended her days stranded near Aldborough on November 6th 1887.
[Passenger Ship]

‘CULMORE’ Built 1890. Steel ship of 1640 Tons. Length; app 238 ft. Breadth; app 40.3 ft. Depth; 23.5 ft. Built by Russell for Thompson, Dickie and Co. She foundered at sea on November 14th 1894.[General Carrier]


‘CUMBRIAN’ Built 1879. Iron barque of 1083 Tons. Length; 214.5 ft. Breadth; 34.4 ft. Depth; 21.4 ft. Built by Thompson at Sunderland for Iredale, Potter and Co.[General Carrier]


‘CUPICA’ Built 1888. Steel barque of 1210 Tons. Length; 226 ft. Breadth; 36.4 ft. Depth; 21.9 ft. Built by Bigger and Co for McVicar, Marshall and Co. Sister ship to ‘Camphill’, ‘Craiglands’ and ‘Silverstream’. She was sold to the Germans who renamed her ‘’Gretchen Hartrodt’ . She stranded on top of a wreck five miles north of the Winterton light but was refloated and repaired. She was again sold and renamed ‘Elflida’ and sailed under this name until sold to the Ocean Ship Company where she was again renamed, this time back to her original ‘Cupica’ in 1917-18.
[General Carrier]


‘CURSETJEE FURDOONJEE’ ex ‘Talisman’


‘CRISTOBAL SOLAR’ ex ‘Cursetjee Furdoonjee’ ex ‘Talisman’


‘CURZON’ ex ‘A. Lopez’


‘CUTTY SARK’ Built 1869. Composite clipper ship of 921 Tons. Length: 212.5 ft. Breadth: 36 ft. Depth: 21 ft. Built by Scott and Linton of Dumbarton, Scotland. Scott and Linton failed in business before she was completed and the Denny Brothers finished her off. She was designed by J. Rennie and owned by Willis. After a long and wonderful career in the Tea and Wool trades, she was finally sold to the Portuguese and renamed ‘Mario Do Amparo’ then later resold again and renamed ‘Ferriera’ . Master: [British] Captain Moodie, from launch, Captain Moore then finally Captain Woodgett. Captain Woodgett had her while she was in the Australian trade. She had many famous races with many famous name ships and was second only to the great ‘Thermopylae’. In her later years there was none to top her and she was a favorite name amongst the betting fraternity. A British sea Captain who so loved that ship’s fame that he could not resist and later bought her. Captain Dowman took her over in 1922, paying 3750 Guineas for her. He took her back to England where she was re-rigged according to her old sail plan. Unfortunately, Captain Dowman died before taking her back to sea and his wife presented her to the Thames Nautical Training College in 1938 where she was moored alongside the ‘Worcester’ at Greenhithe. She was taken to Greenwich where she was turned into a Museum ship.[Tea Clipper]

.
‘CYNISCA’ Built 1878. Iron ship of 893 Tons. Length: 200.4 ft. Breadth: 32.6 ft. Depth: 19.4 ft. Built by Dobie of Glasgow. Owned by H. McEwan in 1881. Master: Captain T. Hutton.
[General Carrier]


‘CYPROMENE’ Built 1878. Iron ship of 1824 Tons. Length: 260 ft. Breadth: 37.5 ft. Depth: 24 ft. Built by Oswald, Mordaunt of Southampton . She was stranded in October, 1903 and was bought by Matson and renamed ‘Monterey’ , he also re-rigged her as a four-mast schooner and she began an oil-carrying career. She was sold to the Fife Shipping Company and was still sailing into the1930’s. She was broken up in 1934.[General Carrier] *98107


‘CYRUS WAKEFIELD’ Built 1882. Iron ship of 2119 Tons. Length: 247 ft. Breadth: 43.7 ft. Depth: 28.6 ft. Built by S. Watts for S Watts and Co. Master: Captain Hyler then Captain I. N. Hibberd then Captain Henry.
[General Carrier]

                                  D


‘DABEJA’ ex ‘British Ambassador’

SS ‘DACCA’ Built 1881. Iron steamer of 2545 Tons. She brought many emigrants to Australia and serviced the Queensland run for several years before being wrecked in the Red Sea on the 16th of May 1890.

‘DAGNY’ ex ‘Talca’


‘DALBEK’ ex ‘Balasore’


‘DALGONAR’ Built 1892. Steel ship of 2665 Tons. Length: 296 ft. Breadth: 42.3 ft. Depth: 25.3 ft. Built at Southampton for Gracie Beazley. Master: Captain Kitchen then Captain Ibister . She was almost destroyed by fire in 1896.In 1913, She left Callao in a very unstable condition due to the shingle ballast she was carrying. After sailing for fifteen days she struck bad weather and was soon on her beam-ends with Captain Ibister and three of his crew drowned. The rest of the crew was saved by the French four-mast bark ‘Loire’. The ‘Dalgonar’ stayed afloat and drifted for 5000 miles before getting stuck on a reef. This occurred near the island of Mopihaa, in the Society group in the South Pacific in early 1914. [General Carrier]


‘DALHOUSIE’ Built 1848. Wood Frigate of 848 Tons. Built at Moulamein, India for the Blackwall fleet Owned by Allen and Co of the Australian White Horse Line. She was lost in 1853 while bound for Australia under the flag of the Australian ‘White Horse’ line of passenger ships. Only one survivor lived to tell of her loss, Helmsman Joseph Reed Master: Captain Butterworth [General Carrier]


SS ‘DALHOUSIE’ Built 1889. Steel twin screw steamer of 741 Tons. Length: 216 ft. Breadth: 32.1 ft. Depth: 15.6 ft. Master: Captain E. W. Sampson. Owner: Clive Steam and Tug Company. Engine; 308 NHP.[Passenger and General Carrier]


‘DALSTON’ ex ‘Scimitar’


‘DAMASCUS’ Built 1857. Wood ship of 964 Tons. Length; 194.4 ft. Breadth; 33.6 ft. Depth; 20.6 ft. Built by Hood of Aberdeen. Sold to the Norwegians and renamed ‘Magnolia’ Master; Captain Laird. Owned by O. Svendsen of Christiania in 1881. She was stranded on September 1ST 1893 at Bersimis where she became totally wrecked.[Passenger Liner]


‘DAMSON HILL’ Built 1893. Steel four-mast barque of 2061 Tons. Length: 282.8 ft. Breadth: 40.5 ft. Depth: 23.8 ft. Built by Harlan, Wolf at Belfast, Ireland. Sold to Rehired Visurgis of Bremen and renamed ‘Niobe’ Master: Captain C. Gerckens. Reg. Bremen DGFS. She was resold to Handels of Hamburg and renamed ‘Harald’ in 1922. She went off the register soon after [1923] and it is supposed that she was hulked under this name.[General Carrier]


‘DANIEL WEBSTER’ Built 1851. Wood Packet Ship of 1187 Tons. Length; 186 ft. Breadth; 40 ft. Depth; 24 ft. She had three decks and was of 1500 Tons burthen. This ship was built mainly of White Oak and Rock Maple with her deck planks of Pine. She had accommodations for 450 passengers and was perhaps, one of the most beautiful of the American vessels built by Donald Mackay at Boston, Mass. [Atlantic Packet and Passenger Liner]


‘DARLING DOWNS’ ex ‘Calcutta’.


‘DARTFORD’ Built 1877. Iron ship of 1327 Tons. Length: 221.5 ft. Breadth: 35 ft. Depth: 21.9 ft. Built by Mounsel and Foster for D. Corsar. She was sold to the Union SS Company of New Zealand and became a training ship for them. She was hulked in 1913 then refitted in 1918. She was hulked again in 1921.
[General Carrier and Training Ship]


‘DAWPOOL’ Built 1880. Iron ship of 1697 Tons. Length: 262. 9 ft. Breadth: 38.3 ft. Depth: 23.3 ft. Built by Harland, Wolf for Dismay, Imrie and Co. Sister ship to ‘Lord Dufferin’ and a member of the ‘White Star’ line. Master: Captain J F Smith then Captain W.H.C. Warren then Captain T. C. Fearon. She was sold to the Germans and renamed ‘Wilkommen’ then resold to the Norwegians and renamed ‘Haakon’ She was resold and renamed ‘Vestvelt’ in 1917 although Lubbock gives the date of her demise as April 23rd 1917. Master; Captain Arnoldsen.[Passenger Liner]


‘DAYLIGHT’ Built 1902. Steel four-mast barque of 3756 Tons. Length; 351.5 ft. Breadth; 49.1 ft. Depth; 28.2 ft. Built at Port Glasgow by Russell for the Anglo American Oil Company. Master: Captain J. McBryde. Reg. London. Very good sailing vessel that was wrecked on Thunderbolt reef, sometime after 1925. She easily won the great race from Newcastle NSW to San Francisco in 1905. Sistership to the big four-mast barque. ‘Brilliant’ [Oil Carrier]


‘DECAPOLIS’ Built 1868. Iron ship of 632 Tons. Length; 187.5 ft. Breadth; 30 ft. Depth; 18 ft. Built by Pile of Sunderland for Walker, Trinder and Anderson. She was later sold to the Italians and renamed ‘Nostre Madre’ .Master; Captain G Palazzo in 1902 when Italian owned. She was torpedoed during the First World War in the Mediterranean. [Wool Clipper]


‘DEE’ Built 1885. Iron barque of 1169 Tons. Length; 215.2 ft. Breadth; 35.1 ft. Depth; 21.2 ft. Built by Russell at Port Glasgow for J Stewart and Co. Master; Captain M C York.[ General Carrier]


‘DENMARK’ ex ‘Great Republic’.


‘DERWENT’ Built 1884. Iron ship of 1890 Tons Length; 275 ft. Breadth; 40.2 ft. Depth; 23.7 ft. Built by McMillan for Devitt and Moore. Master; Captain Andrew. This vessel had a very strange beginning, she sailed on Christmas eve 1884 on her maiden voyage and her crew all became mutinous whilst en-route When she eventually reached her destination, the crew were all given prison sentences. She was sold to the Norwegians in 1904. They sold her in turn to the Americans who cut her down to a towing barge in Charleston , South Carolina in 1931-32.[General Carrier]


‘DESDEMONA’ Built 1875. Iron ship of 1490 Tons. Length; 242 ft. Breadth; 37.7 ft. Depth; 22.9 ft. Built by Potter for Bowring and she was put on the Australian run. Master: Captain H. Towill in 1881. [Passenger and General Carrier]


‘DEVONSHIRE’ Built 1848. Wood ship of 806 Tons. Length: 156.7 ft. Breadth: 32.6 ft. Depth: 22.6 ft. Built by the Blackwall Yards for Wigram. Reg. London. Master: Captain Holt. She was a Blackwall Frigate that was used in the Indian and Australian-NZ trades.[Passenger Ship]


‘DHARWAR’ Built 1864. Iron ship of 1300 Tons. Length: 226.2 ft. Breadth: 37.2 ft. Depth: 23.3 ft. Built by Harland and Wolf for the ‘Iron Ship Company’ who went into receivership before this vessel had come off the stocks. Harland and Wolf bought her and put her into the Australian passenger service and she was a favored ship during the 1870’s. She was eventually sold to the Swedes who kept her running until she went to the ship breakers in 1909.
[Passenger Ship]


‘DIAMOND HEAD’ ex ‘Gainsborough’.


‘DILBHUR’ Built 1865. Composite ship of 1308 Tons. Length; 226 ft. Breadth; 34 ft. Depth; 22.8 ft. Built in London for Lidgett and Sons. She was sold to the Norwegians and then later to the Portuguese.[Troopship and Passenger liner]


‘DIMSDALE’ Built 1887. Steel ship of 1887 Tons. Length; 270 ft. Breadth; 39.8 ft. Depth; 23.4 ft. Built by C Bigger for the Dimsdale Shipping Company owned by Peter Iredale and Porter. Reg. Liverpool. Master; Captain John Jones in 1912. This vessel had the rather ignominious record of being the only ship that ever sunk a lighthouse.. This event happened in Adelaide South Australia at the Wonga shoal Lighthouse, Unfortunately, two lighthouse keepers were killed when the ‘Dimsdale’ smashed into the building and destroyed it in November 1912.[General Carrier]


‘DIRIGO’ Built 1894. Steel -four mast ship of 3005 Tons. Length: 312 ft. Breadth: 45.1 ft. Depth: 25.6 ft. Built by A Sewall at Bath, Maine. Reg. Bath USA 157395. Master: Captain L .S. Colley. [General Carrier]


‘DISCOVERY’ Wood three-mast Auxiliary steamship of 1620 Tons. Length: 198 ft. Breadth: 34 ft. Depth: approx. 21ft. She took Captain Scott on his voyage of discovery in 1901 and did not return until 1905. She was sold to the Hudson Bay Company on her return and served them for a number of years. She became a grain carrier after the 1st world war and stayed in that trade until 1921. She then went into the exploration field again, this time around the Falkland Islands and the Antarctic. In 1936, she was taken over by the Admiralty and became a museum ship renamed: HMS 'Discovery’. She sits on the Thames River near the houses of Parliament.


‘DISCOVERY’ Prison Hulk that lay at Deptford, England at the turn of the 19th century. She was owned by Vancouver, Canada interests and remained as a prison hulk until she was broken up in 1834. [ East Indiaman and prison hulk]

‘DISCOVERY’ Built 1901. Wood barque of 751 Tons. Length; 179.3 ft. Breadth; 33.8 ft. Depth; 18.5 ft. Built by the Dundee Ship Building Company of Scotland. She was owned by the Hudson’s Bay Company in 1914 and was registered in London. Master: Captain J. G. Ford.
[General Carrier]


‘DITTON’ Built 1891. Steel ship of 2901 Tons. Length: 311 ft. Breadth: 42.3 ft. Depth: 25.7 ft. Built by T Oswald for R. W. Leyland and Co. She was sold to the Norwegians and renamed ‘Nordfarer’. She was sold again and renamed ‘Bragdo’ before being wrecked at Boojerg on November 2nd 1921. There are some well-known Photographs of this vessel after its collision with two ships while coming into port. The little ‘Peebleshire’ and the ‘Port Crawford’ both suffered damage when the big ‘Ditton’ crashed into them killing one man. [General Carrier]


’DON DIEGO’ ex ‘Knight of the Thistle’.


‘DOON’ Built 1877. Iron barque of 849 Tons. Length: 195.7 ft. Breadth: 32.9 ft. Depth: 19.1 ft. Built by the London Glasgow Company at Glasgow. Sold to S. O. Stray of Norway in 1907. Master: Captain A. H. Pettersen. Reg. Norway . [General Carrier]


‘DOCHRA’ Built 1877. Iron barque of 1300 Tons. Length: approx. 230 ft. Breadth: approx. 35 ft. Depth: approx. 21 ft. Built by Scott of Greenock. Master: Captain H. Spalding. Sold to the Portuguese and renamed ‘Pernambuco’ then again sold and renamed ‘Olinda’. [General Carrier]


‘DOLBADARN CASTLE’ ex ‘Earmont’


‘DOLPHIN SHELL’ ex ‘Earmont’.


‘DORA’ ex ‘County of Inverness’.


‘DORIDE’ ex ‘Jeanne D’ Arc’.


‘DONALD MACKAY’ Built 1855. Wood ship of 2598 Tons. Length: 257.9 ft Breadth: 46.3 ft. Depth: 29.5 ft. Built by Donald Mackay in America and sold to the Blackball Line. Master; Captain Warner then Captain Ryan then Captain Wallace in 1881. She was old to Carl Bruer of Bremerhaven and was made a coal hulk at Madiera. She was then taken to Bremerhaven and hulked there in 1886. [Passenger Liner]


‘DON AUGUSTO’ ex ‘Mennoch’


‘DON JUAN’ Blackbirder of 1863 for Robert Towns. She was wrecked off Newcastle, NSW on the 9th of May 1869. [Queensland recruiting vessel, see under the Blackbirders]


‘ DONNA FRANCISCA’ Built 1892. Steel four-mast barque of 2277 Tons. Length: 277.5 ft. Breadth: 42 ft. Depth: 24.5 ft. Built by Russell for Hayes. Master: Captain J. Simon. She was built with a water ballast tank that could be filled and emptied within 24 hours. She was sold and renamed ‘Herbert’. Later sold again, this time to the Germans and named ‘Lemkenhaven’ by them, she was wrecked 1926.
[General Carrier]

‘ DOOMBAH ’ ex ‘Wexford’ Built 1919. Steel twin screw steamer of 750 Tons. Length: 219.4 ft. Breadth: 28.6 ft. Depth: 15.5 ft. Built by W Simons and Co of Renfrew for the Brisbane Tug and Steamship Company. She was sold after a good career as a regular ferryboat in Brisbane Queensland. She was renamed 'Meggol’ and she operated as an oil barge on the Parramatta River in New South Wales. [River Ferry]


‘DORIDE’ Built 1891 . Steel barque of 1653 Tons. Length: 228.3 ft. Breadth: 38.1 ft. Depth: 21 ft. Built by Atel Chant de la Noire at St Nazaire. Owned by Filli Pollio of Castlemare, Italy in her latter years. Master; Captain G Pollio. [General Carrier]


‘DOROTHY PALMER’ Built 1903. Steel five mast Schooner of 2872 Tons. Length; 294.6 ft. Breadth; 46.2 ft. Depth; 22.8 ft. Built by G Weldt at Waldboro, Maine USA. Reg. Boston. Master; Captain Harden then Captain J. Creighton. She was sold to the France and Canada Corporation and was re-registered in New York. She was originally a member of the ‘Palmer’ fleet and she was wrecked on the Massachusetts coast and was the last ship of that fleet to sail. She had a complement of only nine men due to her rig. [General Carrier]


‘DOVA RIO’ ex ‘Panmure’.


‘DOVENBY’ Built 1891. Steel barque of 1653 Tons. Length: 256 ft. Breadth: 38.1 ft. Depth: 22 ft. Built by Pickersgill for Peter Iredale. Reg. Liverpool HCQP. Master: Captain W. H. Dowman. This captain bought the well-known vessel ‘Cutty Sark’ and brought her back to life. [General Carrier]

‘DREADNOUGHT’ Built 1853. Wood ship of 1400 Tons. Length; 200 ft. Breadth; 40.25ft. Depth; 26 ft. Built for the ‘Red Cross’ line. Master: Captain Samuels. She was lost at Tierra del Fuego in 1869.[Cape Horner]


‘DR SIEGERT’ ex ‘Otaki’


‘DRUMBLAIR’ Built 1883. Iron four-mast barque of 1907 Tons. Length; 267.4 ft. Breadth; 40.2 ft. Depth; 24.1 ft. Built by Russell and Co for the ‘Drum’ line. She was sold and renamed ‘Cissie’ and ended her career when she was involved in a collision which sunk her on the 22nd of October 1915. [ General Carrier]

‘DRUMBURTON’ Built 1881. Iron four-mast ship of 1891 Tons. Length: 266.7 ft. Breadth: 40.2 ft. Depth: 23.9 ft. Built by Russell and Co for the ‘Drum’ line of Gillison, Chadwick. She was later sold to Captain John Barneson. She was wrecked at Point Pedro while in Ballast.[General Carrier]

‘DRUMCLIFFE’ Built 1887. Iron four-mast ship of 2525 Tons. Length; 311.3 ft. Breadth; 43.2 ft. Depth; 24.2 ft. Built by Russell and Co for Gillison, Chadwick of the ‘Drum’ line. She was later sold and renamed ‘Omega’.
[General Carrier]

‘DRUMCRAIG’ Built 1885. Iron four-mast barque of 1979 Tons. Length; 280.4 ft. Breadth; 41.1 ft. Depth; 23.5 ft. Built by the Barrow Shipping Company for the ‘Drum’ line. Master; Captain Barneson and she and her master and crew went missing on a voyage from Portland ,Oregon to Manilla in 1906. [General Carrier]


‘DRUMELTAN’ Built 1883. Iron four-mast barque of 1908 Tons. Length; 267.3 ft. Breadth; 40.3 ft. Depth; 24 ft. Built by Russell and Co for the ‘Drum’ line She was stranded in Tanega Sima, Japan on April 25th 1894. She was refloated and renamed ‘Margaret Overman’ after being bought by the Americans. She was sold again and renamed ‘Brooklyn’ in 1936. [General Carrier]

‘DRUMMUIR’ Built 1882. Iron four-mast barque of 1844 Tons. Length; 270.5 ft. Breadth; 39.2 ft. Depth; 24 ft. Built by W H Potter for the ‘Drum’ line. She was later sold to James Rolph of San Francisco. She was captured by the Germans during the First World War and scuttled.
[General Carrier]

‘DRUMPARK’ Built 1877. Iron ship of 1551 Tons. Length; 243.6 ft. Breadth; 37.9 ft. Depth; 22.6 ft. Built by W H Potter for the ‘Drum’ line. She was sold to the Genoese after a good long career and was broken up in 1918. [ General Carrier]

‘DUCHALBURN’ Built 1887. Steel four-mast barque of 2058 Tons. Length; 287 ft. Breadth; 42.5 ft. Depth; 24 ft. Built by Barclay, Curle for Shanklands ‘Burn’ line. Master: Captain T. Stephenson. She was the first of the ‘Jubilee’ rigs that had no Royal yards above Topgallants. She was sold to the Norwegians and renamed ‘Freden’ . She was again sold and renamed ‘Vestfjeld’ by the Norwegians.
[General Carrier]


‘DUCHESS OF EDINBURGH’ Built 1874. Iron ship of 1766 Tons. Length; 255.2 ft. Breadth; 40 ft. Depth; 23.5 ft. Built by Mounsey and Co for T Watson and Co. She was sold to German owners at Bremen and renamed ‘Gertrud’ before being broken up in 1910. [ General Carrier]


‘DUCHESS OF NORTHUMBERLAND’ Built 1834. Wood barque of 541 Tons. Length; app 138 ft. Breadth; app 31 ft. Depth; app 18 ft. Built at Sunderland. She was a convict vessel and general carrier of the mid 1800’s.Master; Charles Scott. Surgeon; William West on her first voyage [1843]. Her second voyage [1853] was under, Master; Captain George Mitchell. Surgeon; Charles Smith. She made the two voyages with convicts to Australia in A1 condition on the first trip and in AE1 condition in 1853. On her first voyage, she embarked 270 male convicts and departed from Sheerness on the 2nd of October 1842 and arrived at Hobart, Tasmania and landed 267 convicts having had three deaths en-route. Her second voyage was on the 28th November 1852 when she left Woolwich England and arrived at Hobart on the 21st April 1853. She departed with 219 female convicts and landed 216 convicts, again having three deaths aboard en-route. [Convict ship and General Carrier]


‘DUDHOPE’ Built 1894. Steel ship of 2087 Tons. Length; 271 ft. Breadth; 41.1 ft. Depth; 23.6 ft. Built by Connell for Barrie and Son of Dundee. She was sold to Thomas Shute before the First World War. Master; Captain Bright in 1913. She kept trading throughout the First World War but ran into trouble in July 1917 when she was sunk by a German submarine. [General Carrier]


‘DUKE OF ABERCORN’ Built 1869. Composite ship of 1050 Tons. Length: 212 ft. Breadth: 35.1 ft. Depth: 20.5 ft. Built by Connell for Montgomery. Launched in July 1869.[Tea Clipper]
‘DUKE OF NORFOLK’ Built 1825. Wood barque of 271 Tons. Built London, Owned by Shepherd. Registered; London. Master: Captain J. Silk. She was placed on the London-Port Phillip run and was still doing that service in 1852.

‘DUMBARTON ROCK’ Built 1890. Steel ship of 1716 Tons. Length; 260.7 ft. Breadth; 38.2 ft. Depth; 23 ft. Built by Russell and Co for Cornfoot and Co of the ‘Rock’ line. She was sold to Yule and Co of Calcutta in 1893. They in turn sold her to H. Burmeister of Hamburg and she was renamed ‘Lika’. She was again sold and renamed ‘Lyngo’ by the Norwegians who put her into the whaling fleet. She was again sold and renamed ‘Haminja’ in 1917 Master: Captain M. Gundersen. [General Carrier and Whaler]


‘DUMFRIESSHIRE’ Built 1877. Iron barque of 1262 Tons. Length; 226.7 ft. Breadth; 36.2 ft. Depth; 21.5 ft. Built by Russell for Colonel Goffey. Master; Captain Anthony Greig. She was sister ship to ‘Melanesia’. This ship created an embarrassing situation for her Captain and crew when in 1904; she stranded on a coral reef in New Caledonia. The captain and crew abandoned her and were picked up by a passing ship that took them to Noumea. After they had gone, the ‘Dumfriesshire’ refloated herself on the next high tide and slowly made her way along the coast until she drifted into a small bay where a settler boarded her and made her secure until he could contact the owners. There must have been hell to pay when the crew was brought to the table for the settler charged the owners high for salvage. When she arrived back with her owner, she was sold to Norway and renamed ‘Alfheim’. Master: Captain C. P. L. Mollerdemster. She was again sold and renamed ‘Maagen’ this time by the Danes. Reg. Denmark NVCW. 1922.
[General Carrier]


‘DUMFRIESSHIRE’ Built 1890. Steel four-mast barque of 2565 Tons. Length: 313.6 ft. Breadth: 42.1 ft. Depth: 24.2 ft. Built by Russell and Co for Leslie and Co. She was sold to the ‘Shire’ line of Glasgow and owned by Thomas Law and Co. Master; Captain McGibbon then Captain Swinton and finally Captain Furneaux. She was torpedoed in 1915 off the Smalls and sunk very quickly. [General Carrier]

‘DUNBAR’ Built 1853. Blackwall Frigate of 1321 Tons. Length: 201.0 ft. Breadth: 35 ft. Depth: 22.7 ft. Built by Laing of Sunderland for Duncan Dunbar and Co. Master: Captain Green. This vessel was good fast sailing ship and on her final voyage to Australia, beat three of her rivals out of sight, including the brand new ‘Duncan Dunbar’ that was on her maiden voyage. ‘Dunbar’ arrived off Sydney Heads on the 20th of August 1857, she sat offshore waiting for the weather to clear but for some reason, the captain ordered her in through the Heads. She made the mistake of keeping the South Head light on the starboard side and the ship took her head into the hollow in the cliffs, now known as the ‘Gap’ and the ship was totally wrecked. Only one man survived the disaster, a 23-year-old able seaman named James Johnson. This wreck is still remembered today on a plaque above the site. James Johnson went on to become a harbour man at Newcastle, New South Wales where he was involved in another wreck. [Passenger Liner]


‘DUNCAN DUNBAR’ Built 1857. Wood Blackwall Frigate of 1374 Tons. Length; 229.2 ft. Breadth; 36.3 ft. Depth; 21.5 ft. Built by Laing of Sunderland for Duncan Dunbar. This vessel was wrecked on the Rocas reef on the 7th October 1865. The Captain took one of the boats and went for help and all passengers and the ship ‘Onieda’ rescued crew. The captain was picked up by the American ship ‘Hayara’ and taken to Pernambuco where he solicited the help of the ‘Onieda’. All 117 people aboard were saved. Master; Captain Swanson [Passenger Liner]


‘DUNBAR CASTLE’. Built 1864. Wood Frigate of 925 Tons. Length; 182.7 ft. Breadth; 33.9 ft Depth; 21.5 ft. Built by Laing at Sunderland for Dunbar. Length of poop deck; 60 ft. Forecastle length; 40 ft. She was sold to Devitt and Moore for the Sydney trade. Master; Captain David B Corvasso. This captain put down a humorous ‘mutiny’ of women aboard this ship on one of her voyages, the women were upset with their Matron and were about to give her some treatment when the captain intervened and saved the day. The tale is told by W G Browning in the ‘Nautical Magazine’. ‘Dundar Castle’ was sold and renamed ‘Singapore’ by the new German owners of Bremen. She was registered at Rostock in 1899, when she finally
went to the Breakers. [Passenger Liner]


‘DUNBLANE’ Built 1878. Iron barque of 694 Tons. Length: 187.8 ft. Breadth: 31 ft. Depth: 18.5 ft. Built at Glasgow and later sold to J. J. Craig for his ‘Craig’ line of ships on the New Zealand run. She was again sold and broken up under the name ‘Joseph Craig’ in 1912 [General Carrier]

‘DUNCRAIG’ Built 1870. Iron barque of 699 Tons. Length: 188.5 ft. Breadth: 31 ft. Depth: 18.5 ft. Built by A McMillan at Dumbarton, Scotland . She was later sold to W. Maack of Rostock, Germany. Master; Captain Fretwurst in 1889-90.[General Carrier]


‘DUNDEE’ Built 1882. Iron four-mast ship of 1998 Tons. Length; 291.5 ft. Breadth; 43.2 ft. Depth; 23.5 ft. Built by W B Thompson for Captain C Barrie. He sailed and kept her in good condition until he sold her to Mattson of Mariehamn in 1907. They in turn sold her to the Italians who turned her into a motor ship.[General Carrier]


‘DUNDONALD’ Built 1891. Steel four-mast barque of 2205 Tons. Length; 284.2 ft. Breadth; 42 ft. Depth; 24.4 ft. Built by Workman and Co for Dixon and Sons. Master: Captain J. T. Thorburn. This ship was sold to Kerr, Newton and Co and was wrecked on Disappointment Island 180 miles south of New Zealand in March 1907. Twelve crew were lost the day she struck including the captain and his small son. The remainder made it to the island where the mate died of exposure. After a few days it was realised that they would starve if they did not try for Auckland Island where a depot of food for stranded castaways was supposed to be stored. The crew made a raft from the ships timbers and they left Disappointment Island on 31st July 1907 but they did not find the depot. They then returned from whence they had came and remained there until September 1907 when they again made the trip to Auckland Island. Here they spent another six months until rescued by the Steamship ‘Hinemoa’.[General Carrier]


‘DUNEDIN’ Built 1874. Iron ship of 1350 Tons. Length; 241 ft. Breadth; 36.1 ft. Depth; 20.9 ft. Built by Duncan for Henderson. She was one of six vessels built by Duncan for the same owner. She went missing in 1889.
[Passenger and General Carrier]


‘DUNNERDALE’ ex ‘Cholua’.


‘DUNFILLAN’ Built 1868. Iron ship of 853 Tons. Length: 199.4 ft. Breadth: 33.3 ft. Depth: 20.3 ft. Built by Aitken of Glasgow . Sold to the New Zealand Shipping Company and renamed ‘Mataura’ after being bark rigged for the frozen meat trade in New Zealand. She was again sold and renamed ‘Alida’ by the Norwegians. She was abandoned at sea in the Pacific on August 24th 1900. [Passenger ship and Meat Carrier]


‘DUNFERMLINE’ Built 1890. Steel four-mast barque of 2902 Tons. Length; 308.6 ft. Breadth; 45.2 ft. Depth; 25.1 ft. Built by Potter for McVicar, Marshall and Co. Master; Captain John Woodward. He was lost overboard on 28th November 1905 and her mate, David Bailie took command and brought her to Belfast, Ireland. She was later sold to the Vinnens of Germany and renamed ‘Carl Rudget Vinnen’ in 1911. She was again sold and renamed ‘Burrowa’ and she sailed under this name in her final years.[General Carrier]


‘DUNKELD’ Built 1863. Wood barque of 699 Tons. Length; 170 ft. Breadth; 30.3 ft. Depth; 19.3 ft. Built by Duthie of Aberdeen for Foley. Master; Captain Toms. She was lost with all hands between Newcastle, NSW and Melbourne, Victoria in June 1870.[ Tea Clipper and General Carrier]


‘DUNKELD’ Built 1877. Iron barque of 1035 Tons. Length; 219.4 ft. Breadth; 34 ft. Depth; 20 ft. Built by A McMillan at Dumbarton, Scotland. She was sold to O. R. Foreid of Grimstad, Norway and renamed ‘Grande’. She was again sold and renamed ‘Zaritza’.[General Carrier]


‘DUNKERQUE’ Built 1897. Steel four-mast barque of 3203 Tons. Length: 327.8 ft. Breadth: 45.6 ft. Depth: 25.5 ft. Built by Laporte for Ant Dom Bordes of France. Reg. Dunkirk. Master: Captain A Beaujean. [General Carrier]


‘DUNS LAW’ Built 1896. Steel barque of 1640 Tons. Length; 247 ft. Breadth; 37.5 ft. Depth; 22.6 ft. Built by Russell for Law. She was sold to Birrell for his ‘Shire’ line. Master: Captain Robert Greig then Captain John Nichol. She caught fire and burned at sea near Iquique, South America in November 1904. [General Carrier]


‘DUNSYRE’ Built 1891. Steel ship of 2149 Tons. Length; 277.8 ft. Breadth; 41.8 ft. Depth; 24.4 ft. Built by Hamilton for Potter Bros. Master; Captain Theodore Peters. This Sydney born Captain was 23 years old when he became a Master. She was bought by Robert Dollar of San Francisco and ended her career as a towing barge. [General Carrier]


‘DUNSTAFFNAGE’ Built 1892. Steel four-mast barque of 3317 Tons. Length: 327.8 ft. Breadth: 47.2 ft. Depth: 25.6 ft. Built by Potter for McVicar, Marshall for their ‘Palace’ line. Sold to the Vinnens of Germany and renamed ‘Magdalene Vinnen’ . She was broken up in the 1920’s. [General Carrier]


‘DUNTRUNE’ Built 1875. Iron ship of 1488 tons. Length; 245.2 ft. Breadth; 38.3 ft. Depth; 23 ft. Built by Stephen of Dundee for David Bruce and Co. Sister ship to the Australian passenger ship ‘Maulsden’. Master: Captain Rollo. He took her in 1888.[Passenger and General Carrier]


SS ‘DUNVEGAN CASTLE’.Steamship [General Carrier]


‘DURHAM’ Built 1864. Wood Frigate of 1686 Tons. Length: app 180 ft. Breadth: app 41 ft. Depth: app 28 ft. Built by Marshall, Pallion at the Blackwall yards. Owned by Marshall. Member of the Blackwall fleet and not to be confused with Wigram's iron ship ‘Durham’ built in 1874. [Passenger Ship]

‘DURISDEER’ ex ‘City of Lahore’ Wood barque of 989 Tons that was run aground at Stockton beach near Newcastle, NSW in 1895. [See ‘City of Lahore’]


‘DYVEKE’ ex ‘Pass of Killikrankie’

                                                           E

‘EAGLE’ Built 1850. Wood Brigantine of 188 Tons. Length: 90.2 ft. Breadth: 21.5 ft. Depth: 14.1 ft. Built at Whitehaven. Owned by Kennedy. Master: Captain Brown. Reg. Whitehaven.


‘EAGLE’ Built 1851. Wood Frigate of 1050 Tons. Length: 178 ft. Breadth: 34.8 ft. Depth: 21.9 ft. Built at St John and sold to the British firm of Gibbs, Bright. They sold her to J. Wilson and he registered her at Shields in 1873. She was a three decked ship of the old Frigate style. Master: Captain Francis Boyce then Captain Ramsay then Captain McMurphy. Captain Ramsay had her under the Wilson ownership. Reg. Liverpool. [Passenger Liner]


‘EAGLE’ Built 1859. Wood ship of 1715 Tons. Length: 202.0 ft. Breadth: 40.5 ft. Depth: 29.4 ft. Owned by C. Hill in 1875. Passenger ship on the London-Australian service.


‘EAGLE’ Built 1874. Wood Brigantine of 317 Tons. Length: 110.0 ft. Breadth: 24.5 ft. Depth: 13.0 ft. Built at Prince Edward Island for D. Davies and J. Owen by D. Davies. Reg. P. E. Island [Carnarvon] Master: Captain D. McRae. P. E. Island to Australia. [This vessel is probably the same ship that loaded a record lumber cargo out of Maryborough Qld.]


‘EARL OF BEACONSFIELD’ ex ‘Cuba’


‘EARL OF BALCARES’ Built 1815. Teak Frigate of 1417 Tons. Length; app 180 ft. Breadth; app 40 ft. Depth; app 30 ft. Built by the H. E. I. Company at their Bombay, India dockyard for themselves. She had a large ships company, which consisted of a Commander, six mates, a surgeon and his assistant. Six midshipmen a purser, bosun, gunner, carpenter, master at arms, armourer, butcher, baker, poulterer, and a caulker. A cooper, two stewards, two cooks, two bosuns mates, two gunners mates, two carpenters mates, one coopers mate and one caulkers mate. Six quartermasters, one sailmaker, seven officer’s servants and seventy-eight seamen made up the complement. Basil Lubbock in his ‘Blackwall Frigates’ gives these figures.

Joseph Somes bought the ‘Earl of Balcares’ on 17th September 1834 and he became India husband to the East India Company. She gave him many years’ service for the ten thousand seven hundred pounds paid for this nineteen-year-old vessel, which was a very large price at that time. She carried Two decks of guns and ended her days as a hulk on the West African coast. [East Indiaman and Passenger Liner]


‘EARL OF CHARLEMONT’ Built 1849 at St John, Quebec. Wood Frigate of 839 Tons. Owned by Magee and Co of Liverpool in 1852. She was bought by Magee and Co to work the Liverpool-Melbourne passenger service. Master; William Gardner. Chief Officer; Henry Cox. 2nd Officer; William Rea. Able seamen; John Kennedy, William Pritchard and James Wood. Surgeon: William Edward Crook. This surgeon brought his wife and one child to Melbourne by paying his own fare and giving his services on the voyage free in lieu of the fare for his wife and baby. [Passenger Liner]


‘EARL OF DERBY’ Built 1851. Wood Frigate of 999 Tons. Built at Quebec. Owned by Wearne and Co of St Ives. She was sold to Moore and Co of Liverpool and was placed on the Liverpool- Calcutta-Brisbane run. Master: Captain J. Hodge then Captain J. Smith then Captain E. Sleigh. She may have been the vessel that was reported in distress on the Donegal, Ireland coast in 1862.Liverpool-Port Adelaide service.


‘EARL OF DERBY’ Built 1852 at North Burns. Wood ship of 499 Tons. Owned by Stuart and Co. Master: Captain J. Smith. Reg. Liverpool. It is most likely that this ship is the ‘Earl of Derby’ that was reported in distress on the Irish coast. She was a local vessel and her voyages to the USA make her the more likely of the two same name ships.

‘EARL OF DUNMORE’ Built 1891. Steel four-mast barque of 2287 Tons. Length: 277.9 ft. Breadth: 42.1 ft. Depth: 24.2 ft. Built by Russell for J D Thompson of Glasgow. She was almost burned twice in her lifetime and was eventually sold to the Norwegians and renamed ‘Spartan’. Master: Captain H Gerner. He commanded her in 1917 when the Germans sank her in March 1917. [General Carrier]


‘EARL OF PEMBROKE’ Built 1764 at Whitby, Yorkshire. She is described in the Encyclopaedia Britannica as being a ‘rather homely looking Whitby Collier of 368 Tons and less than 98 ft long’. She was taken out of the Coal industry and re-fitted as an Adventurer. She was renamed ‘The Endeavour Barque’ as there was already an ‘Endeavour’ commissioned in the Royal Navy, this was the reason for her extended name. She was soon to outstrip the other ‘Endeavour’ in fame, for, since the time of her voyages, she has been spoken of as just the ‘Endeavour’. Her master was Captain James Cook of H. M. Royal Navy. She sailed from Whitby on the 26th of August 1768 to transport Astronomers to Tahiti to observe the transit of Venus across the Sun. Her complement was 71 crew, 12 marines and 11 officers and others. Cook recruited men of experience for the voyage, Robert Molyneux as Master and Richard Pickersgill as Masters mate. Third Lieutenant John Gore was in charge of the marines and Francis Wilkinson who was made masters mate en-route. The 2nd Lieutenant was Zachary Hicks and Surgeon William Monkhouse made up his close group of officials. Captain Cook’s wife probably had something to do with her 16-year-old cousin, Isaac Smith being given the post of able seaman. He must have behaved well, for he made it to midshipman before the end of the voyage and rose to the position of Rear Admiral in later years.
Once the Astronomical mission was achieved, ‘Endeavour’ continued her voyage of discovery in the southern latitudes and he completely charted the islands of New Zealand a job that took over 6 months to complete. He then sailed to the West and discovered the East Coast of Australia on the 19th of April 1770. He sailed along the coast northward and discovered the Great Barrier Reef, which he successfully navigated and then sailed into the Coral Sea and Torres Strait with only one grounding on the Barrier reef. Repairs were carried out near the present day town of Cooktown in northern Queensland. The ‘Endeavour’ sailed back to England and into history, she was probably hulked at her home port of Whitby or perhaps spent a few more years lugging coal to the Scandinavians. What ever became of her though is of little consequence, she has gone on to be one of the most well known vessels in colonial history. [Collier and Exploration vessel.]


‘EARL OF ZETLAND’ Built 1875. Iron ship of 1534 Tons. Length: 240.3 ft. Breadth: 38.4 ft. Depth: 22.7 ft. Built by McMillan at Dumbarton, Scotland. Owned by J McKenzie in 1881. Master: Captain J. Burns. Reg. 89541. Glasgow. [General Carrier]


‘EARMONT’ ex ‘Doldabarn Castle’.


‘EARNOCH’ Built 1877. Iron ship of 1255 tons. Length; 227.7 ft. Breadth; 35.7 ft. Depth; 21.5 ft. Built by Birrell at Dumbarton for J Shepherd and Co. Master; Captain Parson then Captain Yates. She was sold to the Norwegians and renamed ‘Sator’ .She was again sold and renamed ’Mariposa’ by the Argentinians. While under British ownership, she always had a crew that wore uniforms while on duty.[General Carrier]

‘EASTERN MONARCH’ Built 1856. Wood ship of 1844 Tons. Length: app 185 ft. Breadth: app 44 ft. Depth: app 27 ft. Built by Dundee for J. Somes. She was a very large East Indiaman that was burnt at Spithead in 1859. She was carrying troops at the time and all were saved except for a few men who were hospitalised through sickness.[East Indiaman and Troopship]

‘EASTERN MONARCH’ Built 1874. Iron ship of 1706 Tons. Length: 256.5 ft. Breadth: 40.3 ft. Depth: 23.5 ft. Built by Mounsey for the Royal Exchange Shipping Company. Very attractive passenger ship that operated in the Colonial trade. Master; Captain White and then Captain Oates.[General Carrier]


‘EASTERN STAR’ Built 1856. Wood ship of 1706 Tons. Length; 179.3 ft. Breadth; 36.3 ft. Depth; 23.6 ft. American built ship that was owned by T Emerson of Liverpool.[Passenger and General Carrier]

‘EAST INDIAN’ Built 1894. Steel barque of 1745 Tons. Length; 252.6 ft. Breadth; 39.1 ft. Depth; 22.5 ft. Built by R. Duncan and Co for Lang and Fulton. Built at Port Glasgow. Owned by East Indian Company [Lang and Fulton] in 1895.. Master: Captain T. Coath. Registered: Greenock, Scotland. She was later sold to the Germans and was renamed ‘Hans’. [General Carrier]


SS ‘EATON HALL’ Built 1870. Iron ship of 1779 Tons. Length; 257 ft. Breadth; 42 ft. Depth; 23.9 ft. Built by Royden for R Alexander. Master: Captain R. McLean. This vessel ended her career as a hulk in the Society islands.[General Carrier]


‘ECHO’ Built 1896. Wood four mast Brigantine of 708 Tons. Length: 183 ft. Breadth: 39.4 ft. Depth: 15 ft. Built by A. S. Simpson and Co at North Bend, Oregon USA. Owner; A S Simpson Lumber Company. Reg. San Francisco. Master: Captain S. Young 1910.
[Timber Drogue]


‘ECLIPSE’ Built 1902. Steel ship of 3090 Tons. Length: 326.8 ft. Breadth: 46.4 ft. Depth: 26.2 ft. Built by A Roger for the British American Oil Company. She was built on the Clyde and was the fastest sailor in that fleet. She was sold to the Germans and renamed ‘Egon’ and sailed for them until the First World War. She was interned in Mexico during the war and at wars end, Captain Dollar bought her and he renamed her ‘Janet Dollar’. She sailed her last voyage with lumber in 1924 and was then sold to the Chinese who ended her days as a hulk in a cement factory. [Oil Carrier]


‘EDENBALLYMORE’ Built 1890. Steel ship of 1740 Tons. Length: 260.6 ft. Breadth: 38.2 ft. Depth: 23 ft. Built by Russell of Glasgow for Thompson, Dickie and Co. She was sold to Lang and Fulton in 1902 and renamed ‘ ‘Edenmore’ Master: Captain C. Ratonis. She ended her days wrecked at Papa-Stronsay on 7-10-1907. [General Carrier]

‘EDENHOLME’ Built 1875. Iron barque of 794 Tons. Length: 201.8 ft. Breadth: 32.2 ft. Depth: 18.5 ft. Built by Bartram of Sunderland for the Hine Bros. Master: Captain Randall. She was an Australian passenger vessel that was wrecked on Hebe reef in 1907.[Passenger Liner]


‘EDENMORE’ ex ‘Edenballymore’


‘EDINBURGH’ Built 1825. Wood Frigate of 1325 Tons. Sister ship to the ‘Abercrombie Robinson’. She was an early emigrant ship.[Passenger ship]

‘EDINBURGH’ Built 1855, Iron Screw Steamer of 2197 Tons. Master: Captain Cummings. Owned by the G.L.N Y. Company of Glasgow. She was placed in the Liverpool-Calcutta trade.[Passenger Liner]


‘EDINBURGH’ Built 1872.Wood barque of 1572 Tons . Length: 212 ft. Breadth: 40 ft. Depth: 25 ft. Master: Captain Taylor. [General Carrier]


‘EDINBURGH’ Built 1883. Wood barque of 1318 Tons. Length: 203.5 ft. Breadth: 38.6 ft. Depth: 23.9 ft. Built by W. Harland of Quebec for J. Herron and Co. Reg. Quebec 85741 JCFN. Master: Captain J. Rousseau then Captain Boloue. [General Carrier]


‘EDINBURGH’ Built 1885. Iron ship of 1406 Tons. Length: 241.7 ft. Breadth: 38 ft. Depth: 21.5 ft. Built by Connell at Glasgow . Sold to Bramwell, Gardiner of Glasgow. Reg. Glasgow 90059. [General Carrier]

‘EDINBURGH CASTLE’ Built 1863. Iron barque of 627 Tons. Length: 175.5 ft. Breadth: 29.3 ft. Depth: 18.7 ft. Built by J.G. Lawrie of Glasgow. Owned by T. Skinner and Co in 1885. Registered. Port Glasgow.


‘EDINBURGHSHIRE’ Built 1884. Iron barque of 1277 Tons. Length: 238.3 ft. Breadth: 36.1 ft. Depth: 21 ft. Built by A Stephen and Co for the ‘Shire’ line. Sold to the Italians who renamed her ‘Sant Anna’. [General Carrier]

‘EDITH’ ex ‘Star of Persia’


‘EDITH JONES’ ex ‘Ednyfed’


‘EDITH WOLDEN’ ex ‘Ednyfed’


‘EDNYFED’ Built 1881. Iron ship of 1152 Tons. Length: 221 ft. Breadth: 35 ft. Depth: 21.3 ft. Built by W Doxford at Sunderland. She was sold to the Scandinavians who renamed her ‘Erna’ then resold to the Americans who renamed her ‘Edith Jones’ then sold and renamed ‘Edith Wolden’ then again sold and renamed ‘Oriol’ when owned by the Sipsey Barge Company in 1925.Master; Captain F. E. Dodge 1925. [General Carrier]


‘EDOR’ ex ‘Pass of Leny’


‘EDOUARD BUREAU’ ex ‘Wiscombe Park’


‘EDWIN FOX’ Built 1853. Wood ship of 892 Tons. Length; 144.8 ft. Breadth; 29.8ft. Depth: 23.6 ft. Built at Calcutta for the London-Cape Town-India service and owned by Duncan Dunbar in the early years. She was sold to Shaw-Saville for the New Zealand passenger trade after having brought one load of convicts to Western Australia. Master: Captain Joshua Ferguson. She sailed from Plymouth with her 280 male convicts on the 26th of August 1858, there were no deaths recorded aboard. [East Indiaman, Convict ship and Meat Carrier ] [See main register]


‘EFFENDI’ ex ‘Lalla Rookh’


‘EGON’ ex ‘Eclipse’


‘EILBEK’ ex ‘Moreton’


‘ELEANOR MARGARET’ ex ‘Mooltan’


‘ELBRIN’ ex Louden Hill’


‘ELECTRA’ Built 1866. Composite ship OF 668 Tons. Length; 176 ft. Breadth; 30.6 ft. Depth; 18 ft. Built by Hall of Aberdeen for Shaw-Saville. Master; Captain G Thompson. Reg. London 54709 JPBQ. Managed by John Parker and Son of London in 1869.[Passenger ship]



‘ELEKTRA’ Built 1868. Wood barque of 985 Tons. Length; 168 ft. Breadth; 34.89 ft. Depth; 21.9 ft. Built by Sampson and Co at East Boston. Bought by the Alaska Packers fleet in 1897. Reg. San Francisco. Master; Captain C Verry 1897.[Passenger ship and Fish Carrier]


‘ELFLEDA’ ex ‘Cupica’


‘ELGINSHIRE’ Built 1889. Steel four-mast barque of 2160 Tons. Length: 285 ft. Breadth: 40.5 ft. Depth: 24.7 ft. Built by Birrell for Laws ‘Shire’ line. Master: Captain Robert Greig then Captain J. G. Hannah then Captain David Stott then Captain Wright then Captain Dixon and finally Captain Roberts. She went to the ship breakers in 1922 after a good long career with many masters. [General Carrier]


‘ELIDA’ ex ‘City of Perth’


‘ELIZA MARY’ Built 1857. Wood two-mast schooner of 127 Tons. Length: 93.7 ft. Breadth: 20.6 ft. Depth: 12.1 ft. Built at Bristol, England. Owned by C. J. Fine of London. Schooner of the Blackbirder trades in Queensland. [Blackbirder]


‘EL KAHERA’ ex ‘Cape Finisterre’


‘ELLEN SIMSON’ Built 1847. Wood ‘Apple cheeked’ ship of 330 Tons. Built at Aberdeen, Scotland. Master: Captain Collier. She was owned by Adamson and was based in Melbourne She was wrecked at Cape Howe, Victoria on the 28th of May, 1866 with the loss of nine lives, there were only two survivors.[Coastal Trader]


‘ELLESMERE’ Built 1886. Iron four-mast barque of 2645 Tons. Length: 308 ft. Breadth: 45.2 ft. Depth: 24.7 ft. Built by Oswald at Southampton for Fisher and Sprout. She was sold to the Germans in the 1890’s and renamed ‘Shiffbek’ . She was bought by the Portuguese in 1915 and renamed ‘Santa Maria’.[General Carrier]


‘ELLISLAND’ Built 1884 at Southampton. Iron ship of 2355 Tons. Length: 302.3 ft. Breadth: 41.4 ft. Depth: 25.0 ft. Built by Oswald, Mordaunt for J. Houston. Master: Captain C. Roberts then Captain Whettem. Registered. Liverpool. She was lost in 1910 with the captain [Whettem] and his young wife both drowning.


‘ELLORA’ Built 1855. Iron barque of 1699 Tons. Length: 261.2 ft. Breadth: 36.2 ft. Depth: 25.8 ft. Built by J. Laird. She was sold to the Norwegians and owned by C. Wagle. Reg. Norway HTVD. [General Carrier]


‘ELLORA’ Built 1876. Iron barque of 1186 Tons. Length; 221.2 ft. Breadth; 35.1 ft. Depth; 21.2 ft. Built by Barclay, Curle for Foley and Co. Master; Captain Clayton. This captain died aboard ‘Ellora’ in 1887. She was a converted steamship that was put into the passenger trade.[General Carrier]


‘ELMHURST’ Built 1883. Iron ship of 1784 Tons. Length; 264.9 ft. Breadth; 39.8 ft. Depth; 23.4 ft. Built by Duncan at Port Glasgow. Owned by C. S. Caird of Greenock in 1890. Master; Captain J McKenzie. She was later sold to the ‘Loch’ line and was given the name ‘Loch Garve’ [General Carrier]


‘ELSA ORLANDER’ ex ‘Emmanuelle Accame’


‘ELSE’ ex ‘Isola’


‘ELVIRA; ex ‘Argonaut’


‘ELVIRA’ ex ‘Sovereign of the Seas’ [4]


‘EMERALD’ Built 1900. Wood twin screw steamer of 189 Tons. Length: 124 ft. Breadth: 25.2 ft. Depth: 7.4 ft. Built by W Reeks at Sydney NSW. Reg. Sydney NSW 19065. Australian coastal ferry that saw service in Queensland.[Passenger Ferry]


‘EMIGRANT’ Built 1845 at Quebec Wood ship of 753 Tons. Length; app 140 ft. Breadth; app 37 ft. Depth; app 21 ft. Colonial passenger ship of the Sydney trade. Master; Captain Kemp then Captain T. Watson. Catto and Son owned her. Reg. Liverpool. [Passenger ship]


‘EMIGRANT’ Built 1846. Wood ship of 594 Tons. Length; 131.6 ft. Breadth; 32.1 ft. Depth; 20.1 ft. Built at Bremen, Germany. Master; Captain J Wilson. She was bought by the British as a passenger ship to the colonies and then sold to Norway before being stranded in the river Avon. Reg. Norway. [Passenger ship]


‘EMILIE’ ex ‘British Ambassador’


‘EMMA’ Built 1850. Wood brig of 260 Tons. Length; 92.5 ft. Breadth; 24.4 ft. Depth; 17 ft. Owned by Dodds and Co. Master: Captain T Atkinson. Reg. Blyth. [Coastal Trader]


‘EMMANUELLE ACCAME’ Built 1868.Iron barque of 712 Tons. Length; 163.3 ft. Breadth; 34.4 ft. Depth; 21.5 ft. Built by Casanova and Co at Sestri Pomente for Emmanuelle Accame of Genoa. Master; Captain N Lavagna in 1881. She was sold and renamed ‘Svecia’, ‘Elsa Olander’ and ‘Ferm’ before being renamed ‘C B Pedersen’ under which name she became well known in the grain trade of Australia. The Swedes owned her for a good part of her career and used her as a training ship. She was finally rammed and sunk by the steamship ‘Aztec’ near the Azores in 1937. The end of a fine looking ship.[Grain Carrier]


‘EMPRESS OF THE SEAS’ Built 1864. Wood ship of 1243 Tons. Length; 189.8 ft. Breadth; 39.2 ft. Depth; 23.7 ft. Built by T. Hillyard of St John N B. Sold to S G Morris of Liverpool in 1866. Resold to James Baines in 1867 for the colonial trades and then resold to A Ferguson of Greenock in 1871. [Passenger Ship]


‘ENA’ Built 1900. Three mast wood schooner of 125 Tons. Length; 106 ft. Breadth; 20.3 ft. Depth; 8.5 ft. Built by W Ford of Sydney for Robinson and Norman. Reg. Sydney 112506. She was used as a naval store ship in New Guinea waters during the Second World War.
[Coastal trader and Storeship]


‘ENDEAVOUR BARQUE' ex ‘Earl of Pembroke’. Wood barque of 368 Tons. Built at Whitby? Length: 96 ft. Breadth: approx.22 ft Depth: approx. 14 ft. Captain Cook’s ship in which he discovered the East Coast of Australia. His official voyage was to observe the transit of Venus across the sun from the most favourable position available. After leaving England and sailing via the Cape of Good Hope [Africa], that mission was completed in the central Pacific Ocean. Cook then set sail west and discovered New Zealand and shortly after, on the 20th of April 1770, Cook sighted the East Coast of Australia.


‘ENDYMION’ ex ‘First Lancashire’


‘ENGLEHORN’ Built 1889. Steel four-mast barque of 2461 Tons. Length; 300.1 ft. Breadth; 42.8 ft. Depth; 24 ft. Built by the Whitehaven Ship Building Company. Sold to C E De Wolf and Co. Master; Captain Lovitt in 1890. Reg. Liverpool LMHD 96388. Master; Captain R Shimmin in 1897. This ship went missing on the 14th August 1915.[General Carrier]


‘ENRICA’ Italian brigantine that was rammed and sunk by ‘Samuel Plimsoll’ Built 1868. Wood Brigantine of 414 Tons Length; 133.2 ft. Breadth; 27.1 ft. Depth; 17.8 ft. Built at Fiume by Fille Schlaven. Owned by A.F. Lupis Fiume Co. Reg. Fiume, Austro-Hungary. Master: Captain A. Stangher. [General Carrier]


‘ENTERPRISE’ Built 1824. Wood ship of 470 Tons. She was the first ship of steam power to voyage between England and India. She took 113 days en-route and used steam for 64 of those days. [Passenger ship]


‘ERINS ISLE’ Built 1877. Wood ship of 1778 Tons. Length; 231.5 ft. Breadth; 40.2 ft. Depth; 25.3 ft. Built by McFee of St John NB. Sold to the British . Master; Captain R Dixon. Reg. Liverpool SVCR 72311. [General Carrier]


‘ERNA’ ex ‘Ednyfed’


‘ERNST’ ex ‘Grassendale’


‘ERROL’ ex ‘Carisbrook Castle’ [see ‘Carisbrook Castle’]


‘ERSKINE M PHELPS’ Built 1898. Steel ship of 2999 Tons. Length; 312.1 ft. Breadth; 45.2 ft. Depth; 25.6 ft. Built by A Sewall and Co at Bath, Maine for themselves. Master: Captain R. Graham in 1905. Registered; Bath, Maine.[Lumber Carrier]


‘E R STIRLING’ ex ‘Lord Wolseley’ Built 1883.


‘ESSEX’ Built 1839.Wood Blackwall Frigate of 776 Tons. Length; app 140.0 ft. Breadth; app 35.0 ft. Depth; app 22.0 ft. Built at the Blackwall yards for Wigram. Master: Captain J Martin then Captain E Foord. Reg. London. This ship should not be confused with the ‘Essex’ owned by Soames and Co at about the same time.

‘ESSEX’ Built 1862. Wood ship of 1042 Tons. Length; 197.5 ft. Breadth; 33.1 ft. Depth; 20.8 ft. Built London by Wigram for Wigram and Son. Reg. London. Master: Captain J. Attwood. London-Australia service. This vessel had iron beams and carried the greatest number of sails ever used on a tall ship. Her sails numbered over 60 and new names had to be found for the new sail types.[Passenger ship]
Sail Plan of the three mast ship ‘Essex’ Built 1862.
Foremast Forecourse: Stunsails [cont]
1.Topsail. 31. Upper Topgallant.
2.Royal. Mainmast, Maincourse:
3.Skysail. 32. Topsail.
4.Moonraker. 33. Topgallant.
5.Cloudscraper. 34. Royal.
6.Stargazer. 35. Skysail.
7.Storm Staysail. 36. Moonraker.
8.Topmast Staysail. 37. Cloudscraper.
9. Jib. 38. Stargazer.
10.Inner Jib. 39. Staysail.
11.Flying Jib. 40. Topmast Staysail.
12.Outer Jib. 41. Middle Staysail.
13.Outer Topmast Jib. 42. Topgallant Staysail.
14.Upper Topmast Jib. 43. Royal Staysail.
Bowsprit; 44. Upper Staysail.
15.Spritsail. Mizzen Mast:
16.Spritsail Topsail. 45. Square Crossjack Yard.
17.Sprit Outer Topsail. 46. Mizzen Topsail.
Stunsails; 47. Topgallant.
18. Common Lower. 48. Mizzen Royal.
19.Outer Lower. . 49. Skysail.
20.Common Topmast. 50. Moonraker.
21.Outer Topmast. 51. Driver.
22.Common Topgallant. 52. Ringtail.
23.Outer Topgallant. 53. Water Sail.
24.Royal Topgallant. 54. Gaff Topsail.
25.Lower Stunsail. 55. Upper Topsail.
26.Common Topmast. 56. Mizzen Staysail.
27.Outer Topmast. 57. Topmast Staysail.
28.Common Topgallant. 58. Royal Staysail.
29.Outer Topgallant. 59. Topmast Stunsail.
30.Royal Topgallant. 60. Topgallant Stunsail.
There were at least two or three other un-named sails used and it is believed that the total number carried was sixty three.


‘ESSEX’ Built 1863. Wood ship of 1255 Tons. Length; 208 ft. Breadth; 36.5 ft. Depth; 23.1 ft. Built at Sunderland, England. Owned by G. Marshall. Reg. London. Master: Captain J. Lash.
[Passenger ship]


‘ESTER’ ex ‘Castleholme’


‘ESTRELLA’ ex ‘Sierra Estrella’


‘ETHEL’ Built 1866. Composite barque of 556 Tons. Length; 164 ft. Breadth; 29.4 ft. Depth; 17.1 ft. Built by Pile of Sunderland for Fenwick and Co. Master; Captain A Rose. She was wrecked on Cape York Peninsula, South Australia in 1890-91.[General Carrier]

‘EUDORA’ Built 1888. Steel four-mast barque of 1992 Tons. Length: 287.2 ft. Breadth: 40.5 ft. Depth: 23.7 ft. Built by A Stephen and Co for themselves. Master: Captain A F Ogilvie. Then Captain L D Weston then Captain S. W. Crosby then Captain T. Atkinson. She was sold to Thomas Shute and ended her career on February 14th 1917 when she was sunk by a German submarine.[General Carrier]


‘EULOMENE’ Built 1891. Steel four-mast barque of 2725 Tons. Length: 310.5 ft. Breadth: 43 ft. Depth: 24.5 ft. Built by Mr R. Thompson and Co for Fernies ‘Omene’ line. She was originally built as a ship and converted to a bark as soon as she was placed under the Fernie house flag. She went missing with all hands while on a voyage from Bremerhaven to Newcastle, England. [General Carrier]


‘EUPHRATES’ Built 1821 at Scarborough. Wood ship of 557 Tons. Owned by Tindall and Co of London. Reg. Cadiz, Spain. Master: Captain G. Buckham. [General Carrier]


‘EUPHRATES’ Built 1834. Wood barque of 617 Tons. She was a British ship used in the tea trade. Master; Captain Patridge then Captain A Hannay. Owned by G Claus in 1852, he sold her to Jamican and Co for the Liverpool-Calcutta trade.[General Carrier]


‘EUPHROSYNE’ Built 1885. Steel ship of 1799 Tons. Length; 270.6 ft. Breadth; 40 ft. Depth; 23.4 ft. Built by R Duncan and Co . Master; Captain Thompson. She was sold to Norway in 1909 and was rammed and sunk by the steamer ‘Dallington’ in the English Channel on the 6th of October 1911. [General Carrier]


‘EURASIA’ Built 1885. Iron ship of 1825 Tons. Length; 262.3 ft. Breadth; 40.3 ft. Depth; 23.9 ft. Built by Russell for Goffey. Master; Captain W Parker then Captain D Hughes. She was sold to Genoa in 1909 and was sunk by the Germans in 1918.[General Carrier]


‘EUROPA’ Built 1851 at Quebec. Wood Frigate of 841 Tons. Owned by J Somes, he sold her to Cannon and Co of Liverpool Reg. Liverpool. Master: Captain J. Jones. She was burned in 1854.[Passenger Ship]



‘EUROPE’ Built 1833. Wood ship of 618 Tons. Master; Captain Marshall. She sailed the Liverpool-New York trade.[Passenger Ship]


‘EUROPE’ Built 1897. Steel four-mast barque of 2839 Tons. Length; 303.7 ft. Breadth; 41.9 ft. Depth; 23.8 ft. Built by Laporte at Rouen for Ant Dom Bordes. Reg. La Rochelle, France. JFLQ Master; Captain O Muller. The Germans sank her in 1917. [General Carrier]


‘EURYDICE’ Built 1865. Iron ship of 1152 Tons . Length; 205.2 ft. Breadth; 35.1 ft. Depth; 24.1 ft. Built by the Isle of Man Ship Building Company at Ramsey for themselves. The ‘Eurydice’ Ship Company owned her in 1885.Master: Captain J. Crangle. Registered; Liverpool JMFL. 29974 [General Carrier]


‘EURYDICE’ Built 1874. Iron ship of 1465 Tons. Length: 253.1 ft. Breadth: 38.2 ft. Depth: 22.8 ft. Built by Steele of Greenock for Baine and Johnson. Master: Captain A. Hinrichs. Sold to Norway and renamed ‘Maren’ She was still afloat in 1926.[General Carrier]



‘EUSEMERE’ Built 1890. Steel four-mast ship of 2512 Tons. Length; 303.7 ft. Breadth; 42.2 ft. Depth; 24.5 ft. Built by Williamson for Fisher, Sprott and Co. She was later sold to B Wenke of Hamburg and renamed ‘Pindos’ was wrecked at Coverack in February 1911. All her crew escaped safely as the ship ran ashore..[General Carrier]


‘EUTERPE’ Built 1865. Iron passenger ship of 1197 Tons. Length; 205.5 ft. Breadth; 35.2 ft. Depth; 23.4 ft. Built by Gibson and Co on the Isle of Man. She was placed on the Australian run and had ten successful years until she was sold to Shaw-Saville who placed her on the New Zealand run. In 1899, she was sold to the San Francisco firm of J. J. Moore. She was then sold to the Alaska Packers and renamed ‘Star of India’ Master: Captain Phillips then Captain Banks then Captain Swanson after she was sold to the Alaska Packers. Captain Christiansen finally took her while still sailing for the Alaska Packers until she was sold to the Zoological Society of San Diego for use as a marine natural history museum. She was still performing in the year 2000.[Passenger ship and Fish Carrier]


‘EVA MONTGOMERY’ Built 1901. Steel ship of 1944 Tons. Length; 267 ft. Breadth; 40.1 ft. Depth; 23.6 ft. Built by Hamilton and Co for Montgomery. She was a sister ship to ‘Ladye Doris’ was later bought by Rhederie Aktien Ges, Von of Hamburg. She was renamed ‘Orla’ and went missing on April 3rd 1912 after leaving Newcastle NSW with coal for Coquimbo, Sth America. Master: Captain G. Harrison then Captain H Doherty. [General Carrier]


‘EVERETT C GRIGGS’ ex ‘Lord Wolseley’


‘EVERSHAM ABBEY’ Built 1876. Iron ship of 1613 Tons. Length; 245.9 ft. Breadth; 40.3 ft. Depth; 23.4 ft. Built by Royden for J Poole and Co. Master; Captain F H Crotty then Captain H Barrow. Sistership to ‘Battle Abbey’ and is credited with having beaten the mighty ‘Thermopylae’ on a voyage from Melbourne to England. She went into the Jute trade between 1876 and 1895 and served well in that work. She was sold to Flugge of Hamburg in 1901 and was renamed ‘Antilope’. She was then sold to the Norwegians and renamed ‘Argo’ in 1905 before being sold to the Swedes and then to the Danes in 1925. [General Carrier]


‘EVERTSEN’ Built 1891. Steel barque of 1465 Tons. Length; 238.2 ft. Breadth; 37.5 ft. Depth; 21.4 ft. Built by Rijkee and Co at Rotterdam, Holland. Sold to the Peruvian government for use as a training ship in 1925. She was renamed ‘Tellus’ by them and ran under this name for a few more years.[General Carrier and Training Ship]


‘EXCELSIOR’ Built 1904. Wood steamer of 163 Tons. Length: 112.8 ft. Breadth: 23.8 ft. Depth: 7 ft. Built by John Dalgliesh of Hobart, Tasmania. Bought by the Queensland Government in June 1911 for use as a Harbour steamer. Reg. Brisbane. Sold to Sydney owners and went there in 1928, she was broken up in 1937. She was built at Huon in Tasmania. [Harbour Lighter]

                                                          F



‘FALCON’ Built 1824. Wood frigate built ship of 351 Tons. Length; app 145 ft. Breadth; app 37 ft. Depth; app 22 ft. Built by List of Wooton Creek near Cowes. The Earl of Yarborough who was Commodore of the Royal Yacht Squadron owned her. She mounted 22 guns and was bought by Jardine Matheson and Co who put her into the Opium trade in 1836. [Passenger ship]


‘FALIE’ ex ‘Hollands Trouw’ Built 1919 . Steel two-mast screw steamer of 213 Tons. Length; 109.7 ft. Breadth; 21.9 ft. Depth; 9.9 ft. Built by Richter of Maasluis, Holland. Reg. Port Adelaide 014751. This vessel came to Australia in c1921 and spent many years in work. She has been re-furbished as a tourist vessel and is still sailing in South Australian waters and is still based in Port Adelaide.[Coastal Steam ketch and tourist boat]

‘FALKIRK’ Built 1896. Steel barque of 1986 Tons. Length; 268 ft. Breadth; 40 ft. Depth; 23.2 ft. Built by Hamilton for Potter. She was later sold to Stewart of Glasgow. Master; Captain Stainton Clark. On January 12th 1924, ‘Falkirk’ She was dismasted by a freak sea that almost claimed her. but made it through though and with the aid of an ocean going tugboat, She got into port without sinking. After examination, she was deemed unfit for repair and she was sent to the ship breakers.[General Carrier]


‘FALKLAND’ Built 1889. Iron four-mast barque of 2804 Tons. Length; 317.8 ft. Breadth; 43.3 ft. Depth; 24.9 ft. Built by Potter for McVicar, Marshall of the ‘Palace’ line Master; Captain Gracie. This vessel capsized and sank off Bishop Rock in June 1901.[General Carrier]


‘FALKLANDBANK’ Built 1894. Steel ship of 1913 Tons. Length; 265 ft. Breadth; 39.1 ft. Depth; 23.2 ft. Built by T Mackie for Weir. This vessel carried both lower and topmasts that were single steel tubes. She was caught in a violent gale off the river Plate in November 1907 and went missing.[General Carrier]


‘FALLS OF AFTON’ Built 1882. Iron four-mast barque of 1899 Tons. Length; 276.7 ft. Breadth; 41 ft. Depth; 23.7 ft. Built by Russell for Wright, Graham and Co of the ‘Falls’ line. She was abandoned on her maiden voyage but was salvaged by the French who found her and towed her to Madiera. She was duly sold and renamed ‘Francisco Guisseppi’ She was again sold late in her life to Austria/Hungary and was given her old name back in1907.
[General Carrier]


‘FALLS OF CLYDE’ Built 1878. Iron four-mast ship of 1741 Tons. Length: 266.1 ft. Breadth: 40 ft. Depth: 23.5 ft. Built by Russell for the ‘Falls’ line. She was later sold to Captain Matson of Honolulu and he turned her into a bark. She was later bought by the Anglo American Oil Company and used as a kerosene carrier. She was then resold to General Petroleum for barge duties at Los Angeles, California. She was again sold, this time for a total refit and re-rig as a Museum ship in Hawaii.[Kerosene Carrier and Museum Ship]


‘FALLS OF DEE’ Built 1882. Iron four-mast barque of 1916 Tons. Length: 276.7 Tons. Breadth: 41 ft. Depth: 23.7 ft. Built by Russell and Co for the ‘falls’ line. She was sold to John Herron and Co and they sold her to the Norwegians in 1911. She was renamed ‘Teie’ by them and she was sunk by the Germans in May 1917.[General Carrier]


‘FALLS OF GARRY’ Built 1886. Iron four-mast barque of 2026 Tons. Length; 275.1 ft. Breadth; 41.6 ft. Depth; 23.9 ft. Built by Russell for the ‘Falls’ line. She was stranded on a reef at New Caledonia in 1898. She was quickly salvaged and bought by Mr. A Thompson of Noumea: N C. He bought her as a wreck with a Mr. Sheehy of Sydney NSW. They towed her to Sydney where Kopsen, Craig and Nicholl bought her. They repaired her and put her back into service. She was again sold, this time to Hatfield, Cameron and Co of Glasgow. She was sent to that port but on April 26th 1911, she went ashore on Quay Rock, Ireland and was a total wreck.[General Carrier]


‘FALLS OF HALLERDALE’ Built 1886. Iron four-mast barque of 2026 Tons. Length; 275.2 ft. Breadth; 41.6 ft. Depth; 23.9 ft. Built by Russell for the ‘Falls’ line. She went ashore on November 14th 1908 near Warnambool, Victoria. She was not a good or ‘lucky ship and due to crew mistakes, she went ashore with all her sails flying which made an impressive sight for the public ashore.
[General Carrier]


‘FASCADALE’ Built 1890. Steel four-mast barque of 2085 Tons. Length: 285.7 ft. Breadth: 41 ft. Depth: 23.7 ft. Built for Roxburgh. She was wrecked on the coast of Natal in the 1890,s and had a very short life, four of her crew were lost by drowning.[General Carrier]


‘FAVELL’ Built 1895. Steel barque of 1363 Tons. Length; 237.5 ft. Breadth; 36.2 ft. Depth; 21.3 ft. Built by Hill and Co for themselves at Bristol. She was sold to the Finns and used as a training ship by them until she made her last voyage in 1934, to the ship breakers.[General Carrier and Training ship]


‘FEARLESS’ Built 1876. Wood Schooner of 100 Tons. Length; 86.6 ft. Breadth; 21.2 ft. Depth; 8.7 ft. Built by G Coleson at River Clyde NSW. Reg. Maryborough Queensland in 1900. She was wrecked on San Cristobal Island in 1902. [Blackbirder]


‘FEHMARN’ ex ‘Arracan’


‘FENNIA’ ex ‘Champigny’


‘FERM’ ex ‘Emmanuelle Accame’


‘FERRIERA’ ex ‘Cutty Sark’


‘FIDELIA’ Built 1852. Wood ship of 969 Tons. Length; app 160 ft. Breadth; app36 ft. Depth; app 22 ft. Built by Webb at New York, USA. She was built for the Black Ball line. Master: Captain W G Furber. [Passenger Liner]


‘FIERY CROSS’ Built 1860. Wood ship of 695 Tons. Length; 185 ft. Breadth; 31.7 ft. Depth; 19.2 ft. Built by Chaloner of Liverpool for J Campbell. Master; Captain Dallas then Captain Richard Robinson. This vessel was the longest surviving Tea Clipper. She should not be confused with the ‘Fiery Cross’ that was wrecked in 1859. The vessel shown here was sold to the Norwegians in 1889-90. [ Tea Clipper and Passenger ship]


‘FIERY STAR’ ex ‘Comet’


‘FINDANA’ ex ‘Ladas’


‘FINGAL’ Built 1883. Steel four-mast barque of 2510 Tons. Length; 308.2 ft. Breadth; 42.8 ft. Depth; 25 ft. Built by Harland and Wolf for R Martin and Co. Sister ship to ‘Lord Wolseley’.[General Carrier]


‘FINLAND’ ex ‘King Arthur’


SS ‘FIONA’ Built 1883. Iron twin screw steamer of 414 Tons. Length; 211.1 ft. Breadth; 30.2 ft. Depth; 15.4 ft. Built by J. Reid and Co of Glasgow for the Colonial Sugar Refineries. Master: Captain W. A. Carphey. Engine; 180 Nhp. [Harbour vessel]

‘FIORELLA’ ex ‘Hyon’


‘FIORINO’ ex ‘Kinross-Shire’


’FIRST LANCASHIRE’ Built 1875. Iron ship of 1345 Tons. Length: 232.6 ft. Breadth: 40.1 ft. Depth: 22.6 ft. Built by Osbourne, Graham at Sunderland. Owned by Robert Mattson. Master; Captain A T Nyland in 1907 after having been sold to the Finns. She was first renamed ‘Endymion’ and then ‘Virgo’. She was registered at Mariehamn.[General Carrier]


‘FIRTH OF CLYDE’ Built 1882. Iron barque of 1242 Tons. Length; 228.1 ft, Breadth; 36.1 ft. Depth; 21.5 ft. Built by Dobie and Co of Glasgow for J Spencer and Co. Master; Captain W Smith. Reg. Glasgow 1884. She was sold to the Norwegians and by 1907 she was registered to Norway . Master; Captain A Nielsen.[General Carrier]


‘FISKJO’ ex ‘Hiawatha’


‘FITZJAMES’ Built 1902. Steel ship of 1951 Tons. Length; 267.1 FT. Breadth; 40.1 ft. Depth; 23.6 ft. Built by Montgomery for Hamilton. She was put straight into the Australian service. Master; Captain Fearon. She was sold to Laeitz and renamed ‘Pinnas’ under which name she became well known in the early part of the 1900’s. She was abandoned dismasted in 1929.[Grain Carrier]


‘FJELLTUN’ ex ‘Lake Superior’


‘FJORD’ ex ‘Leading Wind’


‘FLORA’ ex ‘Potosi’


‘FLORENCE’ Built 1877. Steel ship of 1684 Tons. Length; 223.1 ft. Breadth; 41 ft. Depth; 26 ft. Built by Goss and Sawyer for the Houghton Brothers. She was a good vessel that caused little trouble and proved a fast ship at times.[General Carrier]


‘FLORENCE STELLA’ ex ‘City of Sparta’


‘FLORENTIA’ Built 1821. Wood ship of 453 Tons. She was built at Newcastle-On-Tyne, Northumberland. She twice brought convicts to Australia, once in 1828 and then in 1830. Owned by Rutherford, she brought passengers to Adelaide, South Australia in 1849 and was chartered to take emigrants from England to Brisbane in 1853. Master; Captain C Tindall.[Convict Carrier and Passenger Ship]


‘FLYING CLOUD’ Built 1851. Wood ship of 1793 Tons. Length; 221.2 ft. Breadth; 40.2 ft. Depth; 21.3 ft. Built by Webb at Boston Mass. Owned by the Black Ball line. Master; Captain Josiah Perkins. She was an American ship that went onto the Australian run taking passengers to Brisbane, Queensland. Her master at that time was Captain Henry Kensitt. She was stranded on the coast of New Brunswick whilst en-route to St John in June 1873. She was gotten off and taken to the slips for repair but caught fire on the slips and was completely gutted. Owned by H Edwards in 1873, and was on the Brisbane run in the 1850’s and 1860’s. [Passenger Liner]


‘FLYING CLOUD’ ex ‘Buckingham’


‘FLYING FISH’ Built 1851. Wood ship of 1505 Tons. Length; 198.6 ft. Breadth; 27.1 ft. Depth; 22 ft. Built by Donald Mackay for Sampson and Tappan. Master; Captain Nickels.[Passenger Liner]



‘FOONGH SUEY’ Built 1888. Steel ship of 1048 Tons. Length; 214 ft. Breadth; 34.5 ft. Depth; 19.2 ft. Built by Napier, Shanks and Bell of Glasgow. Owned during her career by C Brewer. Master; Captain Josselyn then Captain Haydn. She was sold and renamed ‘Galena’ and was re-rigged as a Schooner before the First World War. She was attacked and sunk by a Submarine on June 25th 1917. [General Carrier]

‘FORCEFUL’ Built 1925. Steel Tugboat of 288 Tons. Length; 115.1 ft. Breadth; 27.1 ft. Depth; 13.3 ft. Built by A Stephen for Williams and Co. Registered; Brisbane Queensland 71018 KTNF. Engine; 188 Nhp.
[Tugboat]

‘FOREST HALL’ Built 1883. Iron ship of 1999 Tons. Length; 276.6 ft. Breadth; 40.1 ft. Depth; 24.2 ft. Built by Potter for W Herron.[General Carrier]

‘FOREST FRIEND’ Built 1919. Wood five-mast barquentine of 1615 Tons. Length; 243.3 ft. Breadth; 44.4 ft. Depth; 19.2 ft. Built by Grays Harbour Motor ship Company for the American lumber trade. Master; Captain D Murchison. Registered. Seattle USA 01562 LVGK. She was one of three or four vessels tagged with the ‘Forest’ name, all traded in the timber industry. [Timber Drogue]


‘FORFARSHIRE’ Built 1867. Iron ship of 1238 Tons. Length; 210.9 ft. Breadth; 37.1 ft. Depth; 22.1 ft. Built by Morrison of Sunderland . She was bought by Shaw-Saville in 1880 for the New Zealand trade. Registered. Southampton, England. [General Carrier and Passenger ship]


‘FORFARSHIRE’ Built 1885. Iron barque of 1354 Tons. Length; 239.6 ft. Breadth; 36 ft. Depth; 21.5 ft. Built by Birrell, Stenhouse for T Law. This vessel had a very bad collision with the Dutch steamship ‘Scheldstrom’. She drove herself into the side of the steamer and the Dutch captain ordered a boat away with some of his crew. The boat was swamped and the skipper and his men drowned. The mate of the Dutchman managed to run the steamer aground before she could sink and no further lives were lost. The ‘Forfarshire’ was later sold to the Norwegians and renamed ‘Alexandra’ in 1922.[General Carrier]


‘FORMICA’ ex ‘Greta’


‘FORMOSA’ Built 1852. Wood ship of 450 Tons. Length; app 170 ft. Breadth; app 36 ft. Depth; app 21 ft. Built at Sunderland and owned and sailed by Captain H Sawell. Registered; London and sailed London –Australia in 1855.[Passenger Liner]


‘FORMOSA’ Built 1875. Iron barque of 915 Tons. Length; 201.6 ft. Breadth; 32.8 ft. Depth; 19.7 ft. Built by McMillan at Dumbarton for Flynn, Main and Montgomery. Master; Captain P Hyland in 1881.She went aground in 1909 and was refloated in 1910.[General Carrier]


‘FORTEVIOT’ Built 1891. Steel four-mast schooner of 3145 Tons. Length; 317.3 ft. Breadth; 46 ft. Depth; 25.2 ft. Built by Potter for McVicar, Marshall. Master; Captain J.N Jackson then Captain A.F Gilmore then Captain W.R Kidd in 1900 followed by Captain J Finlay in the same year. She was then sold to the Vinnens of Germany and renamed ‘Werner Vinnen’. She was then resold and renamed ‘Bellands’ then ‘Yawry’ .[General Carrier]


‘FORTH’ Built 1894. Steel ship of 1829 Tons. Length; 270.7 ft. Breadth; 39 ft. Depth; 22.5 . Built by Connell and Co of Glasgow. Owned by J Nourse. Registered; London 102871. Master; Captain W Kydd.[General Carrier]


‘FORTHBANK’ ex ‘Nebo’


‘FORT LARAMIE’ Built 1919. Wood six-mast schooner of 2240 Tons. Length; 266.5 ft. Breadth; 46 ft. Depth; 24.1 ft. Built by Kruse and Banks of North Bend, Oregon USA. Owned by Charles Nelson and Co. Registered; San Francisco 01567 MBRN.[Timber Drogue]


‘FORTUNA’ ex ‘Melbourne’


‘FOZ DO ORO’ ex ‘Star of Greenland’


‘FRANCE’ Built 1890. Steel five-mast barque of 3784 Tons. Length; 361 ft. Breadth; 48.8 ft. Depth; 24.1 ft. Built by Henderson and Pat Partick for A Bordes of France. This vessel was one of the great ships built before the turn of the century, she was last seen on her beam-ends in May 1901 and she disappeared after this sighting.
[General Carrier]


‘FRANCE’ 2. Built 1912. Steel ship of 5633 Tons. Length; 418.8 ft. Breadth; 55.8 ft. Depth; 24.9 ft. Built by C. H and A.T De La Gironde of Bordeaux, France. She was wrecked on a coral reef at Coya near Noumea in the South Pacific and was abandoned to rust herself away. [General Carrier]


‘FRANCISCO’ ex ‘Falls of Afton’


‘FREMAD 1’ ex ‘Albuera’


‘FRIEDA’ ex ‘County of Edinburgh’


‘FREDEN’ ex ‘Duchalburn’


‘FREDERICK BILLINGS’ Built 1885. Wood four-mast barque of 2628 Tons. Length; 281.7 ft. Breadth; 44.8 ft. Depth; 28.8 ft. Built by Rockport, Maine and Company for S.D and C.J Carleton. She was well known as a Cape Horn vessel in the 1890’s. Master; Captain Sherman then Captain H.A Williams. She was burned to the waterline about 1896.[General Carrier]


‘FRONTIER TOWN’ Built 1898. Steel steamer of 294 Tons. Length: 142.5 ft. Breadth: 21.3 ft. Depth: 10.4 ft. Built by J. Fullerton for J. Little and Co. Master: Captain J. Benson. She was sold and renamed ‘River Lune’. [General Carrier]


‘FULWOOD’ Built 1885. Iron ship of 2170 Tons. Length; 279 ft. Breadth; 40.2 . Depth; 24.4 ft. Built by Oswald, Mordaunt. She was sold to German owners and hulked at Hamburg in July 1910. She went off the register in 1919.[General Carrier]

                                                       G                
‘GAINSBOROUGH’ Built 1866.Wood ship of 1012 Tons. Length; 206 ft. Breadth; 31.4 ft. Depth; 20.4 ft. Built by C Lungley for the Merchant Shipping Company. She was sold to S C Allen of Honolulu and then resold in 1910 to Barneson, Hibberd and Co. They renamed her ‘Diamond Head’ and sent her into the oil trade.[General goods and Oil carrier]

HMS ‘GALATEA’ Training ship c1860.

‘GALATEA’ Built 1884. Iron ship of 1694 Tons. Length: 265 ft. Breadth: 42.6 ft. Depth: 24.2 ft. Built by Duncan and Co at Port Glasgow. Sold to C. S. Caird of Greenock. Registered. Greenock JLDS 87407.[General Carrier]


‘GALGATE ‘Built 1883. Steel four-mast ship of 2356 Tons. Length: 293.5 ft. Breadth: 39.7 ft. Depth: 24.2 ft. Built at Whitehaven shipyards for J. Joyce. A German submarine sank her in 1916. [General Carrier]


‘GALENA’ ex ‘Foongh Suey’


‘GANTOCK ROCK’ ex ‘Macleod’


‘GARFIELD’ Built 1882. Steel ship of 2290 Tons. Length; 299.8 ft. Breadth; 38.3 ft. Depth; 22.5 ft. Built by Harland and Wolf for Ismay and Imrie and Co. She was abandoned while on fire with a coal cargo on the 5th October 1895. She was found and towed into Valparaiso, Chile where she lay burnt out for many years.[General Carrier]


‘GARNET HILL’ Built 1890. Steel four-mast barque of 2272 Tons. Length; 279 ft. Breadth; 41.9 ft. Depth; 24.4 ft. Built by Russell at Port Glasgow. Master; Captain R. Lundquist after being sold to A.Troberg of Mariehamm in 1015. Registered. Mariehamm, Finland. [General Carrier]


‘GARTHNEILL’ ex ‘Inverneill’


‘GARTHGARRY’ ex ‘Invergarry’


‘GARTHFORCE’ ex ‘Celtic Glen’


‘GARTHPOOL’ ex ‘Juteopolis’


‘GARTHSNAID’ ex ‘Inversnaid’


‘GARTHWRAY’ ex ‘Wray Castle’


‘GASPARE’ ex ‘Knight of the Garter’


‘GATHERER’ Built 1874. Iron ship of 1509 Tons. Length; 208.1 ft. Breadth; 40.2 ft. Depth; 24.2 ft. Built at Bath. Owned by W. A. Rust in 1889. [General Carrier]


‘GAUNTLET’ Built 1853. Iron ship of 693 Tons. Length; 189.5 ft. Breadth; 29.8 ft. Depth; 19.1 ft. Built at Dumbarton and was one of the early Iron clippers. She raced and was beaten by ‘Sovereign of the Seas’ not long after she was built. She was a good steady sailor though for she was still going strong 30 years after she was launched. She was owned by J. H. Harper in 1881 and was driven by her master, Captain B. Lucas. She was sold to G. Paulsen and Co of Elsfieth, Germany under the name ‘Argo’ in 1883. [Passenger Ship]


‘GAVERONE FRATELLI’ ex ‘Crown of Scotland’


‘GENERAL FAIRCHILD’ Built 1874. Wood ship of 1428 Tons. Length; 203.4 ft. Breadth; 38.8 ft. Depth; 24.3 ft. Built by Briggs and Cushing of the USA. Owned by W. E. Mitchell in the 1880’s. [Passenger Ship and General Carrier]


‘GENERAL GORDON’ Built 1886. Iron four-mast ship of 1690 Tons. Length: 258. ft. Breadth: 38.8 ft. Depth: 22.7 ft. Built by R. J. Evans. She was bought by L. Davies and Co and was owned by them in 1905. [General Carrier]


‘GENERAL MACHREDACHIS’ ex ‘General Serret’


‘GENERAL NEUMAYER’ Built 1897. Steel three-mast barque of 1858 Tons. Length; 263.3 ft. Breadth; 36.7 ft. Depth; 21.4 ft. Built by La Porte at Rouen, France for N. Guillon. She was sold to Bordes and he resold her in 1923.[General Carrier]


‘GENERAL ROBERTS’ Built 1884. Iron four-mast ship of 1914 Tons. Length: 274.9 ft. Breadth: 40.2 ft. Depth: 24.2 ft. Built by Russell for L. Davies. Master: Captain Fearon. She was sold to the Norwegians and renamed ‘Hafrsfjord’.[General Carrier]


‘GENERAL SERRETT’ Built 1918. Steel five mast Auxiliary schooner of 2117 Tons. Length; 259.6 ft. Breadth; 45.5 FT. Depth; 22.5 ft. Built by the Foundation Ship Building Company of Portland, Oregon USA. She was sold to the French Government and renamed ‘General Machredachis’ then she was resold and reverted to her original name. She was sold to the Norwegians and renamed ‘Gloria’ in 1924.[Timber Drogue and General Carrier]


‘GEORGE ROPER’ Built 1883. Steel four-mast barque of 2200 Tons. Length; app 270 ft. Breadth; app 40 ft. Depth; app 23 ft. Built by Potter for Corsars ‘Flying Horse’ line. She was wrecked on her maiden voyage at Point Lonsdale, Victoria in July 1883.[General Carrier]


‘GEORGE THOMPSON ’ Built 1865. Wood ship of 1128 Tons. Length; app 170 ft. Breadth; app 36 ft. Depth; app 22 ft. Built for the ‘White Star’ line and was sold to Nicol of Aberdeen who then sold her to J.Bamfield of Sydney NSW. She was finally bought by the Chileans and was wrecked at Carlemu on the 13th of June 1902. She was a very well known passenger liner on the Australian run.[Passenger Ship]


‘GEORGE W ELZEY’ ex ‘George W Truitt’


‘GEORGE W TRUITT’ Built 1902. Wood four-mast schooner of 698 Tons. Length; 186 ft. Breadth; 36.3 ft. Depth; 14 ft. Built by Kelley, Spear. Registered at Le Have, France KSMP. She was run into and sunk by the American Coast Guard cutter, ‘Accent’ on the 23rd of February 1932 after being sold and renamed ‘George W Elsie’. [General Carrier]


‘GERMAINE’ ex ‘Ville Du Belfort’.


‘GERTRUD’ ex ‘Duchess of Edinburgh’


‘’GERMOT’ ex ‘Rolf’ ex ‘Tweedsdale’


‘GERS’ ex ‘Strathdon’


‘GILCRUIX’ Built 1886. Iron four-mast ship of 2304 Tons. Length: 289.3 ft. Breadth: 42 ft. Depth: 24.3 ft. Built by Whitehaven Ship building Company. Owned by northwestern Shipping Company, 1895. Master: Captain G. M. Dixon. Sold to Knohr and Burchard of Hamburg and renamed ‘Barmbek’ by them in 1907.She sailed on into the First World War when she was captured and taken to Brest as a prize in 1915.Registered. Hamburg RKFS. [General Carrier]


‘GILPIN’ Built 1869. Wood two-mast brig of 187 Tons. Length; 100.2 ft. Breadth; 25.9 ft. Depth; 12.7 ft. Owned by Nicholson Brothers of Swansea in 1881. Master; Captain E Belding .She was built at Prince Edward Island by Richards and Co.[Coastal trader]


‘GIOVANNA B’ ex ‘Loch Cree’


‘GIPSY’ ex ‘Rodney’


‘GLADSTONE’ Built 1873. Composite ship of 1159 Tons. Length: 248.2 ft. Breadth: 34.2 ft. Depth: 20.9 ft. Built by McMillan and Co for F. H. Dangar. She was a passenger clipper on the Australian run. Master: Captain J. Jackson. [Passenger Ship]


‘GLAUCUS’ Built 1889. Steel four-mast ship of 2056 Tons. Length: 278.7 ft. Breadth: 41.1 ft. Depth: 24.2 ft. Built by Barclay, Curle and Co for Carmichael. Launched in March 1889 and was bought by the French company, Ant Dom Bordes Et Fils. She was renamed ‘Almendral’ by them and she was placed in the Nitrate trade. Master; Captain Cook and then Captain Bennett.[Nitrate Clipper]


‘GLENALVON’ Built 1888. Iron ship of 2146 Tons. Length; 280.6 ft. Breadth; 42.1 ft. Depth; 24.2 ft. Built by Russell for De Wolf. Master; Captain King then Captain Jones and then Captain Andrews. She was sunk by a steam trawler while awaiting a pilot at Rotterdam on March 12th 1913.[General Carrier]


‘GLENARD’ Built 1893. Steel ship of 1937 Tons. Length; 265.5 ft. Breadth; 40.1 ft. Depth; 22.9 ft. Built by Roger and Co for Sterling. She was sold to the Finns for use as a training ship late in her life.[General Carrier and Training Ship]


‘GLENBURN’ Built 1876. Iron ship of 1476 Tons. Length; 248.3 ft. Breadth; 37.2 ft. Depth; 23.1 ft. Built by Barclay, Curle and Co . Master: Captain J. S. Davidson. She went missing in 1905. [General Carrier]


‘GLENCAIRD’ Built 1889. Steel four-mast barque of 2614 Tons. Length; 312.8 ft. Breadth; 41.9 ft. Depth; 24.5 ft. Built by Russell for Corsar and the ‘Flying Horse’ line. She was lost on Staten Island while sailing through Le Maire Straits in October 1907.[General Carrier]


‘GLENCAIRN’ Built 1878. Iron four-mast barque of 1619 Tons. Length; 252.4 ft. Breadth; 40 ft. Depth; 22.4 ft. Built by Dobie for J and A Allen. She was later sold to the ‘Shire’ line. Master; Captain Tannock then Captain John Nichol. Captain Nichol saved both his crew and his family from death by the great experience he had as a seaman. His ship stranded and after a goodly struggle, all were saved. Captain Nichol drove his ships and lost a few in his time.[General Carrier]


‘GLENDOON’ Built 1894. Steel ship of 1981 Tons. Length; 266.3 ft. Breadth; 40.1 ft. Depth; 23.1 ft. Built by Roger for Sterling. She was sold to the Anglo American Oil Company to complete her career.[General Carrier]


‘GLENESK’ Built 1889. Steel barque of 1369 Tons. Length; 231.8 ft. Breadth; 36.1 ft. Depth; 21.7 ft. Built by Russell for W.O Taylor and Co. She was a long lived and smart ship and was still going up until the first world war.[General Carrier]


‘GLENESSELIN’ Built 1885. Iron ship of 1743 Tons. Length; 260 ft. Breadth; 39.2 ft. Depth; 23.4 ft. Built by Royden for De Wolf. Master: Captain J. Firth then Captain T. B. Pritchard the Captain Williams. She was lost when she went ashore near the Columbia River, Oregon, she was under full sail at the time.[General Carrier and Timber Drogue]


‘GLENFARG’ ex ‘Thecla’


‘GLENGARRY’ Built 1873. Iron ship of 1769 Tons. Length; 257.4 ft. Breadth; 41.9 ft. Depth; 23.9 ft. Built by Royden for Alexander and Scott. Master; Captain T.H.S Millard then Captain Lyall then Captain J.E Wood followed by Captain Campbell, Captain Lindsay and finally Captain Barrow who took her in 1913. She was a ‘near miss’ ship that narrowly avoided hitting a Leyland Brother’s steamer when being launched and after a rugged career, she went over on her beam-ends in a cyclone near Calcutta. She did not sink and she was towed into that port but after inspection, it was decided that she be broken up.[General Carrier]


‘GLENLORA’ Built 1864. Iron barque of 764 Tons. Length; 190 ft. Breadth; 31 ft. Depth; 18.5 ft. Built by T Vernon and Sons of Liverpool. Master; Captain Scotland in 1881. She was owned by Shaw-Saville.[Passenger Ship]



‘GLENMARK’ Built 1890. Steel barque of 1257 Tons. Length; 231.8 ft. Breadth; 36.1 ft. Depth; 21.7 ft. Built by Russell for W.O Taylor and Co. She was a sister ship to ‘Glenesk’.[General Carrier]



‘GLEN SANNOX’ Built 1869. Iron ship of 1581 Tons. Length; 246 ft. Breadth; 40.3 ft. Depth; 23.8 ft. Built by Royden. She was sold to the British Ship Owners Company and was renamed ‘British King’ .


‘GLIMPT’ ex ‘Myrtle Holme’



‘GLORIA’ ex ‘General Serrett’


‘GLORY OF THE SEAS’ Built 1869. Wood clipper of 2103 Tons. Length; 240.2 ft. Breadth; 44.1 ft. Depth; 28.3 ft. Built by Donald Mackay for J Henry and Sears. Master; Captain Gist then Captain Chatfield followed by Captain Josiah N Knowles then Captain McLaughlin and finally Captain Joshua S Freeman.
She was sold to the Alaska Packers Association and became a cannery ship in her later years. She was again sold in 1913 and the Glacier Fish Company became her new owners at Tacoma USA. She was turned into a freezer barge at that time. After a few halfhearted attempts to make her a museum ship, her owners burned her on a beach near Seattle, in 1922. [Passenger Liner and Cannery Ship]


’G MAZZINI’ ex ‘Cockermouth’


‘GODIVA’ Built 1882. Iron ship of 2059 Tons. Length; 269 ft. Breadth; 41.6 ft. Depth; 24.3 ft. Built by Royden at Liverpool. Owned by Sandbach, Tinne and Co of Liverpool. Master; Captain H Trunks.[General Carrier]


‘GOLDBEK’ ex ‘Miltonburn’


‘GOGOBURN’ Built 1882. Iron barque of 1080 Tons. Length; 217 ft. Breadth; 34.2 ft. Depth; 20 ft. Built by Birrell, Stenhouse for M Carswell. Master; Captain R Braddon. She was sold to Genoa and renamed ‘Alfredo’ . She was resold to Spain in 1922.[General Carrier]



‘GOLDEN FLEECE’ Built 1869. Iron ship of 1257 Tons. Length; 229.3 ft. Breadth; 36.8 ft. Depth; 22.3 ft. Built by Barclay, Curle for Carmichael. Master; Captain Fife then Captain Brown. She stranded on Fly Island in 1885.
[Passenger and General Carrier]


‘GOLDEN GATE’ ex ‘Lord Shaftesbury’


‘GOLDEN HORN’ Built 1883. Iron four-mast barque of 1842 Tons. Length; 268.6 ft. Breadth; 40.2 ft. Depth; 23.7 ft. Built by Russell for De Wolf. She was wrecked on Santa Rosa Island on September 12th 1892. [General Carrier]


‘GOLDEN LAND’ Built 1863. Wood ship of 817 Tons. She ran in the Queensland trade from 1863 to 1865.
[Passenger Ship]


‘GOLDEN LIGHT’ Built 1853. Wood ship of 1051 Tons. Length; 185.1 ft. Breadth; 37.7 ft. Depth; 22.2 ft. She was built at Nth Burns. Owners: Vaughan and Co. Registered. Liverpool. She was, like most of the other vessels with the name ‘Golden’, used in the Australian gold rush days.[Passenger Ship and Downeaster]Np


‘GOLDEN LIGHT’ Built 1864. Wood schooner of 120 Tons. Length; 89 ft. Breadth; 21.5 ft. Depth; 11.3 ft. Built at Truro by Martin for Calf. Registered; Penzance.
[Coastal Trader]


‘GOLDEN STATE’ ex ‘William F Garms’


‘GOODRICH’ ex ‘Champigny’


‘GOSTWYK’ Built 1904. Steel barque of 1827 Tons. Length: 262 ft. Breadth: 39.2 ft. Depth: 23 ft. Built by McMillan and Sons for Nicol and Co. George Milne and Co bought her from Nicol in 1906 after they had lost one of their own ships [‘Inverlyon’] in a collision. They renamed her ‘Inverlyon’II after the ship they had lost in collision with the bark ‘Khorosan’ in January, 1904. She was eventually was lost in 1918 when a German submarine sent her to the bottom. She was a very large three mast ship that is seen in a photograph with a much smaller ship from an earlier age.
[General Carrier]


SS ‘GRACE DARLING’ Built 1907. Steel screw steamer of 622 Tons. Length; 175 ft. Breadth; 27 ft. Depth; 12.8 ft. Built by Van Vliet at Hardinxveld Holland, for J Darling and Sons. Registered; Port Adelaide. Engine; 90 Nhp. She was eventually hulked and then taken to the North Arm graveyard of ships on the mudflats of the Port River at Port Adelaide, South Australia. She sits there today, rusting away[Passenger and General Carrier]


‘GRACE HARWAR’ Built 1889. Steel ship of 1877 Tons. Length; 266.7 ft. Breadth; 39.1 ft. Depth; 23.5 ft. Built by Hamilton for Montgomery of London. Master: Captain B Hunt then Captain J.G Briscoe then Captain C Frazer and finally Captain T.C Fearon. [General Carrier]


‘GRACIOSA’ ex ‘’Magretha’ ex ‘Strathgryffe’


‘Grand Duchess Maria Nicolaevna’ ex ‘Hesperus’


‘GRANDE’ ex ‘Dunkeld’


‘GRANITE STATE II’ Built 1877. Wood ship of 1684 Tons. Length; 228.9 ft. Breadth; 41.4 ft. Depth; 24 ft. Built by J Neal of Kittery for W Ross. This vessel went ashore on the Cornish coast in 1895.[Passenger and General Carrier]


‘GRASSENDALE’ Built 1885. Iron ship of 1860 Tons. Length; 267 ft. Breadth; 39.1 ft. Depth; 23.6 ft. Built by R Williamson for R.W Leyland and Co. She was sold to G Granlund of Finland June 1900 and was renamed ‘Imperator Alexander II’ . She was then resold in 1910 to the Swedes and they renamed her ‘Ernst’. She got herself into the Hertha Flack minefield in 1920 and was lost.[General Carrier]


‘GREAT ADMIRAL’ Built 1869. Iron ship of 1576 Tons. Length; 214.2 ft. Breadth; 40.3 ft. Depth; 25.3 ft. Built by R.E Jackson for W.F Weld of the Black Horse line. Master; Captain Isaac N Nelson then Captain William Chatfield then Captain Benjamin Thompson Followed by Captain James F Rowell and then finally Captain E Sterling who bought her and took her into the Pacific lumber trade in 1897. She went over on her beam-ends during a storm in December 1907. Her captain, his mate and his mate’s wife were saved along with most of her crew when the ship ‘Barcore’ arrived on the scene. ‘Barcore’ had also been on her beam-ends but she had righted herself, enabling the rescue. It was only the Timber cargo that kept ‘Great Admiral afloat long enough for the crew to be saved. The Cook and a cabin boy were the only losses. [Passenger Ship and Timber Drogue]


‘GREAT BRITAIN’ Built 1840. Iron Auxiliary ship of 1750 Tons register and 3450 Tons Burthen. Length; 302.6 ft. Breadth; 51.3 ft. Depth; 27.5 ft. Built by W Patterson of the Great Western Steamship Company who were insolvent when she was offered up for sale to Gibbs, Bright and Co. They bought her in 1850 after she had been repaired and refitted due to an accident in which she ran aground in Dundrum Bay, Ireland in 1846. She was refloated in 1847 and fitted with new engines and boilers. The boilers ran across the ship and her original six masts were reduced to four to make way for her two new funnels which stood side by side. She was given a long deckhouse so that she could carry more passengers on the Australian run for the gold rush that was drawing more and more people to that part of the world. Her first voyage was to New York on a show run which was noted as her ‘running in’ trip. She left Liverpool on her first voyage to Australia on the 21st of August 1852 with 600 passengers and 1,000,000 pounds in Specie. She carried six cannon and arms and ammunition for 100 men. Her greatest rival was the ship ‘Marco Polo’ which she never beat
in any of her races. She was damaged in a storm at Cape Horn in 1886 and she was retired as a store ship at the Falkland Islands and finally became a coal hulk then a hulk at the Falklands. She was salvaged in 1967 and she was returned to England to have a complete refit for her new career as a museum ship. Master; Captain H Stap then Captain John Gray.[Passenger Liner]


‘GREAT EASTERN’ Built 1858. Iron ship of 13,344 Tons. Length; 679.6 ft. Breadth; 82.8 ft. Depth; 31.6 ft. Built by Scott, Russell of London for the Great Eastern Shipping Company. She was used as the cable laying vessel .[Trans Ocean Cable Laying Vessel]


‘GREAT REPUBLIC’ Built 1853. Wood ship of 4555 Tons. Length; 335 ft. Breadth; 53 ft. Depth; 38 ft. Built by Donald Mackay for his own shipping company. Master; Captain Alden Gifford, he christened the vessel and she was towed to New York for a cargo and passengers. She was ready to leave when a fire broke out in Front street and sparks from the fire set her rigging ablaze. Her crew fought vainly to save her but she was burned to the waterline. Two other ships, ‘White Squall’ and ‘Joseph Walker’ also went up in flames at the same time. The hull of ‘Great Republic’ was raised and found to be strained by the grain cargo swelling inside her but she was put back into the stocks and rebuilt to a smaller size. Her new owners were A.A Low and Brother. She left on her maiden voyage in February 1855. Captain J. S Hatfield bought her in 1866 and he sold her to the Merchant Trading Company. She was abandoned in a sinking condition off Bermuda in 1872 under the name ‘Denmark’.[Passenger Ship and General Carrier]


‘GREAT QUEENSLAND’ Built 1852. Iron ship of 1794 Tons. Length; 253.7 ft. Breadth; 38.9 ft. Depth; 25.7 ft. Built by Mare of London, owned by Taylor and Co in 1874. Registered. London LJRF. She was thought to have blown up while carrying impure wood powder for the Patent Gunpowder Company in 1876. All of her 70 passengers and crew were lost with her.[Passenger Liner]


‘GREAT VICTORIA’ ex ‘Jacguard’[Passenger Liner]


‘GREGORIO PADRE’ ex ‘John O’Gaunt’


‘GREIF ex ‘Edouard Bureau’ ex ‘Wiscombe Park’


‘GRENADA’ Built 1894. Steel four-mast barque of 2263 Tons. Length; 278.4 ft. Breadth; 42 ft. Depth; 24.1 ft. Built by Russell for Dennison . Master; Captain Jones. She had a water ballast tank and was a good sailer in strong winds. She was sold to Lang and Fulton and then resold to Roberts, Owen and Co in 1910. A German submarine sank her in 1916. [General Carrier]


‘GRETA’ Built 1873 and launched in January 1874. Iron ship of 1190 Tons. Length; 226 ft. Breadth; 36.2 ft. Depth; 21.8 ft. Built by the Whitehaven Ship Building Company. Owned by Lowden, Edgar and Company. Master; Captain Thomas Connell then Captain Chellew followed by Captain Taylor then Captain W.D Cassady and Captain Garland and finally Captain Heyburn. She was sold to Norway in 1912 and renamed ‘Formica’ and went by that name until broken up in 1923.[General Carrier]


SS ‘GRETA’ Built 1873. Iron schooner rigged steamer of 398 Tons. Length; 180.4 ft. Breadth; 28.1 ft. Depth; 14.3 ft. Built by Softely and Co and owned by J Harper. Engine; 80 Nhp.[Coastal Trader]


‘GRETCHEN HARTRODT’ ex ‘Cupica’


‘GROSSHERZOGIN FREIDRICH AUGUST’ Built 1914. Steel Auxiliary schooner barque of 1701 Tons. Length; 258.2 ft. Breadth; 41.5 ft. Depth; 21.4 ft. Built by Tecklenborg at Geestemunde. Sold to Norway and renamed ‘Stratsraad Lemkuhl .She was .Registered; Norway 1924. Master; Captain G Kielland .[General Carrier]


‘GULF STREAM’ Built 1884. Iron barque of 1458 Tons. Length; 234.2 ft. Breadth; 38.1 ft. Depth; 21.8 ft. Built by Russell for A.L Polson who sold her to the ‘Shire’ line. She went missing in June 1912.[General Carrier]


‘GUADALOUPE’ ex ‘Valdivia’


‘GUARDADORA’ ex ‘J.C Vinnen’


‘GUATEKAS’ ex ‘Westward Ho’


‘GULLMARN’ ex ‘Elbrin’ ex ‘Louden Hill’


‘GUNDA’ ex ‘Speranza’ ex ‘Ardnamurchan’


‘GUNVOR’ ex ‘General Mellinet’


‘GUINEVERE’ Built 1869. Composite ship of 646 Tons. Length; 175 ft. Breadth; 29.9 ft. Depth; 19.3 ft. Built by Steele at Greenock for J MacCunn. Master; Captain J McLean. She was wrecked in the Yangtse River while looking for a tea cargo in 1865. This lost was said to have been caused by drunkenness. [Tea Clipper]


‘GUINEVERE’ ex ‘Luna’


‘GUSTAV’ ex ‘Austrasia’


‘GWENDOLINE’ Built 1869. Wood barque of 356 Tons. Length; 128 ft. Breadth; 25.9 ft. Depth; 16.1 ft. Built at Whitby for T Daniel and Son. She was sold to Turner, Edwards and Co and then sold to Spain and renamed ‘Josephita’ . She was a Bristol trader whilst British owned and went to the ship breakers under the Spaniards in 1911.[Bristol Trader and General Carrier]Np


‘GWYTHERYN CASTLE’ Built 1876. Iron barque of 786 Tons. Length; 191.7 ft. Breadth; 31.8 ft. Depth; 19.2 ft. Built by Osbourne, Graham and Co at Sunderland. She was sold to Jacobstad Rederie and renamed ‘Ira’ Master; Captain E Roosgrew. She was again sold very late in her life, this time to the Australian group, ‘The Interstate Steamship Company’, owned by Scott, Fell and Co. She went off the register at this time and probably ended her days as a coal hulk.[General Carrier]


‘GWYDIR CASTLE’ ex ‘Newfield’


                                                               H


‘HALCIONE’ Built 1869. Iron ship of 843 Tons. Length; 191.7 ft. Breadth; 29.4 ft. Depth; 18.8 ft. Built by Steele of Greenock. Owned by J Parker of Southampton in 1881. She was built for the New Zealand trade under Shaw- Saville and was a strongly built vessel being strengthened behind her hull with three feet of concrete. A painting was done of her by G.W White.[Passenger Ship]


‘HAFRSFJORD’ ex ‘General Roberts’.


‘HALEWOOD’ Built 1885. Iron ship of 2153 Tons. Length; 274 ft. Breadth; 40.1 ft. Depth; 24.9 ft. Built by Oswald, Mordaunt and Co for R.W. Leyland. She was a sister ship to ‘Woolton’ and was sold to A Grefstad of Norway. Master; T.Tobiasson when under that flag. [General Carrier]


‘HALLOWEEN’ Built 1870. Iron ship of 920 Tons. Length; 216.6 ft. Breadth; 35.2 ft. Depth; 20.5 ft. Master; Captain Watt. She was a sister ship to the famous ‘Black Adder’ and took only 69 days on her maiden voyage from England to Australia, she was a very good vessel.
[Passenger Ship]


‘HALLWOOD’ Built 1881-2. Iron ship of 2153 Tons. Length; 274.3 ft. Breadth; 40.1 ft. Depth; 24.9 ft. Built by Oswald, Mordaunt for R.W.Leyland. Master; Captain Stapp in 1889. She was sold to Norway in 1910, she was then resold and renamed ‘Songvig’. Her owners were S.O.Stray of Norway when she was lost on the 14th February 1920.[General Carrier]


‘HALLY BAYLEY’ Built 1869. Wood schooner of 113 Tons. Length; 90.7 ft. Breadth; 22 ft. Depth; 9.0 ft. Built by J.McGregor at Hobart, Tasmania. Registered; Sydney, NSW. Master; Captain J. Billick.[Coastal Trader]


‘HAMINJA’ ex ‘Dumbarton Rock’


‘HAMPSHIRE’ Built 1870. Composite ship of 1164 Tons. Length; 209.2 ft. Breadth; 34.3 ft. Depth; 22 ft. Built by Steele and Co for Money Wigram. She was a sturdy sailor of the Blackwall fleet and was owned by London interests in 1881. [Passenger Ship]


‘HANS’ Built 1904. Steel ship of 2880 Tons. Length; 335.5 ft. Breadth; 46.9 ft. Depth; 26.5 ft. Bought by Captain Robert Dollar and Co from her German owners who had her built by W. Hamilton and Co of Glasgow. Captain Dollar renamed her ‘Mary Dollar’ after he purchased the vessel and he put her into the Pacific Lumber trade. [General Carrier and Timber Drogue]


‘HANS’ ex ‘East Indian’ Steel ship of 1745 Tons. Length; 252.6 ft. Breadth; 39.1 ft. Depth; 22.5 ft. Built by Duncan for Lang and Fulton. She was sold to the Germans in 1910/11 and was still sailing during the 1st world war.[General Carrier]


‘HANSY’ ex ‘Aberfoyle’


‘HANNAH’ ex ‘Charlonus’ ex ‘Sam Mendel’


‘HANSA’ ex ‘Bellpool’.


‘HARALD’ ex ‘Niobe’


‘HARBINGER’ Built 1876. Iron ship of 1506 Tons. Length; 253.5 ft. Breadth; 37.6 ft. Depth; 22.4 ft. Built by Anderson for Steel of Greenoch. Master; Captain Bolt. She was sold to Devitt and Moore in 1890 and was used by them as a training ship. They sold her to the Russians in 1897.Russian owner. J. L. Enlund 1905. [Passenger Ship and Cadet Training Vessel then General Carrier]


‘HAROLD’ Built 1888. Steel barque of 1376 Tons. Length: 240 ft. Breadth: 36.5 ft. Depth: 21.3 ft. Built by Duncan for T. Stephens and Son. She was sold to Warmsley and Co in her later life.[General Carrier]


‘HARRIET McGREGOR’ Built 1871. Wood ship of 331 Tons. Length; 253.5 ft. Breadth: 37.6 ft. Depth: 22.4 ft. Built at Hobart, Tasmania for McGregor and Co. She was built of Blue Gum and was a very strongly arranged, but she was sold to the Danes in 1896 and in 1897 she was burnt at Rio de Janeiro. [Inter-colonial trader]

‘HARVARD EX ‘SAM SCHOLFIELD II’

‘HARVEY MILLS’ Built 1876. Iron ship of 2186 Tons. Length; 231.1 ft. Breadth; 43.1 ft. Depth; 29.8 ft. Built by Mills and Craighton for J Vansant and Sons at Greenbank, New Jersey. Later owned by A.F. Babcock. Registered Somers Point, New Jersey, USA. She foundered off Cape Flattery in January 1887. The mate and two seamen survived the wreck and were later picked up by the bark, ‘Majestic’.[General Carrier]


‘HAUGAR’ ex ‘Scottish Glens’


‘HAVRUEN’ ex ‘Ochtertyre’


‘HAWAIAN ISLES’ Built 1892. Steel four-mast barque of 2097 Tons. Length; 270 ft. Breadth; 43.1 ft. Depth; 23.6 ft. Built by Connell for A Nelson. Nelson sold her to the Alaska Packer Company and she was renamed ‘Star of Greenland’. She was again sold and again renamed, this time she became the ‘Abraham Rydberg’. [General Carrier and Cannery Ship]


‘HAWKSBURY’ Built 1868. Composite ship of 1120 Tons. Length: 203 ft. Breadth: 36.2 ft. Depth: 21.5 ft. Built by Pile of Sunderland for the Australian wool trade. She was sold to Devitt and Moore in 1881. Master; Captain D. B Corvosso.[Wool Clipper]


‘HAYTOR’ ex ‘Earnmount’


‘HAZEL CRAIG’ ex ‘Quathlamba’


‘HAZEL HOLME’ Built 1870. Wood barque of 405 Tons. Length; 138.9 ft. Breadth; 28.5 ft. Depth; 17.5 ft. Built at Barnstable for the Hine Bros of Sunderland. She was put into the New Zealand trade and also ran from Tasmania, Adelaide and Brisbane.. [Passenger Ship]


‘HEATHER BELLE’ Built 1855. Wood ship of 479 Tons. Length; 155 ft. Breadth; 28.5 ft. Depth; 17.5 ft. Built by Hall of Aberdeen for Brown and Co. She was bought from them by the Orient Line and worked the Sydney passenger trade with some runs also to Melbourne. Master; Captain William Harmsworth. She did one spectacular run of 67 days from Port Phillip to England. She was broken up at Balmain, NSW in 1894.[Passenger Ship]


‘HEBE’ ex ‘Ballochmyle’


‘HECLA’ Built c1815. Wood ship of approx. 375 Tons. William Edward Parry who took her north in 1819 used her in the search for the Northwest Passage. He took her again in the mid 1820’s along with the ship ‘Fury’, still in hope of finding a North-West passage He did so for many years without success.

‘HECLA’ Built 1854. Wood barque of 475 Tons. Length: 136.0 ft. Breadth: 27.0 ft. Depth: 17.5 ft. Built at Hartlepool. Owned by Ord and Co. Master: J. Moore then Captain Johnson in 1863.


‘HECLA’ Built 1875. Wood barque of 901 Tons. Length: 174.6 ft. Breadth: 35.5 ft. Depth: 20.2 ft. Built by A. McDougall at Maitland, Nova Scotia. Owned by the ‘Hecla’ Company [H. Fredrikson] in 1885.Master: Captain E. A. Cotton. Registered; Sandefjord, Norway


‘HECLA’ Built 1877. Wood ship of 1529 Tons. Length; 210.5 ft. Breadth; 40.2 ft. Depth; 24 ft. Built by Goss and Sawyer at Bath, Maine. Owned by J. W. Marr. Master: Captain E. A. Cotton.


‘HEDWIG’ ex ‘Antilles’ Built 1872. Wood barque of 831 Tons. Length; 162.1 ft. Breadth; 37.8 ft. Depth; 21.9 ft. Built by J Tecklenborg at Bremerhaven. Owned by C Dreyer in 1897. Registered; Bremen QCMG. Master; Captain T Warnken. [General Carrier]


‘HEDWIG HEMSOTH’ ex ‘Oranasia


‘HEIMDAL’ ex ‘Sierraova’


‘HELEN’ Built 1864. Wood barque of 343 Tons. Length; 135.3 ft. Breadth; 25.3 ft. Depth; 15.8 ft. Built by Steele at Greenock. Owned by A. McGregor of Hobart. Registered; Hobart, Tasmania. Master; Captain Boon.[Inter-colonial Trader]


‘HELENA’ Built 1874. Wood brigantine of 126 Tons. Length; 83.7 ft. Breadth; 23.1 ft. Depth; 10.1 ft. Built at Mahurangi, New Zealand. Owned by F Buss. Master; Captain R Reynolds. Registered; Maryborough, Queensland. She was used extensively in the Blackbirder trade bringing natives from the Solomon Islands and New Guinea to Queensland for use in the sugar plantations of that state. [Blackbirder]


‘HELEN BREWER’ Built 1891. Steel ship of 1582 Tons. Length; 247.7 FT. Breadth; 38.9 ft. Depth; 22.5 ft. Built by Duncan for Brewer and Co. She went missing in 1903 whilst en-route from Surabaya, Indonesia to the Delaware Breakwater.[General Carrier]


‘HELEN B STIRLING’ ex ‘Tacoma


‘HELENE’ ex ‘Andorinha’


‘HELEN DENNY’. Built 1866. Iron barque of 728 ft. Length; 187.5 ft. Breadth; 31.2 ft. Depth; 19.1 ft. Built by Robert Duncan of Port Glasgow. She was purchased by Shaw, Savill and used in the New Zealand trade. Master; Captain S Holm of Wellington, New Zealand. He became Captain after his father [Captain F Holm] bought the vessel from Shaw, Savill. She ended her days as a coal hulk. [Passenger Ship]


‘HELENSLEA’ Built 1884. Iron four-mast barque of 1853 Tons. Length; 267.5 ft. Breadth; 35.4 ft. Depth; 21.6 ft. Built by A Stephen and Co for themselves. They sold her to Chadwick, Wainwright and Co in `1895/6. Master; Captain Davies. She was wrecked on Inaccessible Island in 1897.[General Carrier]


‘HELENSLEE’ Built 1862. Wood ship of 795 Tons. Length; 162.8 ft. Breadth; 33.4 ft. Depth; 16.5 ft. Built at Dumbarton by McMills for the Albion Shipping Co. Reg; Glasgow. Master; Captain Cowan then Captain Watt. [Passenger ship]


‘HENNY’ ex ‘Cape Finisterre’


‘HENRIETTE; ex ‘Sarah Hignet’ Built 1869. Wood ship of 1419 Tons. Length; 200 ft. Breadth; 38.6 ft. Depth; 24 ft. Built by Curtis Smith and Co of Boston, Mass. She was sold to the Germans who named her ‘Henriette’. . Her master was Captain Rockleman at that time. She was again sold and renamed ‘Rosa Elegret’ by the Spaniards in 1900.[General Carrier]

‘HENRIETTE’ ex ‘Royal Forth’ Built 1893.


‘HENRIETTE’ Built 1873. Iron barque of 947 Tons. Length; 175 ft. Breadth; 33 ft. Depth; 22 ft. Built at Bremerhaven by Ulruchs. Owned by D. H Wadjen. Master; Captain V. Hagen. [General Carrier]


‘HENRY B HYDE’ Built 1884. Steel ship of 2583 Tons. Length; 267.9 ft. Breadth; 45 ft. Depth; 28.8 ft. Built by J McDonald for Pendleton, Carver and Nichols. Master; Captain Phineas Pendleton. Very fine ‘Downeaster’ of the American trade. She was stranded on February 11th 1904. She was refloated in September of that same year only to break loose and restranded herself on September 23rd. She was deemed a total loss on October 4th 1904. [General Carrier and Cape Horner]


‘HENRY FAILING’ Built 1882. Iron ship of 1976 Tons. Length; 230.6 ft. Breadth; 43.1 ft. Depth; 26.3 ft. Built by Goss and Sawyer. Owned by W.E Besse. She was sunk during the First World War while barque rigged. [General Carrier]


‘HERBERT’ ex ‘Donna Francisca’


‘HEREFORD’ Built 1869. Iron ship of 1524 Tons. Length; 241.1 ft. Breadth; 37.2 ft. Depth; 23.2 ft. Built by J Elder and Co of Glasgow . Master; Captain Gardiner then Captain J.A Fox. Registered; London.[General Carrier]


‘HEREWARD’ Built 1877. Iron ship of 1513 Tons. Length: 254 ft. Breadth: 39 ft. Depth: 23.2 ft. Built by Duncan for T. S Campbell. She went ashore at Maroubra beach, NSW in May 1898. She was refloated on 10th December 1898 and while being towed away from the beach, a storm caused her to be stranded again on the same beach. She was considered lost on this second stranding.[Passenger and General Carrier]


‘HERMANN’ ex ‘Jarius B Lincoln’


‘HERMANUS’ ex ‘Panmure’


‘HERO’ ex ‘ McCallum More’


‘HERZOGIN CECILIE’ Built 1902. Steel four-mast barque of 3242 Tons. Length; 324.1 ft. Breadth; 46 ft. Depth; 23.8 ft. Built by Rickmers for Nordeuscher Lloyd. She was a German training ship until the end of the First World War. She was then given to the French who sold her to the Finn, Gustav Eeikson for 8000 dollars. Her master at this time was Captain Reuben De Cloux and he took her into the Australian grain trade. [General cargo, Training ship and Grain Carrier]


‘HERZOGIN SOPHIE CHARLOTTE’ ex ‘ALBERT RICKMERS’ .


‘HESPERIDES’ Built 1875. Iron ship of 1335 Tons. Length; 236 .7 ft. Breadth; 37.8 ft. Depth; 22.5 ft. Built by Short and Co for J Patterson Jr. He sold her to J Stewart and Co. Master: Captain J Watson then Captain P. S Young. She was sold to the Norwegians in 1904 and they renamed her ‘Samuel Hansen’.[Passenger and General Carrier]


‘HESPERUS’ Built 1873. Iron ship of 1777 Tons. Length: 262.2ft. Breadth: 39.7 ft. Depth: 23.5 ft. Built by Steele of Glasgow. Owned and built for Anderson and Anderson. Master: Captain Legoe. She was bought by Devitt and Moore for their cadet training scheme in 1891 and was given a new Captain Barrett and chief officer F.W Corner. She was later abandoned by her crew in Sydney, New South Wales. They left only her cadets aboard her under the command of her captain and officers. She left Sydney with a full cargo of wool and arrived in England after a good passage. She was sold to the Russians in 1899, they renamed her ‘Grand Duchess Maria Nicolaevna’. She was used as a training ship by them until they sold her to the Italians of Genoa who renamed her ‘Silvana’. She was sold back to the British who had her until she was broken up in the 1930’s. [Naval training ship]

‘HIAWATHA’ ex ‘Kingsport’

‘HIAWATHA’ Built 1878. Built 1878. Wood barque of 408 Tons. Length; 147 ft. Breadth; 30.5 ft. Depth; 12.9 ft. Built by Copp and Co for themselves at North Brunswick. Master; Captain J Grant in 1881.[Passenger and General Carrier]


‘HIGHFIELDS’ Built 1892. Steel four-mast barque of 2280 Tons. Length; 291.3 ft. Breadth; 42 ft. Depth; 24.5 ft. Built by Richardson, Duck for C.W Kellock at Stockton. She was sunk in a collision with the steamer ‘Kaiser’ in August 1902.[General Carrier]



‘HIGH FLYER’ Built 1861. Wood ship of 1012 Tons. Length; 193.7 ft. Breadth; 35.5 ft. Depth; 20 ft. Built at the Blackwall yards for Green. She was a popular passenger ship of her time. [Tea Clipper, Passenger ship and General Carrier]



‘HIGHLANDER’ Built 1868. Wood ship of 1352 Tons. Length: 190.3 ft. Breadth: 38.8 ft. Depth: 24 ft. Built at Boston, USA for F.E Scammell. She was a well known Cape horner.[General Carrier]



‘HIGHLAND GLEN’ Built 1882. Steel ship of 1028 Tons. Length: 211.3 ft. Breadth: 34 ft. Depth: 19.6 ft. Built by Ramage and Ferguson, bought by Brewer and Co and renamed ‘Nuuanu’. Master: Captain W. L. Josselyn. She was the last tall ship to enter Honolulu harbor flying the Hawaiian flag. Soon after, she was sold to the Philippine Vegetable Oil Company of San Francisco and her new name was ‘Hai Hong’. She was then sold to the General Petroleum Company in 1912 and after the First World War, she was refitted as an oil carrier and renamed ‘Progresso’ She was still sailing in 1926-27. [General and Vegetable oil Carrier]



‘HILDEGARDE’ ex ‘Bann’



SS ‘HIMALAYA’ Built 1892. Steel steamer of 6895 Tons. Length; 465 ft. Breadth; 52.2 ft. Depth; 26.4 ft. Built by Caird and Co for P/O line. Registered; Greenock. Master; Captain W.L Brown then Captain Spicer. She was a Royal Mail steamer [General Carrier]



‘HIMALAYA’ Built 1863.Built 1863. Iron barque of 1008 Tons. Length; 201.2 ft. Breadth; 33 ft. Depth; 20.4 ft. Built by Pile and Hay at Sunderland for Shaw-Savill. Master; Captain Culbert. Registered VTKM 48594. She was sold to the Alaska Packers and renamed ‘Star of Peru’ . She was again sold. This time to Noumea where she was renamed ‘Bougainville’. [Passenger liner]



‘HINEMOA’ Built 1890. Steel four-mast barque of 2283 Tons. Length; 278.1 ft. Breadth; 41.9 ft. Depth; 24.2 ft. Built by Russell for Leslie. Master. Captain R. De Steiger. This ship seems to have had a curse on it from its very beginning. On her first voyage, four apprentices died of Typhus, the disease was thought to have come from her ballast, which came from a London burial ground of the 1600’s. The ballast also shifted during this maiden voyage and she went over on her beam-ends. Although she was righted, she went on to be a cursed ship. Losing a few of her Captains in strange and unlucky circumstances.[General Carrier]



‘HIPPALOS ‘ ex ‘Arethusa’



‘HIPPALOS’ ex ’Souverain’ex ‘Odessa’ ex ‘Adelaide’ ex ‘Holcar’



‘HIPPEN’ ex ‘Angerona’



‘HJORDIS’ ex ‘Nairnshire’



‘HOLDANA’ ex ‘Pass of Leny’



‘HOLLANDS TROUW’ later ‘Falie’. Small ketch that was built in Holland in 1921. She was sold to owners at Port Adelaide and they renamed her ‘Falie’. After some coastal work for many years, she was sold and became a tour boat .[Coastal trader and Tourist boat]



‘HOLMSDALE’ Built 1858. Wood frigate of 1257 Tons. Length;206.8 ft. Breadth; 37.7 ft. Depth; 22.4 ft. Built by J Reed of Sunderland for Bilbie and Co. She was a passenger ship of the colonial run and was a great workhorse that continued in her career for over forty years. Master; Captain Bolt. Milne and Co who had her for a few years then sold to the Norwegians. She went missing in 1897.[Passenger ship]


‘HOMEWARD BOUND’ ex ‘Zemindar’



‘HOLT HILL’ Built 1884. Iron four-mast barque of 2441 Tons. Length; 300 ft. Breadth; 42.2 ft. Depth; 24.7 ft. Built by W Potter for W Price and Co. She was a sister to ;Marlborough Hill’. After only five years of sailing, ‘Holt Hill’ was wrecked on St Pauls Island on November 13th 1889.[General Carrier]



‘HOLT HILL’ Built 1890. Steel four-mast barque of 2398 Tons. Length; 282.7 ft. Breadth; 43 ft. Depth; 24.1 ft. Built by Russell at Port Glagcow. Owned by W Price and Co. Master; Captain H.J Bray. Registered; Liverpool LSTK. She was abandoned at sea in 1916.[General Carrier]



‘HOOGHLY’ later ‘Bayard’



‘HOPEFUL’ ex ‘Dickey’



‘HOTSPUR’ Built 1851. Wood ship of 1142 Tons. Length; 165.7 ft. Breadth; 33.6 ft. Depth; 22.9 ft. Built by Smith at his Tyneside yards. He kept her until she went ashore in the Madras cyclone of 1872 and became a total loss. Master; Captain Tonybee.[Passenger ship]



‘HOTSPUR’ Built 1885. Steel ship of 1273 Tons. Length; 191.9 ft. Breadth; 38.8 ft. Depth; 22.8 ft. Built at Bath for W.H Bease. She went off the register in 1889.[General Carrier]



‘HOUGOMONT’ Built 1897. Steel four-mast barque of 2428 Tons. Length; 292.4 ft. Breadth; 43.2 ft. Depth; 24 ft. Built by Scott for Hardie and Co. Master; Captain McNeil. She was a sister to ‘Nivelle’ and was launched in June of 1897. She ended her days when she was severely dismasted in 1932. She was then sold for use as a breakwater in Australia.[General Carrier]



‘HOLCAR’ Built 1888. Steel four-mast barque of 3073 Tons. Length; 329.3 ft. Breadth; 45.2 ft. Depth; 26.7 ft. Built by Harland and Wolf for Brocklebank. Master; Captain William Ellery then Captain Peterkin. She was sold to the Germans in 1901 and renamed ‘Adelaide’ . She was again sold and renamed ‘Odessa’ by the Norwegians. She was sold again and renamed ‘Souverain’ and then finally she was sold and renamed ‘Hippalos’ under which name she was broken up in 1924.[General Carrier]



‘HORN SHELL’ ex ‘Howth’

‘HOPPET’ ex ‘Knight of the Thistle’

‘HOWARD D TROOP’ Built 1892. Steel four-mast barque of 2145 Tons. Length; 291.3 ft. Breadth; 42.2 ft. Depth; 24 ft. Built by Duncan and Co. She was later sold and renamed ‘Annie M Reed’ by the Rolph Naval Company. Master; Captain J.A Durkee. She was laid up in 1921.[General Carrier]

‘HOWTH’ Built 1892. Steel four-mast barque of 2244 Tons. Length; 284.4 ft. Breadth; 41.9 ft. Depth; 24.5 ft. Built by Workman for Martin and Co. She was sold to J Edgar in 1904, he sold her to Windram and Co in 1913 and he converted her to an oil tanker. She was renamed ‘Horn Shell’ while employed in that industry. She was scrapped in 1919.[General Carrier]

‘HUIA’ Built 1894. Wood Auxiliary of 224 Tons. Length; 115.1 ft. Breadth; 25.2 ft. Depth; 11.5 ft. Built at Arapatu by Kaipara for McKenzie of Auckland, New Zealand.[Inter-Colonial trader]

‘HULDA’ ex ‘San Luis’

‘HUTTON HALL’ Built 1884. Iron ship of 2052 Tons. Length; 277 ft. Breadth; 40.1 ft. Depth; 24.2 ft. Built by Potter and Co and owned by the Globe Shipping Company in 1897. Master; Captain M Rowlands. Registered; Liverpool JHMB. She was sold to Genoa and renamed ‘Po’ her new master being Captain F Razeto when she was sold in 1910-11.[General Carrier]

‘HYDERABAD’ Built 1892. Steel ship of 2195 Tons. Length; 276.2 ft. Breadth; 41.9 ft. Depth; 24.3 ft. Built by Hamilton for Crawford. She was a full rigged ship that was sold to the Norwegians in 1911, they renamed her ‘Audney’. She was again sold, this time to Casablanca owners who named her ‘Sumbawa’. [General Carrier]

‘HYON’ Built 1898. According to Lloyds register of 1918, she was built in 1891. She was a steel barque of 1192 tons. Length. 227 ft. Breadth. 35 ft. Depth. 20.2 ft. Built by Helsingores of Elsinore, Germany. Master. Captain E. H. Beister. She was sold to Norway and renamed ‘Nordstern’. Master; Captain G Olsen in 1911-12. She was again sold and renamed ‘Fiorella’ by the Italians at Genoa in 1917 /18. [General Carrier]
                                                 
                                                    I

‘IBAIZABAL’ ex ‘Lillian Morris’

 ‘IBERIA’ ex ‘Ricart De Soler’ ex ‘Reliance’

SS ‘ICEBERG’ Built 1882.Iron Vessel of 1294 Tons. Length: 127.5 ft. Breadth: 25 ft. Depth: 9.2 ft. Built by J.W Sutton and Co at the Glasgow shipyards. Duncanson and Brittain used her as a lighter at Mackay in North Queensland. Sold to W.R Smith of Brisbane, Qld for use as a coal lighter in Brisbane. She was then sold to A. M. Gordon who turned her into a gravel barge replacing the old ‘Groper’. Master: Captain W. J Chapman. [Lighter, coal Tender and gravel barge]


‘I.F CHAPMAN’ Built 1882. Steel ship of 2146 Tons. Length; 237 ft. Breadth; 42.7 ft. Depth; 27.5 ft. Built by I.F Chapman for his own company. Master; Captain J.A Thompson until 1896. Then Captain Kendall then Captain R. Banfield . She became a barge in 1909 then was re-rigged for the First World War and after coming through that conflict, she was laid up in 1920. [General Carrier]


‘ILMA’ Built 1885. Steel three-mast barquentine of 345 Tons. Length; 145.8 ft. Breadth; 27 ft. Depth; 11.1 ft. Built by the Grangemouth Dockyard Company for J.H Edwards of Hobart, Tasmania at Grangemouth. Master; Captain W Buckingham. Coastal vessel that sailed for many years. [Coastal Trader]

‘ILLAWARRA’ Built 1881. Ship of 1887 Tons. Length; 269.1 ft. Breadth; 40.6 ft. Depth; 24 ft. Built by Dobie of Glasgow for Devitt and Moore. Master; Captain Corvasso. She became a cadet training ship under the Brassey training system. She was later sold to the Norwegians in 1907. They abandoned her in the North Atlantic in 1912. [General Carrier and Cadet Training ship]


‘IMPERATOR’ ex ‘Arundel Castle’

‘IMPERATOR’ ex ‘Chittagong’.

‘IMPERATOR ALEXANDER II’ ex ‘Grassendale’


‘IMBERHORNE’ Built 1882. Iron ship of 2042 Tons. Length; 284.1 ft. Breadth; 41.2 ft. Depth; 24.1 ft. Built by McMillan of Dumbarton. Registered; Castleton in 1890. Master; Captain H.A Lever. Sold to G.C Karran. She came to the end of her career on the 1st of May 1917 when sunk by a German submarine. She was under Norwegian ownership at that time.[General Carrier]


‘INCHCAPE ROCK’ Built 1886.Iron ship of 1599 Tons. Length; 250.5 ft. Breadth; 38.3 ft. Depth; 23 ft. Built by Russell for Cornfoot and Co’s ‘Rock’ line. She was wrecked during the great gale at Algoa Bay in 1902.[General Carrier]


‘INDEPENDENCE’ Built 1871. Wood ship of 952 Tons. Length; 165.6 ft. Breadth; 34,2 ft. Depth; 22.9 ft. Built at Boston for Hemingway and Browne. Master: Captain Johnson. This captain lost his wife and three young children with their nurse during an earthquake and tidal surge on the Peruvian coast. His hair is said to have turned grey due to the shock of losing both his family and his ship. [General Carrier]

‘INDIAN EMPIRE’ Built 1865. Iron ship of 1515 Tons. Length; 230 ft. Breadth; 38.8 ft. Depth; 23.5 ft. Built by Pile at West Hartlepool for George Duncans ‘Empire’ line. She was burned to the waterline in 1899. Master: Captain L Watson in 1881. [Passenger and General Carrier]

‘INDRA’ ex ‘Lita’ later ‘Tonawanda’


‘INDUS’ Built 1847. Iron ship of 1319 Tons. Length; 244.3 ft. Breadth; 34.8 ft. Depth; 21.3 ft She was originally built as a steamer for the P/O Line and was later converted to a three mast Bark. James Baines bought her in 1869 and placed in the Australian passenger trade and worked the London-Queensland run. Built by J. C. Mare of London. Master; Captain B Hunt. She was sold to J. Roberts of London in 1872. She worked the Queensland run under the management of Taylor, Bethel and Roberts who continued sending her to Queensland after the demise of the Black Ball line in 1872. She was, along with the ‘Ramsey’, the last ship to fly the red swallowtail house flag of the Black Ball line. The ‘Ramsey’ arrived in Brisbane in March 1871 followed by the ‘Indus’ in April 1871. [Passenger Ship]


‘INGA’ ex ‘Peter Denny’


‘INGLIS’ Built 1811 at Penang. Wood barque of 1321 Tons. Owned by Routh and Co of London. Sold to Daniell and Co in 1840. Master; Captain G. Wise then Captain Stead. [East Indiaman]


‘INVERCARGILL’ Built 1874. Iron ship of 1246 Tons. Length. 239.7 ft. Breadth. 36 ft. Depth. 20.7 ft. Built and owned by Duncan. He sold her to the ‘Albion’ line of New Zealand and she ended her days under the Shaw-Savill flag as a passenger then frozen meat ship until she was sold to the Norwegians and renamed ‘Varg’ . In 1905, she left her port and after clearing the banks, disappeared with all hands.[General Carrier]


‘INVERCAULD’ Built 1891. Steel three-mast barque of 1416 Tons. Length; 237.5 ft. Breadth; 36.2 ft. Depth; 21.7 ft. Built by McMillan for Milne and Co. Master; Captain A.G.P Kebblewhite. Sister ship to ‘Inveresk’ and ‘Invergarry’ she ended her days when sunk by a torpedo in 1916. [General Carrier]


‘INVERCLYDE’ Built 1898. Steel barque of 1634 Tons. Length; 245.6 ft. Breadth; 37.5 ft. Depth; 22.5 ft. Built by Russell for Milne and Co. Her coal cargo caught fire and she sunk in the river Plate. She was raised and refitted and put back to work. The Finns bought her in 1919 and she was scrapped in 1924.[General Carrier]


‘INVERESK’ Built 1891. Steel barque of 1415 Tons. Length; 237.5 ft. Depth; 211.5 ft. Built by McMillan for Millne and Co. she was sold to Greece in 1931 and was scrapped in Genoa in 1937.
[General Carrier]


‘INVERGARRY’ Built 1891. Steel barque of 1416 Tons. Length; 237.5 ft. Breadth; 36.2 ft. Depth; 21.5 ft. Built by McMillan for Milne and Co. She was sold to Sir William Garthwaite and was renamed ‘Garthgarry’.[General Carrier]


‘INVERLYON II ’ ex ‘Gostwyk’


‘INVERNESS’ Built 1902. Steel barque of 1959 Tons. Length; 267.5 ft. Breadth; 40.1 ft. Depth; 23.6 ft. Built by McMillan for Milne and Co of the ‘Inver’ line. Master; Captain J.A Lewis then Captain R Rendell. She was abandoned at sea in 1918.[General Carrier]


‘INVERNESS-SHIRE’ Built 1894. Steel four-mast barque of 2307 Tons. Length; 282.9 ft. Breadth; 42.8 ft. Depth; 24.7 ft. Built by Duncan for Law and Company. Master; Captain Peattie. She was sold to the Norwegians in 1915 and renamed ‘Svartskog’. She went missing in 1920.[General Carrier]


‘INVERNEILL’ Built 1895. Steel barque of 1470 Tons. Length; 238 ft. Breadth; 36 ft. Depth; 21.7 ft. Built by Russell for Milne and Co. She was sold to Sir William Garthwaite and renamed ‘Garthneill’ . Master; Captain Shippen then Captain Thompson. She became a victim of time, for she was hulked at Port Adelaide and then retired to the North Arm graveyard of ships where she sits, rusting away. [General Carrier]


‘INVERSNAID’ Built 1882. Iron ship of 1614 Tons. Length; 250.4 ft. Breadth; 38.1 ft. Depth; 21.7 ft. Built by Steele for Thompson, Anderson and Co. She was lost in a storm in the Bristol Channel on October 15th 1886, with all hands. [General Carrier]


‘INVERSNAID’ Built 1892.Built 1892. Steel barque of 1421 Tons. Length; 238 ft. Breadth; 36.2 ft. Depth; 21.7 ft. Built by McMillan for Milne and Co. She was bought by Sir William Garthwaite and renamed ‘Garthsnaid’ . She was dismasted in 1922 while bound for Melbourne and the White Star liner ‘Zealandic’ found her in a helpless condition and towed her to Melbourne from Gabo Island. [General Carrier]


‘INVERUGLAS’ Built 1883. Iron ship of 1717 Tons. Length; 260.4 ft. Breadth; 39 ft. Depth; 23.5 ft. Built by Steele and Co . She was sold to the Sierra line and renamed ‘Sierra Lucena’ She was again sold, this time to the Norwegians and they renamed her ‘Sophia’. She was again sold and renamed ‘Tusitala’ , in memory of Sir Robert Louis Stephenson. Master; Captain Barker. She sailed on into the 1920’s.[General Carrier]


‘INVERURIE’ Built 1889. Steel barque of 1417 Tons. Length; 242.2 ft. Breadth; 37.1 ft. Depth; 21.6 ft. Built by Hall for Milne. Master; Captain Holmes who previously had the ‘Cimba’. She was wrecked at Ballyferis Point, County Down in November 1914. [General Carrier]

‘IONA’ ex ‘Ceres’ ex ‘Bankleigh’


‘IONE’ Built 1869. Iron barque of 520 Tons. Length; 165 ft. Breadth; 28.1 ft Depth; 17.3 ft. Built by Iliff and Morrisey at Sunderland. Master; Captain Atkinson. Owned by H McEwan in 1881.[Passenger and General Carrier]


‘IQUIQUE’ ex ‘British Sceptre’


‘IQUIQUE’ ex ‘Celtic Glen’


‘IRA’ ex ‘Gwytheryn Castle’


‘IREDALE’ Built 1889. Iron barque of 1574 Tons. Length; 256.2 ft. Breadth; 38.9 ft. Depth; 23.7 ft. Built by Workman, Clarke of Belfast for Iredale, Potter of Liverpool. Master; Captain H Roberts.[General Carrier]


‘IRIS’ ex ‘Elmhurst’


‘IRON DUKE’ Built 1863. Iron ship of 1435 Tons. Length; 217 ft. Breadth; 36.2 ft. Depth; 23.7 ft. Built by Lawrence of Liverpool. Owned by Hargraves and Hellon of Liverpool in 1881. Master; Captain T Taylor.[Passenger and General Carrier]


‘ISLAND CARRIER’ ex ‘Mae Dollar’ ex ‘Adolf Vinnen’ ex ‘Alsterdamm’ ex ‘Somali’.


‘ISLE OF ARRAN’ Built 1892. Steel ship of 1918 Tons. Length; 263.3 ft. Breadth; 39 ft. Depth; 23 ft. Built by Russell for Jeffery and Co. Bought by Weir and Co for their ‘Bank’ line.[General Carrier]

‘ITATA’ Iron barque that burned at Newcastle NSW, in January 1906.

SS ‘ITATA’ Built 1873. Iron screw steamer of 1766 Tons. Length; 290.7 ft. Breadth; 39.9 ft. Depth; 19.7 ft. Master; Captain Stewart in 1881. Engine; 340 Nhp.[Passenger and General Carrier]


‘IVANHOE’ Built 1849. Wood ship of 1300 Tons. Webb in the USA built her. [Passenger ship]
.

‘IVANHOE’ Built 1853. Wood ship of 1034 Tons. Length; 169.3 ft. Breadth; 30.7 ft. Depth; 21.6 ft. Owned by Aikmans of Glasgow, she was then sold to J Crouch in 1870. She was built at Dumbarton. Registered Bristol. Master; Captain Chesney. [Passenger and General Carrier]


‘IVANHOE’ Built 1868. Iron ship of 1383 Tons. Length; 235.2 ft. Breadth; 37.4 ft. Depth; 23.7 ft. Built by Reid for Williamson, Milligan and Co. Passenger ship of the Australian run, owned in Melbourne, Victoria. Master; Captain Burgers. She was wrecked at Honolulu on December 30th 1915 while Chilean owned. [Passenger and General Carrier]


                                                             J

‘JABEZ HOWES’ Built 1877. Wood ship of 1648 Tons Length; 218.8 ft. Breadth; 40.1 ft. Depth; 26 ft. Built by J Currier for J Rosenfield. Master; Captain T.F Henry then Captain R.C Clapp.[Passenger and General Carrier]


‘JAMES BAINES’ Built 1854. Wood ship of 2515 Tons. Length; 266 ft. Breadth; 44.8 ft. Depth; 29 ft. Built by Donald Mackay for the Blackball Line. Master; Captain McDonald. She was in port at the Huskisson dock in Liverpool, England on the 22nd April 1858 when she caught fire. She was gutted and her remains were towed to a landing stage at Liverpool dock.[Passenger liner]


‘JAMES BEAZLEY’ Built 1876. Iron barque of 859 Tons. Length; 195.4 ft. Breadth; 32.1 ft. Depth; 19.1 ft. Built by Osbourne, Graham and Co at Sunderland for James Beazley and Co. She was sold to the ‘Bank’ line and renamed ‘Bankfields’ . She was then sold to the Adelaide Milling Company . Registered; Port Adelaide MFTL. Master; Captain M.A Reid in 1907.[Passenger and General Carrier]


‘JAMES CRAIG’ ex ‘Clan McLeod’


‘ JAMES ROLPH’ ex ‘Celtic Monarch’


‘JARIUS B LINCOLN’ Built 1869. Ship of 1769 Tons. Length; 207.7 ft. Breadth; 40.5 ft. Depth; 28.1 ft. Built by Briggs and Cushing. Sold to Hermann of Bremen in 1894 and renamed ‘Hermann’. [Passenger and General Carrier]


‘JAMES WATT’ Built 1832/3. Wood paddlewheel steamer that ran the Sydney-Brisbane run. She was broken up in 1847 and her engines were placed in the coastal vessel ‘Eagle’. Engine; 80 Nhp.


SS ‘JAMES WATT’ Built 1881. Iron three-mast paddle wheel steamer of 1024 Tons. Length; 260.5 ft. Breadth; 36.1 ft. Depth; 20.9 ft. Built by Duncan of Glasgow for the James Watt Steamship Company of Greenock. Engine; 160 Nhp.[Coastal Passenger vessel]


‘JANET DOLLAR’ ex ‘Eclipse’


‘JASON’ Built 1870. Iron ship of 1512 Tons. Length; 253 ft. Breadth; 38.6 ft. Depth; 23.2 ft. Built by Barclay, Curle and Co for Carmichael. She was wrecked on the 5th 1893 near Cape Cod. There was only one survivor, an apprentice named Evans [Passenger and General Carrier]



‘JAQUELINE’ Built 1897. Steel four-mast barque of 3017 Tons. Length; 322.2 ft. Breadth; 45.7 ft. Depth; 25.4 ft. Built by Forges Et Chant De La Mediterranie for Bordes of France. Master; Captain E Andre. A German submarine sank her in 1917. [General Carrier]


SS JAVA’ Built 1872. Iron steamship of 943 Tons. Length; 270.2 ft. Breadth; 30.7 ft. Depth; 24 ft. Built by Inglis for British and Scottish of Glasgow. Master; Captain J Pratt. Registered; Glasgow LMFG 68016. [Passenger and General Carrier]


‘JEAN D ARC’ Built 1891. Steel barque of 1303 Tons. Length; 228.3 ft. Breadth; 34.6 ft. Depth; 21 ft. Built by Actel and Chant De La Loire. Owned by P. Dor. Master. Captain J Dieulangard. She was sold to the Italians and renamed ‘Doride’ Her new master was Captain G Pollio.[General Carrier]


‘JEANNE De ARC’ ex ‘Belen’


‘JEANNIE LANDLES’ later ‘Compte De Smet De Naeyer’


‘JERSBEK’ ex ‘Lyderhorn’


‘JERUSALEM’ Built 1867. Wood ship of 901 Tons. Length; 196.5 ft. Breadth; 33.7 ft. Depth; 20.7 ft. Built by Hood of Aberdeen for the White Star Line. She was an Australian passenger ship and remained in that trade until sold to the Norwegians. Master; Captain Mark Breach then Captain Largia. Registered; Aberdeen HVLF. She left New Brunswick under the Norwegian flag on the 28th of October 1893 and was never seen again. G Thompson owned her in her Aberdeen days. [Passenger liner]


‘JESSIE CRAIG’ ex ‘Isola’


‘JESSIE OSBORNE’ Built 1874. Iron barque of 1110 Tons. Length; 221 ft. Breadth; 34.3 ft. Depth; 20.7 ft. Built at Glasgow by Swan and Brown. Master; Captain J Williams then. Captain M Porter. Her captain had to shoot dead a madman on her maiden voyage, the seaman took off into the rigging with a knife and for the next five days, he hacked her rigging apart until the captain shot him down. The captain had hailed down the ship ‘Glance’ to act as witness to the shooting. She was sold to the Americans and renamed ‘Mariposa’ . She was sold back to the British and given her old name back and then finally she was sold to the Norwegians who renamed her ‘Okta’ and they had her until she was wrecked on the Rocks, Tasmania in 1913.[Passenger and General Carrier]


‘JOHN CURRIER’ Built 1882. Steel ship of 1945 Tons. Length; 235.8 ft. Breadth; 42.8 ft. Depth; 26.8 ft. Built at Newburyport, Mass, USA for John Currier. Master; Captain Leroy Dow. She was wrecked at Nelsons Lagoon, Bristol Bay, Alaska on August 9th 1907.[General Carrier]


‘JOHN D SPRECKLES’ Built 1880. Wood schooner of 267 Tons. Length; 124.6 ft. Breadth; 31.2 ft. Depth; 10.9 ft. Built by M Turner at San Francisco for J.D Spreckles of Hawaii. Master’ Captain A.G McNeilll. Registered; San Francisco, USA.[General Carrier]


‘JOHN DUTHIE’ Built 1864. Iron ship of 1031 Tons. Length; 196 ft. Breadth; 34.7 ft. Depth; 21.8 ft. Built by Duthie of Aberdeen for themselves. Master; Captain Levi. She was placed in the Australian passenger trade in which she proved popular.[Passenger liner]


‘JOHN ENA’ Built 1892. Steel ship of 2842 Tons. Length; 312.9 ft. Breadth; 48.1 ft. Depth; 25 ft. Built by R Duncan and Co for the San Francisco Shipping Company. Master; Captain C Schnauer [1895-1910] She was the fastest ship in the Hawaiian trade in the early 1900’s. After many good years sailing, she ended her days laid up in Oakland creek, California.[General Carrier]


‘JOHN LOCKETT’ Built 1884. Iron barque of 841 Tons. Length; 200.9 ft. Breadth; 32 ft. Depth; 18.8 ft. Built by Evans at Liverpool for the Lockett family. Master; Captain J Kitchen in 1892.She was bought by J.B Warmsley and was owned by him in 1892. [General Carrier]


‘JOHN MURRAY’ ex ‘Loch Ryan’


‘JOHN O’GAUNT’ Built 1855. Wood ship of 859 Tons. Length; 177.5 ft. Breadth; 32.1 ft. Depth; 21.1 ft. Built at Whitehaven. Owned by Chisholm and Co. Reg; Liverpool. Master; Captain J. Smith then Captain G. Thompson in 1863/4.


‘JOHN O’GAUNT’ Built 1869. Iron ship of 1278 Tons. Length; 219.5 ft. Breadth; 37.2 ft. Depth; 22.8 ft. Built by Clover for Williamson, Milligan and Co. They sold her to James Beazley and he ran her in the Australian passenger trade for many years. Master; Captain T Powles. He and his wife created a good and happy homely atmosphere aboard this ship. She was sold to the Chileans in 1902 and they renamed her ‘Gregorio Padre’ . She was resold in 1908 to the Finns under whom she went off the register in 1909.[Passenger and General Carrier]


‘JOHN RENNIE’ Built 1863. Wood ship of 848 Tons. Length; 177 ft. Breadth'’32.6 ft. Depth; 20.7 ft. Built by Rennie of London . She was sold to Devitt and Moore for the Australian trade. Master; Captain Northey then Captain Nicholson. She was still sailing in 1882.[Passenger and General Carrier]


‘JORDAN HILL’ Built 1892. Steel barque of 2291 Tons. Length; 278.4 ft. Breadth; 42 ft. Depth; 24.2 ft. Built by Russell at Port Glasgow for T Law and Co. Master; Captain G Kennedy. Registered; Glasgow. She was sold to Spain in 1920 and became the Spanish training ship ‘Augustella’. She was registered at Genoa, Italy in 1922.[General Carrier and Training ship]


‘JOSEFA’ Built 1866. Wood barque of 324 Tons. Length; 120 ft. Breadth; 23.4 ft. Depth; 15.6 ft. Built by Ariza. Registered; Bristol, England. Master; Captain J Castello.[General Carrier and Coastal Trader]


‘JOSEPHA’ Built 1872. Iron barque of 875 Tons. Length; 176 ft. Breadth; 31 ft. Depth; 19.5 ft. Built in Glasgow by Stephen. Sold to the Germans in 1880. Owned by D Wadjen of Bremen in 1881. She found the big French carrier '‘France'’ on her beam ends when that ship met her fate in May 1901. [Passenger and General Carrier]


‘JOSEPH B THOMAS’ Built 1881. Wood ship of 1938 Tons. Length; 234.3 ft. Breadth; 42.3 ft. Depth; 27.2 ft. Built by S Watts for S Watts. Master; Captain William J Learmond. She ended her days as a barge owned by Scully of New York in 1910.[General Carrier]


‘JOSEPH CRAIG’ ex ‘Dunblane’


‘JOSEPHITA’ ex ‘Gwendoline’


‘JOSHUA BATES’ Built 1843. Wood ship of app 850 Tons. She was built by Donald Mackay for the White Diamond Line and was the first ship to sail for that line. [Passenger liner]


‘JUANA PERAL’ ex ‘Clan Ferguson’


‘JUAN SEBASTIAN De ELCANO’ [Spanish training ship]


‘JUPITER’ ex ‘LORD Dufferin’


‘JUTEOPOLIS’ Built 1891. Steel four-mast barque of 2842 Tons. Length; 310 ft. Breadth; 45 ft. Depth; 25.1 ft. Built by Thompson for Barrie. She was bought from them by Sir William Garthwaite and renamed ‘Garthpool’. Master; Captain Shippen. She made a very different voyage at one time when she could not make the trip from Sydney to Perth, Western Australia because of strong headwinds. Her captain turned her around and ran her before the breeze all the way to Perth via South America in 76 days. She was sold in 1925 to the Yorke Peninsular Company and they converted her to a hulk.[General Carrier]

                                   K


‘KAIULANI’ BUILT 1899. Steel barque of 1571 Tons. Length; 225.7 ft. Breadth; 32.3 ft. Depth; 20 ft. Built by A Sewall for Williams, Dimond and Co of San Francisco. In 1905 during the coal strike at Newcastle, NSW, this vessel was chartered to go with many others to San Francisco. She was favorite to win the race but was beaten by the big ship ‘Daylight’ She was later sold to the Alaska Packers and renamed ‘Star of Finland’. [General Carrier]


‘KALEVA’ Built 1863. Wood bark of 464 Tons. Length; 134.9 ft. Breadth; 32.0 ft. Depth; 16.8 ft. Owned by Akties Kaleva. Reg; Brevig, Norway. Master; Captain H. C. Hansen.


‘KALEVA’ ex ‘Zealandia’ Stranded in 1911 under Russian ownership.


SS’KANIMBLA’ Built 1936. Steel twin screw steamer of 10,985 Tons. Length; 468.8 ft. Breadth; 66.3 ft. Depth; 30.2 ft. Built by Harland and Wolf for McIlwraith, McEachern. Registered; VLFS Melbourne, Australia. Engine; 1305 Nhp.[Passenger and General Cargo]


‘KARHU’ ex ‘Lalla Rookh’


‘KASSA’ Built 1868. Wood bark of 316 Tons. Length; 125.1 ft. Breadth; 25.1 ft. Depth; 12.6 ft. Built by Esnouf and Mauger at Jersey. Registered; Hobart, Tasmania. Master; Captain H Brown. She was an Australian coastal vessel.[Coastal Trader]


‘KASSAI’ ex ‘Blackbraes’


‘KATANGA’ ex ‘Madagascar’


‘KATE’ ex ‘Katherine’ ex ‘County of Linlithgow’


‘KATE G PEDERSEN’ Built 1920. Wood five-mast Schooner of 2269 Tons. Length; 264.6 ft. Breadth; 46.1 ft. Depth; 24 ft. Built by Sommarstrom of Columbia City, Oregon. Owned by the Northern Fisheries. Master; Captain G.G Webster. Registered; San Francisco KGNH.[General Carrier]


‘KATE THOMAS’ Built 1885. Iron four mast Barque of 1748 Tons. Length; 258 ft. Breadth; 39.5 ft. Depth; 23.1 ft. Built by Doxford. She ran into and sank the big steam ship ‘Blanefield’ in 1906. She was in turn, run into and sunk by the steamer ‘India’. She sank in just eight minutes with only one survivor, an apprentice named Jack Nelson.[General Carrier]


‘KATHERINE’ ex ‘County of Linlithgow’


‘KENNILWORTH’ Built 1887. Steel four-mast ship of 2308 Tons. Length; 300.2 ft. Breadth; 43.1 ft. Depth; 24.2 ft. Built by Reid, Williamson and Milligan for the Waverley Line. Master; Captain McNair. She was badly burned on the 26th August 1889. She was bought by the Americans and rebuilt for the ‘Downeaster’ trade. They sold her to the Alaska Packers who renamed her ‘Star of Scotland’. [General Cargo and Fish Carrier]


‘KENT’ Built 1853. Wood frigate of 998 Tons. Length; 186 ft. Breadth; app 32 ft. Depth; app 21.5 ft. Built at the Blackwall yards for Wigram. She was an armed frigate that was placed in the Australian Passenger trade. Master; Captain Clayton. She ended her career as a hulk on the West Coast of America. [Passenger Liner]


‘KESTREL’ Built 1874. Wood brigantine of 158 Tons. Length; 102.6 ft. Breadth; 22 ft. Depth; 11.9 ft. Built at Falmouth for J Munn. [Bristol trader and Fish Carrier]


‘KHORASAN’ Built 1864. Iron barque of 1086 Tons. Length;190.5 FT. Breadth; 34.4 ft. Depth; 22 ft. Built by J Reid and Co. She was sold to the Germans and was involved in a collision with the Bark, ‘Inverlyon’ that was sunk. The master of ‘Khorasan’ was criticised for not aiding the crew of ‘Inverlyon’ as she was sinking but he argued that he was worried for his own crew and ship during the hectic moments of the sinking. Master; Captain A. Kohler. Registered; Bremen and owned by C.H.H Winters at that time.[Passenger and General Carrier]


‘KHYBER’ Built 1880. Iron ship of 1967 Tons. Length; 276.6 ft. Breadth; 40.1 ft. Depth; 24.2 ft. Built by W.H Potter for Brocklebank. She was sold to J Joyce and Co of Liverpool. Master; Captain Henry Rothery. She was wrecked on the Cornish coast in 1905. [General Carrier]


‘KILLARNEY’ Built 1892. Iron barque of 1413 Tons. Length; 229.8 ft. Breadth; 37.2 ft. Depth; 22 ft. Built by R. Evans and Co for J.B Warmsley at Liverpool. Master; Captain R Davies. Registered; Liverpool 99370 MPCB.[General Carrier]


‘KILMALLIE’ Built 1893. Steel barque of 1634 Tons. Length; 245.8 ft. Breadth; 37.6 ft. Depth; 22.7 ft. Built by Russell for Kerr, Newton. She was one of the last deep water sailing ships to be built in Britain. She was broken up in 1926.[General Carrier]


‘KILMORY’ Built 1885. Iron ship of 1630 Tons. Length; 259.1 ft. Breadth; 38.2 ft. Depth; 22.8 ft. Built by Russell for Kerr - Newton. She was sold to E.W Roberts of Glasgow. Registered; Glasgow 90090 KDBP. Master; Captain Corrance. She was sold and renamed ‘Cassius’ then resold to the Norwegians and renamed ‘Asgerd’.[General Carrier]


‘KINCARDINSHIRE’ Built 1883. Iron barque of 1282 Tons. Length; 237.9 ft. Breadth; 36.1 ft. Depth; 21.1 ft. Built by Russell for the ‘Shire’ line. She foundered on March 8th 1887.[General Carrier]


‘KING ARTHUR’ Built 1887. Iron ship of 1674 Tons. Length; 257.6 ft. Breadth; 38.2 ft. Depth; 23.2 ft. Built by W Thompson at Dundee. Owned by G Granlund and Co of Russia after being sold to them in 1907. She was renamed ‘Finland’ after her adopted country even though they were Russian controlled at the time. Master; Captain K.A Lauren. Registered; Raumo, Russia VDHR
[General Carrier]


‘KING CENRIC’ Built 1874.Wood ship of 1519 Tons. Length;208.5 ft. Breadth; 39.3 ft. Depth; 24 ft. Built by Dunlop at St John. Owned by the Leyland Brothers in 1885. She was sold to Norway in 1889 and was stranded at Mossel Bay in 1903. [Passenger and General Carrier]


SS ‘KINROSS’ Built 1918. Steel ship of 5234 Tons. Length; 400 ft. Breadth; 52.3 ft. Depth; 28.5 ft. Built by Sir R Dixon at Middlesboro. Registered; Newcastle, England 75634 KVPT.[General Freighter]


SS ‘KINROSS’ Built 1935. Steel ship of 4956 Tons. Length; 412.2 ft. Breadth; 54.2 ft. Depth; 26.1 ft. Built by W Doxford and Son for B.J Sutherland and Co. Registered; Newcastle, England GYGS. Engine; 388 Nhp.[General Freighter]


‘KINROSS-SHIRE’ Built 1893. Steel four-mast barque of 2299 Tons. Length; 282.2 ft. Breadth; 42.5 ft. Depth; 24.7 ft. Built by Russell for Law. Master; Captain W Cooper. She was sold to the Norwegians and renamed ‘Fiorino’ . She went missing with all hands in December 1920.[General Carrier]


’KIRKCUDBRIGHTSHIRE’ Built 1884. Iron ship of 1482 Tons. Length; 250 ft. Breadth; 38.3 ft. Depth; 22.9 ft. Built by Russell for the ‘Shire’ line. She ended her time as a hulk at Fremantle, Western Australia.[General Carrier]


‘KJOBENHAVEN’ Built 1921.Steel five-mast barque of 3901 Tons. Length; 368.9 ft. Breadth; 49.3 ft. Depth; 26.9 ft. Built as a Danish training ship along with the ship ‘Viking’. Master; Captain Andersen. She went missing with all hands in December 1928, while on a voyage from Buenos Ayres to Melbourne. She had a crew of 15 Officers and ratings with 45 cadets.[Training Ship]


‘KNIGHT OF THE GARTER’ Built 1877. Iron ship of 1434 Tons. Length; 233 ft. Breadth; 37.9 ft. Depth; 22.8 ft. Built by Royden. Owned by Greenshields, Cowie and Co. Master; Captain A Gordon. She was originally a Jute Clipper and was sold to the French who renamed her ‘Gaspare’ . She was then sold to the South Americans who renamed her ‘Montevideo’.[Jute clipper]


‘KNIGHT OF THE THISTLE’ Built 1878. Iron ship of 1428 Tons. Length; 232.6 ft. Breadth; 37.9 ft. Depth; 22.7 ft. Built by Royden as a sister ship to ‘Knight of the Garter’. Owned by Greenshields, Cowie. Master; Captain R Munroe then Captain Vanstone then Captain H.O Saintly. She was sold to the Norwegians who named her ‘Hoppet’ in 1907.They sold her to the Finns who renamed her ‘Nova’ in 1914. She was laid up in Argentina in 1920 until the Uruguayans bought her and refitted her in 1926-27. They renamed her ‘Don Diego’ . Master; Captain Thorensen. Owned by H.E Wolden. Registered; Montevideo MBGC.[General Carrier]


‘KOORINGA’ ex ‘Ravenstondale’ Built 1874. Iron barque of 1175 Tons. Length; app 195 ft. Breadth; app 33.5 ft. Depth; app 21 ft. Built at South Shields and Owned by Trinder, Anderson. She was placed in the Australian passenger service.[Passenger and General Carrier]


SS ‘KOORINGA’ Built 1902. Steel screw steamer of 339 Tons. Length; 135.2 ft. Breadth; 23.2 ft. Depth; 11.2 ft. Built by Napier, Miller. Owned by the Gulf Shipping Company. Registered; Port Adelaide, Australia. Engine; 61 Nhp. Master; Captain G Mckay. [Lighter and coastal trader]


‘KOSCIOSCO’ Built 1862. Wood ship of 1192 Tons. Length; 212.5 ft. Breadth; 36.3 ft. Depth; 22.3 ft. Built for the White Star Line and ran in the Australian passenger service until bought by the Cowislaw Brothers. She was again sold, this time to H Forsyth of Sydney. Master; Captain Rodd. She was bark rigged in 1897 and ended her days being broken up in Canton, China.[Passenger liner]


’KRUZENSHTERN’ ex ‘’Padua’


‘KURT’ Built 1901. Steel four-mast barque of 3109 Tons. Length; 335.3 ft. Breadth; 46.9 ft. Depth; 26.6 ft. Built by W. Hamilton and Co at Port Glasgow. Master; Captain C. Schutto. Registered; Hamburg, Germany. She was sold and renamed ‘Moshulu’ and although she did some passenger service, she entered the grain trade to serve out her time. [Atlantic trader and Grain Carrier]


‘KWANGO’ ex ‘Dimsdale’


‘KYLEMORE’ Built 1880. Steel barque of 1229 Tons. Length; 226.2 ft. Breadth; 36.4 ft. Depth; 22.1 ft. Built by J Reid. Owned by R.K Bager in 1926/27. Registered; Marstal, Denmark NVBD. Master; Captain C Aaberg. [General Carrier]

                                                          L

‘LA ARGENTINA’ ex ‘Durham’

SS ‘LA BURGOGNE’ Built 1885. Steel four-mast screw steamer of 7395 Tons. Length; 495.4 ft. Breadth; 51.8 ft5. Depth; 34.5 ft. Built by Forges and Chantiers and Co of France. Registered; Havre, France. Master; Captain Leboeuf. She was sunk in a collision with the ‘Cromartyshire’ in July 1898. The loss of life was great with 580 being drowned. [Passenger liner]

‘LADAS’ Built 1894. Steel barque of 1395 Tons. Length; 233.3 ft Breadth; 36.9 ft. Depth; 22 ft. Built by Ritson for Ritson. She was named after a Derby winner owned by Lord Roseberry. Master; Captain Messenger. Then Captain Ritson. She was sold to Norway in 1921 and renamed ‘Findana’, then sold to the Germans who renamed her ‘Hinschenfelde’ in 1924. Registered; Hamburg, RBWV. Master; Captain E Peitzmeyer.[General Carrier]

‘LADY DARLING’ Wood two mast brig used in the blackbirder trade c1860-75

‘LADYE DORIS’ Built 1901. Steel ship of 1947 Tons. Length; 267.4 ft. Breadth; 40.1 ft. Depth; 23.6 ft. Built by W. Hamilton at Port Glasgow for W. Montgomery. Master; Captain C. G. Wood. Registered; London.

‘LADY ISABELLA’ Built 1882. Iron ship of 1520 Tons. Length; 255.7 ft. Breadth; 38.3 ft. Depth; 20.6 ft. Built by McMillan at Dumbarton. Owned by Gordon and Co in `1902. Registered; Glasgow.[General Carrier]


‘LADY JOCELYN’ ex ‘Brazil’ Built 1852.

‘LADY KENNAWAY’ Built 1817. Wood ship of 584 Tons. Built at Calcutta, India. She was a convict vessel that did three voyages to Australia with convicts, 1835, 1836 and 1851. [Convict ship and General Carrier]

‘LADY LAWRENCE’ Built 1868. Iron ship of 1407 Tons. Length; 225 ft. Breadth; 37.7 ft. Depth; 23.6 ft. Built by Royden of Liverpool. Master; Captain J McAvoy. Registered; Liverpool. [Passenger and General Carrier]


‘LADY LINA’ ex ‘Cape St Vincent’

‘LADY NELSON’ Built 1797/98 at Deadmans Dock, Deptford, England. Wood two-mast brig of 61 Tons. Length; 52.6 ft. Breadth; 17.6 ft. Depth; app 11 ft. She was armed with 6 carronades. Lieutenant James Grant RN who took her to Sydney arriving there on The 16th of December 1800 commanded her first. She had been launched on the 13th of November 1798 and she departed Portsmouth, England on the 18th of March 1800 arriving at Cape Town on the 7th of July and departing that port on the 7th of October 1800. She arrived off Cape Shank, Victoria, on the 3rd of December 1800. Her designer was Captain Shank who it appears, had the Victorian Cape named after him at that time by Lieutenant James Grant who handed the little vessel over to Lieutenant John Murray who was given command of her in 1801 and who discovered Port Phillip, Victoria, in 1802. She was used for voyages from Port Jackson to chart the southern coastline. [Exploration Vessel]


SS ’LADY NORMAN’ ex SS ‘Sea Horse’
[Blackbirder].

‘LA EPOCA’ ex ‘Corunna’

‘LA FONTAINE’ Built 1899.Steel barque of 2310 Tons. Length; 275.5 ft Breadth; 40.4 ft. Depth; 22.6 ft. Built by Atel and Chant De La Loire of Nantes, France for Guillon and Fleury. Master; Captain Haumon. Registered; Nantes SVLS. She was sold to Chile and was in port damaged in 1922.[General Carrier]

‘LA FRANCE’ Built 1871. Iron five mast Auxiliary barque of 3246 Tons. Length; 426 ft. Breadth; 36 ft. Depth; 32 ft. Built by Forges Chantiers at La Seyne, France Reg; Marslls. Engine 450 Nhp.[General Carrier]

‘LA GLOIRE’ . Built 1859.Wood three-mast ship of 5600 Tons displacement She was built in France and had an iron belt placed around her hull which was almost 5 inches thick. She began the trail of iron clad ships that led to the great battle ships of the 20th century.

‘LA HOGUE’ Built 1855. Wood ship of 1331 Tons. Length; 226 ft. Breadth; 35 ft. Depth; 22.9 ft. Built by Laing of Sunderland. Owned by Devitt and Moore for the Australian passenger service. Master; Captain F Wagstaff then Captain W. Goddard. She was hulked in 1892.[Passenger Liner]

‘LAHLOO’ Built 1867. Composite ship of 799 Tons. Length; 191.6 ft. Breadth; 32.9 ft. Depth; 19.9 ft. Built by Steele for Roger and Co. [British tea clipper]

‘LAIRA’ Built 1870. Iron barque of 492 Tons. Length; 156.1 ft. Breadth; 27.3 ft. Depth; 16.7 ft. Built by Pile of Sunderland. Owned by F.N Hill in 1902. Master; Captain W Trevena then Captain Gibbon. She was sunk in a collision in 1898 and she was quickly refloated and repaired before being sold. [Passenger and General Carrier]

‘LAKE SUPERIOR’ Built 1868. Iron schooner of 1274 Tons. Length; 231.9 ft Breadth; 35.9 ft. Depth; 22.3 ft. Built by Steele of Greenock for the Canada Shipping Company. Master; Captain Picken in 1881. Registered; Montreal, Canada. She was sold and renamed ‘Superior’ then sold to the Norwegians and renamed ‘Fjelltun’ in 1922. [General Carrier]

‘LALLA ROOKH’ Built 1876. Iron barque of 814 Tons. Length; 196.3 ft. Breadth; 31.9 ft. Depth; 19.7 ft. Built by Evans of Liverpool for E.C Friend. She was sold to the Newark Shipping Company in 1898. They sold her to Lever Brothers in 1904 and she then ran under the Sunlight flag. She was sold to the Norwegians in 1906-7 and was renamed ‘Effendi’ . She was resold to the Finns and renamed ‘Karhu’. They sold her and she was given the name ‘Belona’ until bought by Captain Gustav Erikson in 1926.[Soap and General Carrier]

‘LALLAH ROOKH’ Wood Ketch of 59 Tons. Length; 75 ft. Breadth; 18.6 ft. Depth; 6.9 ft. She foundered off the Queensland coast while en-route from Townsville to Maryborough in 1899.[Blackbirder]

‘LAMMERMUIR’ Built 1856. Wood ship of 952 Tons. Length; 178 ft. Breadth; 34 ft. Depth; 19.7 ft. Built by Pile of Sunderland for J Willis. Master; Captain Shewan. She was placed in the Australian passenger service and was also a tea clipper of note. [Passenger ship and Tea Clipper]

‘LANARKSHIRE’ Built 1873. Iron ship of 794 Tons. Length; 195 ft. Breadth; 32.2 ft. Depth; 19.7 ft. Built by Dobie and Co. She was wrecked on a voyage to Leith from Port Elizabeth in January 1901.[General Carrier]

‘LANCING’ ex ‘Periere’ Built 1865. Iron four-mast barque of 2764 Tons.

‘LANGDALE’ Built 1885. Iron ship of 1916 Tons. Length; 275 ft. Breadth; 40.1 ft. Depth; 24.2 ft. Built by Potter and Co, Master; Captain Kelly. She was owned by the ‘Dale’ line.[General Carrier]

‘LANGLANDS’ Built 1875. Iron barque of 682 Tons. Length; 173.6 ft. Breadth; 29.6 ft. Depth; 17.6 ft. Built by R Dixon at Middlesboro. She was sold to Captain B Ballestrino of Italy and was renamed‘ Maria Madre’. [General Carrier]

‘LAPWING’ ex ‘Marguerite Elise’ Built 1891

‘LARGIEMORE’ Built 1892. Steel ship of 1938 Tons. Length; 262.8 ft. Breadth; 39 ft. Depth; 23.6 ft. Built by Russell for Thompson, Dickie and Co. Master; Captain Spencer. She was sold to the Norwegians in 1910 and went missing in 1914. [General Carrier]

‘LARGO BAY’ Built 1878. Iron barque of 1178 Tons. Length; 221.9 ft. Breadth; 35.8 ft. Depth; 21.2 ft. Built by J. Key and Sons at Kinghorn. Owned by Hatfield, Cameron and Co in 1885. Registered; Glasgow. She was the last of the ‘Bay’ line along with ‘St Mary’s Bay’ [General Carrier]


‘LASBEK’ ex ‘Ben Dearg’

‘LAURA’ ex ‘Claus’ ex ‘Travencore’

‘LAURELBANK’ Built 1893. Steel four-mast barque of 2297 Tons. Length; 282.9 ft. Breadth; 43 ft. Depth; 24.4 ft. Built by Russell for Andrew Weirs ‘Bank’ line of Glasgow. Master; Captain H. K. Lindsay. She went missing in January 1899 and was posted on the 25th of that month. [General Carrier]

‘LAURISTON’ Built 1892. Steel four-mast barque of 2301 Tons. Length; 284.6 ft. Breadth; 42 ft. Depth; 24.4 ft. Built by Workman . She was sold to Galbraith, Hill and Co in 1902 and they in turn sold her to George Duncan and Co in 1905. She was sold to the Russians in 1925 and renamed ‘Tovarisch’ and she operated as a training ship for them although her first voyage with them was under the command of a British captain who deserted the ship for reasons unknown at Port Talbot. The ship had only one person who could navigate, a woman. She took control and sailed the vessel back to Leningrad with the 45 cadets manning the ship. In 1927, the vessel was involved in a collision with the steamship, ‘Alcantra’ and the steamer went to the bottom very quickly leaving only one survivor. The survivor was an engineer who managed to grab the back ropes of the ‘Tovarisch’ as his own ship sank beneath him. Master; Captain Ernest Friedman. [General Carrier and Training Ship]

‘L’AVENIR’ Built 1908. Steel four-mast barque of 2738 Tons. Length; 278.2 ft. Breadth; 44.8 ft. Depth; 26.5 ft. Built by Rickmers at Bremerhaven for Associated Maritime, Belge. She was built as a Belgian training ship. She was later sold by them and was renamed ‘Admiral Karpfanger’ and she was lost with all hands in 1938. Master; Captain Zander. Registered at Antwerp at the end of her days.[Training Ship and General Carrier]

‘LAVINA’ Built 1876. Wood brigantine of 125 Tons. Length; 98.6 ft. Breadth; 20.8 ft. Depth; 9.1 ft. Built by Roderick and McPherson at Port Stephens, NSW. Registered Brisbane, Qld 70810 WNTV. Owned by R McBurney in 1892. [Blackbirder]

‘LAVINIA’ Built c 1870. Wood barque of 349 Tons. Length; 125.8 ft. Breadth; 27.7 ft. Depth; 15.4 ft. Built at P.E Island by Mason. Owned by W Hamilton. Registered; Adelaide, South Australia.. Master; Captain Valintyne. [Coastal Trader]

‘LAWHILL’ Steel four mast Barque [research needed]

‘LEADING WIND’ Built 1874. Iron ship of 1208 Tons. Length; 186 ft. Breadth; 37 ft. Depth; 22 ft. Built at Bath for W.A Rust. She caught fire at Auckland New Zealand in 1891 and her crew scuttled her to put the fire out. She was raised and repaired and sold to the Norwegians. They renamed her ‘Fjord’. Her master under the British flag was Captain F.H Hinchley. [Passenger and General Carrier]


‘LEIF GUNDERSEN’ ex ‘Bannochburn’

‘LEMKENHAVEN’ ex ‘Donna Francisca’

‘LEONIDA’ ex ‘Nebo’

‘LETIZIA’ ex ‘Lufra’

‘LIBERTAD’ Steel square-rigger of the Argentine navy. [Naval Training Ship]

‘LIGHT BRIGADE’ ex ‘Ocean Telegraph’

‘LIGHTNING’ Built 1854. Wood ship of 2084 Tons. Length; 244 ft. Breadth; 44 ft. Depth; 23 ft. Built by Donald Mackay of the USA. Master; Captain Bully Forbes. She was sold to James Baines of the Blackball line and was placed in the Australian passenger service. Her first voyage to Australia was on the 31st of October 1869. After many years in that service, she caught fire at the Geelong, Victoria pier. The fire was discovered at 1.30am and it was soon apparent that she could not be saved. Her Iron foremast melted in its steps and the fire raged out of control all day. She finally burned to the waterline at sunset after attempts had been made to sink her with cannon fire. [Passenger Liner]

‘LEICESTER CASTLE’ Built 1882. Steel ship of 2067 Tons. Length; app 265 ft. Breadth; app 41 ft. Depth; 23 ft. Built at Southampton for J Coupland. Bought by R.A Smith and Co c1889. Resold to J. Joyce and Co at the turn of the 20th century. She had a murder aboard her in 1902, which was the end result of a mutiny. The three mutineers escaped on a raft leaving the captain wounded and the second mate dead. The ship was eventually sold and was renamed ‘Vik’ by the Norwegians. [General Carrier]

‘LIKA’ ex ‘Dumbarton Rock’

‘LILLIAN MORRIS’ Built 1875. Iron barque of 769 Tons. Length; 195.3 ft. Breadth; 31.3 ft. Depth; 19.1 ft. Built at Sunderland for Beynon and Co. She was sold to the Italians in 1902 and renamed ‘Pasqualino’ . She was sold again and renamed ‘Paysandu’ then after a short period, she was resold and renamed ‘Ibaizabal’ of Spain. They sold her in 1923 and she was renamed ‘Maria Luitza’ . She was re-rigged as an Auxiliary twin screw steamer when under the name ‘Paysandu’. Master; Captain F.Talavera of Spain. [General Carrier]

‘LINCOLNSHIRE’ Built 1858 Wood ship of 1025 Tons. Length; 197.4 ft. Breadth; 33 ft. Depth; 20.8 ft. Built by the Blackwall yards in London for Wigram. Master; Captain H Shimer. She was sold to the Norwegians in 1880, condemned in 1881 and wrecked in 1882. [Passenger Liner]

‘LINDFIELD’ Built 1891.Steel four-mast barque of 2280 Tons. Length; 277.5 ft. Breadth; 42 ft. Depth; 24.2 ft. Built by Russell at Glasgow. She was bought by Shaw-Savill for the New Zealand trade. Master; Captain W Patterson. Registered; Glasgow. A German submarine sank her in 1916. [General Carrier]

‘LINDISFARNE’ Built 1886.Iron ship of 1703 Tons. Length; 250.8 ft. Breadth; 39 ft. Depth; 24 ft. Built by Richardson, Duck. Sold to the Russians after going ashore on King Island, Bass Strait in 1904. She was refloated and was still going under the Russian flag in 1912 while owned by A Blom. [General Carrier]

‘LISBETH’ ex ‘Pendragon Castle’


‘LINLITHGOWSHIRE’ ex ‘Compte De Smet De Naeyer’ ex ‘Jeannie Landles’


‘LISMORE’ Built 1885. Iron ship of 1676 Tons. Length; 255 ft. Breadth; 39 ft. Depth; 22.9 ft. Built by Connell and was bought by Cornfoot and Co. Master; Captain Cowell then Captain A Ferguson. Registered; Glasgow HCJQ in 1897. She was wrecked on Santa Maria island on the 1st of June 1906, the captain and most of the crew were drowned. [General Carrier]

‘LIVERPOOL’ Built 1888. Iron ship of 3330 Tons. Length; 333.2 ft. Breadth; 47.9 ft. Depth; 26.5 ft. Built by Russell for R.W Leyland and Co. Master; Captain Tom Calder. She was a big passenger ship in the Australian trade. She went ashore on Alderney island in the English Chanel on February 25th 1902 and became a total loss. [Passenger and General Carrier]


‘LLEWELLYN J MORSE’ Built 1877. Wood ship of 1393 Tons.Length; 198.2 ft. Breadth; 47.9 ft. Depth; 26.5 ft. Built by J Oakes and Son for J Rosenfeld. She was sold in later life to the famous Movie fleet. She went ashore and was burned in the 1930’s. [General Carrier and Movie Star]

‘LOCH ARD’ Built 1873. Iron ship of 1624 Tons. Length; 255.8 ft. Breadth; 38.3 ft. Depth; 23 ft. Built by Connell of Glasgow for the Glasgow Shipping Company. She was then sold to Aitken Lilburn who put her into the Australian trade. She was dismasted on her maiden voyage to Australia and she spent some time getting into Melbourne. She was under Captain Robertson on that trip and he was succeeded by Captain Gibb who had just been married and he took his young wife with him on the third voyage to Australia. On the 9th of April 1878, ‘Loch Ard’ went ashore in heavy weather at Curdies Inlet near Port Campbell, Victoria. Of the 52 person aboard, only two survived. A young woman passenger [Eva Carmichael] and an apprentice seaman [Tom Pearse] managed to swim ashore. Pearse was made a hero for his actions during and after the wreck and he went on to be shipwrecked again a year later on the ‘Loch Sunart’. He also lost his son on the ‘Loch Vennachar’ in 1905 when that whip was wrecked on Kangaroo island, South Australia. Tom Pearse retired from the sea in 1908 after he had advanced to the position of Captain of a Royal Mail steamer. He was in his late forties when he died. Eva Carmichael married and lived a long life after losing almost all her family in the tragedy of the ‘Loch Ard’ shipwreck.[Passenger and General Carrier]

‘LOCH AWE’ Built 1869. Iron ship of 1053 Tons. Length; 217.7 ft. Breadth34.5 ft. Depth; 21 ft. Built by Barclay, Curle and Co for J and R Wilson. They sold her to Aitken, Lilburn for the Australian trade. Master; Captain Weir. [Passenger and General Carrier]

LOCH BROOM’ Built 1885. Iron four mast ship of 2075 Tons. Length; 287.7 ft. Breadth; 422.5 ft. Depth; 24.1 ft. Built by Barclay, Curle for the General Shipping Company. They sold her to Aitken, Lilburn who placed her in the Australian trade. She was the last of the ‘Loch’ line. She was sold to the Norwegians in 1912 and was renamed ‘Songdal’ . She ended her days under that flag. [General Carrier]

‘LOCH CARRON’ Built 1885. Iron four mast ship of 2075 Tons.Length; 287.7 ft. Breadth; 42.5 ft. Depth; 24.1 ft. Built by Barclay, Curle for the General Shipping Company. She was chartered by Aitken, Lilburn for the Australian trade and was almost lost in 1889. She survived this trauma and went on to be involved in a collision with the ship ‘Inverkip’ and the captain and crew of ‘Loch Carron’ watched as those aboard the ‘Inverkip’ drowned, including the captain and his wife. Master; Captain Clarke. She was sold to Norway in 1912 and renamed ‘Seileren’.She was bark rigged later in her life. [General Carrier]

‘LOCH CREE’ Built 1874. Iron barque of 791 Tons. Length; 197,6 ft. Breadth; 32.1 ft. Depth; 18.4 ft. Built in Glasow for J Sproats ‘Loch’ line of Liverpool. She was sold to genoese owners in 1910 and renamed ‘Giovanna B’. She was then resold and was renamed ‘Castaqua’ in 1914. [General Carrier]

‘LOCH DOON’ Built 1872. Iron barque of 786 Tons. Length; 195.6 ft. Breadth; 32.1 ft. Depth; 18.4 ft. Built by Hamilton of Glasgow for Sproats ‘Loch’ line of Liverpool. Master; Captain Cummings then Captain Robert Mainland. She was sold to the Norwegians and renamed ‘Birger’.She went ashore in 1902 and was condemned. [General Carrier]

‘LOCH ETIVE’ Built 1877. Iron ship of 1235 Tons. Length; 226.5 ft Breadth; 35.9 ft. Depth; 21.6 ft. Built by Inglis of Glasgow for the ‘Loch Line’ of Aitken, Lilburn. This line was owned by the General Shipping Company of Glasgow and was Managed by Aitken, Lilburn.Master; Captain Stuart. He died at sea aboard her and was buried at sea on the 21st of September 1894 this was also his birthday. She was sold to the French in 1911 for 1350 pounds. [General Carrier]

‘LOCH FINLAS’ ex ‘Bactria’ Built 1885. Iron ship of 2112 Tons.Length; 279 ft. Breadth; 40.2 ft. Depth; 24.3 ft. Built by Oswald, Mordaunt and Co for Brocklebank. She was sold to Sproat of Liverpool for his ‘Loch’ line and was eventually wrecked on rocks at Fosters Island near Tasmania in the early 1900’s. [General Carrier]

‘LOCH GARRY’ Built 1875. Iron ship of 1493 Tons. Length; 250.5 ft. Breadth; 38.4 ft. Depth; 22.6 ft. Built by Thompson of Glasgow for the Glasgow Shipping Company. Master; Captain Horne. She was sold to the Italians in March 1911. [General Carrier]

‘LOCH GARVE’ ex ‘Elmhurst’ Built 1883. Iron ship of 1712 Tons.Length; 264.9 ft. Breadth; 39.8 ft. Depth; 23.4 ft. Built by R Duncan and Co for C.S Caird. They sold her to Sproat for his ‘Loch’ line of Liverpool. He sold her to the Genoese in 1910. She was a sistership to ‘Helensburgh’ and ‘Machrihanish’. Master. Captain J McKenzie. She was again resold and renamed ‘Iris’ in 1922. [General Carrier]

LOCHIEL’ Built 1875. Wood three mast Schooner of 216 Tons. Length; 113.4 ft. Breadth; 24.1 ft. Depth; 12.6 ft. Built at Peterhead by Stephen and Co for G. Mitchell and Co. Reg. Peterhead. Master; Captain D Ewan. He commanded this vessel in 1881. She traded between Australia and the South sea islands, bringing cane workers to the Queensland plantations. [Blackbirder]

‘LOCH KATRINE’ Built 1869. Iron ship of 1200 Tons. Length; 226 ft. Breadth; 35.8 ft. Depth; 21.5 ft. Built by Lowrie of Glasgow for the General Shipping Company. She was the first ship of that ‘Loch’ line.Master; Captain J Burton. Maiden voyage was on 20th December 1869. She took 81 days to Australia from Glasgow. She was almost lost in 1907 and was dismasted in 1910. She was sold to South Australian interests and ended her time as a coal carrier around the South Australian coast. [General Carrier]

‘LOCH LINNHE’ Built 1876. Iron ship of 1381 Tons. Length; 234.7 ft. Breadth; 37.2 ft. Depth; 22.3 ft. Built by Thompson at Glasgow for J Wilson and Co of his ‘Loch’ line. Master; Captain Pittendreigh in 1881.[General Carrier]

‘LOCH LONG’ Built 1876. Iron ship of 1203 Tons. Length; 228.5 ft. Breadth; 35.8 ft. Depth; 21.3 ft. Built by Thompson of Glasgow for the General Shipping Company’s ‘Loch’ line. Master; Captain Martin. In January 1903, she sailed from Melbourne to New Caledonia and was never seen again. Wreckage was found on Chatham Islands and it is believed that she went down with no survivors. [General Carrier]

‘LOCH NAGAR’ Built 1861.Wood barque of 464 Tons. Length. 163 ft. Breadth. 26 ft. Depth. 16 ft. Built by Pile and Spence at West Hartlepool for the Park Brothers. Master. Captain W. H Kelly then Captain G Perriman in 1881.She was caught in a gale while at anchor at Gisborne Roadstead while loading cargo for England. The captain ran her aground on the beach and she was saved by this manouvre. After several weeks, she refloated herself on a high tide. [General Carrier]

‘LOCH NESS’ Built 1869. Iron ship of 1190 Tons. Length; 225.5 ft. Breadth; 35.6 ft. Depth; 21.6 ft. Built by Barclay, Curle for the General Shipping Company’s ‘Loch’ line. She was a sister to the ‘Loch Tay’. She ended her career as a coal hulk in South Australia. [General Carrier]

‘LOCH NEVIS’ Built 1894. Steel four-mast barque of 2431 Tons. Length; 301.7 ft. Breadth; 43.7 ft. Depth; 24.6 ft. Built by Reid for Aitken, Lilburn of the General Shipping Company’s ‘Loch’ line. Master; Captain Colin McLeod. According to Lubbock in his book ‘Last of the Windjammers II’, she was burned to the waterline at Iquique, South America in 1900. But Lloyds lists her as being owned by the German company of W.Dahlestrom of Hamburg. Master; Captain E Butz in 1902 under the name ‘Octavia’ two years after she was supposedly burned. [General Carrier]

‘LOCH RANNOCH ex ‘Clan Ranald’ Built 1868. Iron ship of 1185 Tons. Length; 217.8 ft. Breadth; 35.5 ft. Depth; 21.6 ft. Built by Thompson for the General Shipping Company’s ‘Loch’ line. She was renamed ‘Loch Rannoch’ by Aitken, Lilburn. Master; Captain Ross. She was later sold to the Norwegians in 1907 then to the Germans in 1910. [General Carrier]

‘LOCH RYAN’ Built 1877. Iron ship of 1207 Tons. Length; 228.5 ft. Breadth; 35.8 ft. Depth; 21.3 ft. Built by Thompson for the General Shipping Company’s ‘Loch’ line. Master; Captain Black. She was sold to the Victorian Government for use as a boys training ship. She was renamed ‘John Murray’ while in this enterprise. She was wrecked in the Pacific during the second world war. [General Carrier and Training Ship]

‘LOCH SLOY’ Built 1877. Iron ship of 1225 Tons. Length; 225.3 ft. Breadth; 35.6 ft. Depth; 21.2 ft. Built by Henderson of Glasgow for the General Shipping Company’s ‘Loch’ line. Master. Captain Horne then Captain Nicol then Captain W.J Wade. In April 1899, while arriving in South Australian waters, she overran the Cape Borda light and in the darkness, went aground on the Brothers rocks on Kangaroo island. There were only four survivors of the wreck, two able seamen an apprentice and a passenger. The passenger died of exposure whilst awaiting rescue but the rest were saved. The wreck occurred on the 24th of April 1899. * I am thankful for the portrait of this vessel which was given to me by the grandson of this vessel’s captain. [General Carrier]

‘LOCH TAY’ Built 1869. Iron ship of 1191 Tons.Length. 225.4 ft. Breadth; 35.5 ft. Depth; 21.6 ft. Built by Lowrie of Glasgow for the General Shipping Company’s ‘Loch’ line. Master. Captain Bennett. She was the third of the ‘Loch’ line and her first captain was Alexander Scott. She ended her days as a coal hulk in Adelaide, South Australia with her sistership ‘Loch Ness’. [General Carrier]

‘LOCH TORRIDON’ Built 1881. Iron four mast barque of 2000 Tons. Length; 287.4 ft. Breadth; 42.6 ft. Depth; 24 ft. Built by Barclay, Curle for the General Shipping Company’s ‘Loch’ line.Master; Captain B Pattman. She carried only up to the Royal sails but beat all other ships home with wool cargoes in the 1892 wool race. Her time was 81 days. She was almost lost on her Maiden voyage under Captain Pinder. The captain and the second mate as well as the helmsman, sailmaker and cabin boy were all lost when a huge sea washed the ship from stem to stern. She was sold to the Russians in 1912 and sailed on until 1915 when she foundered near the entrance to the English Channel. The crew were rescued by the British steamship ‘Orduna’ and the officers of that ship received an Humane Society award for their efforts. [General Carrier]

‘LOCH TROOL’ Built 1884. Iron barque of 1410 Tons. Length; 244.3 ft. Breadth; 37.2 ft. Breadth; 21.5 ft. Built at Glasgow for Sproats ‘Loch’ line. Master; Captain Mainland who became Commodore of the Sproat fleet. She became the Flagship of that line and was the only ship to load wool in New Zealand for the London market in March 1908. She took her load at Lyttleton and was the last sailing ship to load wool there for many years. In 1910, she had a collision with the warship HMS ‘Britannia’ and she received heavy damage to her bowsprit and plating. It took the combined efforts of two warships, the ‘Britannia’ and the Hibernia’ to get her safely into Queenstown for repairs. Captain Mainland died at sea in her in 1906. She was sold to Para, Brazil in 1910 and became a hulk in that port. [General Carrier]

‘LOCH VENNACHAR’ Built 1875. Iron ship of 1485 Tons. Length; 250.1 ft. Breadth; 38.3 ft. Depth; 22.4 ft. Built by Thompson of Glasgow for the General Shipping Company’s ‘Loch’ line. Master; Captain Ozanne. She was placed in the Australian trade and was caught in a very bad gale in the Indian ocean. After riding over the top of one enormous wave, she ploughed down into the trench and straight into the following wave which was even larger than the first. She was swamped up to he lower topsails some sixty feet above the deck. The cook was washed out of the Galley and all his utensils went with him over the side. Trouble seemed to follow this vessel for she was struck by the steamer ‘Cato’ in 1901 and sunk in 40 ft of water. All were saved and the ship was refloated in January 1902. She was repaired and went back to work. In September 1905, she went on the overdue list and on the 29th of that month it was discovered that she had become wrecked on Kangaroo island, South Australia. All hands were lost including the son of Tom Pearse of ‘Loch Ard’ fame. Master; Captain Hawkins. [General Carrier]

‘LODORE’ Built 1856. Wood ship of 860 Tons. Length; 176.5 ft. Breadth; 32.8 ft. Depth; 21 ft. Built at Workington, Owned by J.A Cox in 1881. Master; Captain D Douglas. Registered; Liverpool LNQR. She was sold to the Europeans and was renamed ‘Carla’ in 1914. [General Carrier]

SS ‘LONDON’ Built 1862. Iron Auxiliary ship of 1325 Tons.Length; 240 ft. Breadth; 30.6 ft. Depth; 17.9 ft. Built by A.Leslie for J Hall. Master; Captain J Harris in 1881. She was a steamer that was converted back to a three mast sailing ship. [Passenger and General Carrier]

‘LONGWOOD’ Built c1845. Wood ship of approx. 450 Tons. She was probably of American registry and would have been used during the gold rush days of the early 1850’s.This ship is the subject of a very attractive portrait which depicts her under full sail with her figurehead that of a longbowman prominent on her bow. [Passenger ship]

‘LOONGANA’ Built 1879. Wood barque of 279 Tons.Length; 127 ft. Breadth; 26 ft. Depth; 13.1 ft. Built at Hobart for A. J McGregor. Her name came from the aboriginal word for ‘swift’. Master; Captain John Fisher. She was wrecked on Butariitari Lagoon in the Gilbert islands in January 1912. [Coastal and Inter-colonial trader]

‘LORD DUFFERIN’ Built 1879. Iron ship of 1713 Tons. Length; 262.9 ft. Breadth; 38.3 ft. Depth; 19.2 ft. Built by Harland and Wolf at Belfast. She was sold to the Danes in 1900 and was renamed ‘Jupiter’ by them. [General Carrier]

‘LORD OF THE ISLES’ Built 1853. Wood ship of 770 Tons. Length; 190.8 ft. Breadth; 27.8 FT. Depth; 18.5 ft. Built by Scott of Greenock for Martin. Master; Captain Maxton then Captain Davies. She burnt at sea in July 1862 after a brief career as a tea clipper. She was under the command of Captain Davies at the time of her burning, all were saved. [Tea Clipper]

‘LORD KINNAIRD’ Built 1876. Iron barque of 890 Tons.Length; 195.7 ft. Breadth; 32.7 ft. Depth; 19.2 ft. Built by Brown and Simpson of Dundee. Master; Captain T Stephen. Registered; Dundee, Scotland PKCG 73400. [General Carrier]

‘LORD RIPON’ Built 1892. Steel four mast barque of 2765 Tons.Length; 318 ft. Breadth; 43.2 ft. Depth; 24.5 ft. Built by Grangemouth for Herron and Co. Master; Captain Butler. Sold to Rhederie Visurgis of Bremen, Germany. Renamed ‘Nal’ . She was sunk off Wollaston island on January 16th 1922. [General Carrier]

‘LORD ROSEBERRY’ Built 1888. Steel four mast barque of 2341 Tons. Length; 293.3 ft. Breadth; 42.8 ft. Depth; 24 ft. Built at Whitehaven for Herron. Sold to the Germans in 1910 and was registered at Hamburg under the name ‘Reinbek’ . She was then resold and renamed ‘Windemere’. [General Carrier]

‘LORD SHAFTESBURY’ Built 1888. Steel four-mast barque of 2341 Tons.Length; 293.3 ft. Breadth; 42.8 ft. Depth; 24 ft. Built by the Whitehaven yards for J Herron and Co. They owned her under the company name of ‘Lord Shaftesbury Company. Master; Captain Cunningham then Captain Hacknell. Registered; Liverpool. She was bought by the Americans and renamed ‘Golden Gate’ and it is under this name that her most attractive photographs were taken. She was finally laid up in Oakland creek and was scrapped in 1934. [General Carrier]

‘LORD TEMPLEMORE’ Built 1891. Steel four-mast barque of 3045 Tons. Length. 329.8 ft. Breadth. 45.1 ft. Depth. 24.4 ft. Built by Harland and Wolf for Dixon. She was sold to the Germans in 1900 and they renamed her ‘Alsternixe’. She went missing in December 1906 whilst in ballast. [General Carrier]

‘LORD TEMPLETOWN’ Built 1886. Steel ship of 2093 Tons. Length; 2882.9 ft. Breadth; 40.1 ft. Depth; 23.7 ft. Built by Harland and Wolf at Belfast for the Irish Shipowners Company. Reg; Belfast. Master; Captain R.Hawthorn. Sistership to ‘Queens Island’, she is shown with ‘St Katherine’ in one of her photographic images. [General Carrier]

‘LORD WOLSELEY’ Built 1883. Steel ship of 2577 Tons. Length ; 308.2 ft. Breadth; 42.9 ft. Depth; 25.1 ft. Built by Harland and Wolf for the Belfast ‘Lord’ line. They sold her to the Germans who renamed her ‘Columbia’ and in 1903, she was badly dismasted and was left to the underwriters. She carried at least one other name before she was bought by the Vancouver Stevedoring Company who sold her to C.Peabody . He renamed her ‘Everett C Griggs’ and turned her into a six-mast barquentine. She was resold and bought by the Moran Brothers of Seattle. Master; Captain Delano. She was put into the pacific lumber trade under Captain F Wann in 1910. She was then sold to Captain E. R Stirling who refitted her with all modern equipment including radio. Her young Australian radio operator, M.B Anderson braved a heavy storm and broken masts while he repaired the aerial so that he could send out an s.o.s. This was not required though for the storm eased off and the captain and crew were able to get her back to her port. Her damage was too much though and she went to the ship breakers on March 26th 1928. She went under the name ‘E.R Stirling’ from the moment she was refitted with her new technology. [General Carrier and Timber Drogue]

‘LORRETTO FISH’ Built 1869. Composite ship of 1840 Tons.Length; 212 ft. Breadth; 42.2 ft. Depth; 21.3 ft. Built at Thomaston for S.E Watts and Co. She was sold to the Germans and was renamed ‘Theodore Fischer’ . She was sunk in the North Atlantic. [General Carrier]

‘LORTON’ Built 1888. Steel barque of 1419 Tons. Length. 245.8 ft. Breadth. 37.4 ft. Depth. 21.6 ft. Built by Workman for Iredale, Potter at Belfast, Ireland. Master; Captain C.F.M.Archer. Registered;Liverpool. [General Carrier]

‘LOUISA CRAIG’ ex ‘Peru’

‘LOUDEN HILL’ Built 1887. Iron four mast barque of 2066 Tons.Length; 283.4 ft. Breadth; 40.4 ft. Depth; 24.5 ft. Built by Russell at Glasgow. Owned by J.R Dickson and Co of Glasgow. Master; Captain J Reid in 1890. [General Carrier]

‘LOTHAIR’ Built 1870. Iron ship of 794 Tons. Length; 191.8 ft. Breadth; 33.5 ft. Depth; 19.3 ft. Built by Walker for Killick. Master; Captain Orchard then Captain Boulton. She was sold to the Peruvians and was still going for them in 1922. [Tea Clipper]

‘LOWTHER CASTLE’ Built 1886. Steel ship of 1855 Tons. Length; 262.1 ft. Breadth; 39 ft. Depth; 23.3 ft. Built by R Williamson at Workington. Sold to the Germans and was owned by H. H Schmidt. Registered; Hamburg RKSQ IN 1900. She was the first ship to bring steel rail to Cairns, North Queensland, Australia. She was renamed after being sold to the Germans and she sailed for them as ‘Marie’. [General Carrier]

‘LUCILLE’ ex ‘Sierra Cordova’ Built 1877. Iron ship of 1430 Tons. Length; 232 ft. Breadth; 37.9 ft. Depth; 22.8 ft. Built by Royden and Sons. She was sold to the Norwegians and was renamed ‘Heimdal’ and was broken up under that flag in 1913. [General Carrier]

SS ‘LUCINDA’ Built 1884. Steel ferry of 301 Tons. Length; 172.6 ft. Breadth; 25.1 ft. Depth; 9.2 ft. Built by Denny of Dumbarton for the Queensland Government. Master; Captain J.H South in 1900. She was used primarily as a river ferry and for many official functions whilst sailing in the pleasant surrounds of the Brisbane river. [Government Ferry]

‘LUCIPARA’ Built 1885. Iron four mast barque of 1863 Tons.Length; 267.1 ft. Breadth; 40.2 ft. Depth; 23.8 ft. Built by Russell for P Denniston. Master; Captain C Witt. She was owned by the Island line and was sold to the Finns before the first world war. [General Carrier]

‘LUFRA’ Built 1870. Composite ship of 672 Tons. Length; 179.7 FT. Breadth; 31.1 ft. Depth; 17.9 ft. Built by Hall of Aberdeen for A.J McGregor. Master; Captain Richard Copping. She was sold to the Norwegians in 1900. They then sold her to the Swedes, who sold her to the Genoese who renamed her ‘Letizia’ in 1902. Master; Captain D Cacace. [General Carrier]

‘LUMBERMANS LASSIE’ ex ‘Windsor Castle’

‘LUNA’ ex ‘Blackbraes’

‘LUNA’ ex ‘Guinevere’

‘LURLINE’ Built 1877. Iron Barque of approx 761 tons. Length;189.5ft. Breadth; 31ft. Depth; 18ft. Master;Captain J Laws. Built by A.Stephen and Son of Glascow. Owned by C.W.Turner of Lyttleton New Zealand.

‘LURLINE’ Built 1887. Wood brig of 359 Tons. Length; 189.5 ft. Breadth; 31 ft. Depth; 18 ft. Built by Stephen of Glasgow. Master; Captain J Laws. Sold to C.W Turner of New Zealand. Registred; Lyttleton, New Zealand. [General Carrier]

’LUTTERWORTH’ Built 1868. Iron barque of 883 Tons. Length; 209.2 ft. Breadth; 33.1 ft. Depth; 19.9 ft. Built by Denton, Grey and Co at Hartlepool. Bought by Shaw-Savill. She was placed in the New Zealand trade and was abandoned in Cook Strait. She was found and towed into port to end her days as a coal hulk. Registered; Southampton HNKD. Master; Captain W Pearson in 1881. [Passenger ship and General Carrier]

‘LYDERHORN’ Built 1892. Steel four mast barque of 2914 Tons.Length; 311.2 ft. Breadth; 42.2 ft. Depth; 25.5 ft. Built by Oswald for De Wolf. She was later sold to the Germans and renamed ‘Jersbek’ in 1910. She was hulked in 1919. [General Carrier]

‘LYDGATE’ Built 1893. Steel four mast barque of 2534 Tons. Length; 304.3 ft. Breadth; 46.1 ft. Depth; 24.3 ft. Built by Palmer and Co for J.Joyce. She was sold to the Norwegians and renamed ‘Skansen’. [General Carrier]

SS ‘LY-EE-MOON’ ex ‘Taihei Maru’ Built 1859. Iron screw steamer of 1001 Tons. Length; 282.8 ft. Breadth; 27.3 ft. Depth; 16.6 ft. Built in England and owned by W Walker and Co. Registered; London. Master; Captain Stephens,then Captain Hill and finally Captain A.Webber. Engine; 160 Nhp. She was wrecked at Cape Green, NSW, on the 29th of May 1886, with the loss of 70 of her passengers and crew. [Passenger ship]

‘LYNGO’ ex ‘Dumbarton Rock’

‘LYNTON’ Built 1894. Steel four mast barque of 2531 Tons.Length; 299.8 ft. Breadth; 43.7 ft. Depth; 24.5 ft. Built by Evans for Johnson, Sproule. Master; Captain T.G Fraser. This captain had her until 1899 when she was sold to W Montgomery and Co. They had her until 1906. Master; Captain E.G James. She was then sold to Captain T.A Shute and he put her in the hands of Captain W.Jones who died at sea in her in 1908. Captain Murrell took her and he stayed until she was sold to the Russians in 1914. She was sunk by the Germans off Ireland on the 21ST May 1917. [General Carrier]

‘LYSGLIMPT’ ex ‘Blysthwood’